We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely 3*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Mastines/Chihuahuas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calas de Majorca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sol Mastines/Chihuahuas Hotel
Save
You added Sol Mastines/Chihuahuas Hotel to your Saves list
Carrer de Mola, Mallorca 07689, Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely 3*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A week in the Mastines was long enough... Room was basic but comfortable and clean. Fantastic view to the north and east. Lifts slow at best, and 11th floor was not really walk-able!

Pool area was nice, though thousands of wasps (easily solved with a couple of fake nests!) - this not helped by some lazy guests leaving piles of half-empty plastic cups under their sunbeds! Wasps quite like lemonade/coke/beer/archers etc! Plenty of bins around, so no excuse for this!

Pools themselves were cold, though in September they didnt get a vast amount of sun, so this was understandable. Also, despite being told a number of times that a child had been ill in the pool, it took almost half an hour for the janitor to come and clean it out - with a bucket!

Bars had loooong queues at all times, as only one person serving at any time. Two-items-per-visit rule didn't help... you weren't allowed two drinks AND and ice cream!

Meals - breakfast was generally good, as were salad and deserts for lunch and dinner. Main courses were disappointing... repetitive, and frequently barely luke-warm. Wine on-tap was just that - free wine and tasted like it!

Overall, happy as we didn't pay very much and it wasn't our main holiday, but won't be returning - and that is the first time I've ever thought that about a hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely avoid Balmoral if you can - Mastines or Chihuahua (east-facing only) are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    170
    86
    52
    51
See reviews for
159
159
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The 3 hotels in this chain are very good value for money. the room was large & cleaned every day .The food was great & always a large and varied selection. Not too keen on having drinks served in plastic cups,even in the bar on an evening!! the entertainment was a bit boring!! & not a lot going on for teenagers!! Also not a lot going in in the small town & now that most of the hotels are all inclusive the bars & restaurants are dying a death!! The hotel is on a headland high above the sea so you get a beautiful view from rooms & pool area!! would return for a value holiday.

Room Tip: request a sea/pool view. but most rooms are anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

First let me start by saying that I have never written a review before but felt compelled to do so as this holiday beat all my expectations (based on other reviews). We stayed in the Mastines Hotel which did seem to be the better of the two. The sea view was unbelievable and well worth the extra money. The food was excellent, plenty of choice every sitting. If you could not find something to eat here then you need to see a dietician. The pool area was excellent and we were able to secure sunbeds right next to the shallow end everyday. I agree that the rooms were extremely basic but who goes on holiday to watch TV in their rooms? The entertainment was not to my taste but then again I don't really like the real Robbie Williams! Overall this holiday is well recommended for the budget price we paid. If you want 5* pay 5* prices.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay a little extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Me my fiancé our 2 children and their grandparents stayed here for 10 nights. Can't complain about anything for the price we payed. Food was never cold. Always had multiple choice. Checked in swiftly. Spectacular view from our room in the chihuahuas. Housekeeping were great always very friendly. All staff interacted with the kids. And the entertainment staff were amazing. Wladirmiro, Kenneth, jordy, and Isabella inparticular. Theyre a credit to the company. Will definatley return the this fabulous place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just finished a 1 week all inclusive at Chihuahuas block of the resort. I am going home happy relaxed and content after a good week,

A little money well spent.

For the price for 2 adults all in for 1 week I was very happy with the standards.
The rooms are basic no TV, no kettle no fridge. Beds, bath shower and that's about the lot.
The Chihuahuas is, I believe, the more basic of the blocks but the sea view is spectacular and east facing gives a beautiful sunrise view. Not overlooked at all and is worth asking for.

The foods is simple and normally very nice, there were a couple of dodgy efforts but i never went hungry or even near, choices of fish, meats, salads, vegetables, pasta, rice and potato. I suggest take a little of each you fancy to try and go back for a main course. Breakfast offers toast, cereal, breads or fry ups with nice sausages and dodgy European streaky bacon, 4 types of eggs every day and fresh fruit..

2 drink limit per person at the bar is a bit of a pain if your far from the snack bars or there is a queue and the plastic cups are, i suppose a necessary evil, although it would be nice if you could provide your own and make them a bit larger. Its something you just accept and get on with and will not spoil your holiday.

Wifi for your own device is a bit expensive at 30 Euros a week and only available in a designated area near the reception, this needs to be improved to move with the times as internet access is getting essential for travel. I kept in contact with a dive centre, home and my transfer company via email so had to buy a weeks access.
Evening entertainment was your typical kids disco for half an hour, bit of bingo for a bottle of bubbly and a "professional" show from 10pm for an hour or so."Dancing in the street" is an act well worth a watch if they are on but "Robbie Williams tribute act"....... Sorry fella you need to stick to what you do well, I suspect you don't even particularly like RW's songs as you didn't take the time to learn the words to most of them. this was a crowd clearer but made it easy to be served at the bar!

Days spent on the pool side relaxing and the local beaches (2) one onto the sea front and walk left takes you to a cove where the beach is about 25 meters wide, very secluded and nice for a quiet swim. go right from the sea front and follow the paths takes about 10-15 minutes walk and the beach is another cove about 300 meters wide and much busier. Both very nice soft sands and clean waters. Waves are fantastic after a good wind which we had during the week.

The local town is tiny, tired and offers very little now we are about to come out of season but i was here for sun and relaxation and get no pleasure from wandering around the same tat shops over and over and over and over!!!!!!

Transfer time was about 1h 15 minutes. I suppose it will depend on how many drops the transfer company have ou your journey

Don't mistake this for a luxurious all inclusive like you would find in the Caribbean or the type you get in Sharm in Egypt and don't spend £000s getting here but for a holiday on a budget its worth it.

Room Tip: Chihuahuas rooms are all sea view, lift takes an age to arrive so if you travel back and forth get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have just returned from this resort having stayed in the Mastines Hotel. On viewing the other two we seemed to be in the best one. I did e-mail the hotel to request we be put in this hotel to guarantee a sea view. I think all their rooms have one, quite spectacular too. The transfer was only an hour and a half, so not as bad as expected and on return it was only just over an hour. The accommodation was your bog standard 70's furniture, all very well worn even the bathroom fittings, but spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable and sheets changed only once in our weeks stay but that was not a problem. The lifts were ok, didn't have to wait too long but they are very small, should hate to get stuck in one for any length of time. Reception area was in the Chihuahuas hotel so you have to check in there and they tell you where you will be staying. The staff on the desk were very pleasant and quick, 3 on duty when we arrived so were only waiting a few mins. We had a room on the 6th floor of the Mastines and were very lucky to get a massive corner room, 4 beds in it and a huge bathroom. Fan on the ceiling to keep you cool when it's hot, worked a treat and was very quiet in operation so didn't disturb our sleep. Standard plastic table and 2 chairs on the balcony, sufficient to sit out of an evening watching the stars with a nice glass of wine ( bought from the supermarket, hotel wine is not quite the quality we enjoy ). The restaurant was large and bright, with a vast choice of food for each meal. The food was good quality and there was always something suitable for most people. I was a little disappointed with the desserts,I didn't think much of those, I went for the fresh fruit mostly, there was always plenty on offer. Self service beer, wine, and soft drinks in there too which was a good idea. Tables were cleared and wiped quickly and dining room staff were very efficient. Bar staff were not the miserable bunch other people had led us to believe in their reviews, they were very pleasant and quite helpful given the pressure they work under. Queues were long at times but cleared within 5 mins, this is why the 2 drinks per person is imposed, it keeps the line moving. Entertainment is reasonable, you can't expect too much for what you pay. The pool at the Mastines was the best one, the other two are quieter so you have a choice. Lovely views along the clifftop walks, the beach to the right of the hotel is the nicer one and a bit bigger, the one to the left is smaller but ok, I went snorkeling and it was good, loads of fish to see, crystal clear water. Had good weather too, 27/30 deg most of the week, a bit windy for 2 days but went out on the bus. Bus stop directly in front of the Mastines, you can get a bus to most places, the timetables are very clear and give prices to some destinations too. Caves of Drach is 4.70 euro return and 13.50 euro entrance fee. Only takes just under an hour on the bus due to pickups in villages, so you save an absolute fortune on the reps tours, they charge 41 euro each !! All in all we had a good relaxing break, met some lovely people and were well fed and watered for a week. Ok it wasn't the Ritz but they have a business to run and they do it very well for the price they charge. Security do a good job too, make you feel a little bit more secure. As for the resort center forget it, unless you like tat, tat, and more tat. Did get my son some flossys though.Few bars and cafe's doing cheap beer deals for a change of scenery if you want it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here the the transfer was a joke 3 hrs to get to the hotel ,overall was pleased with the 3 hotels the Chihuahuas was the best by far the restaurant was by far a better class than the other two ,the other two were loud and like a herd of cattle going to market i,must say the food was first class something for everyone was very disappointed with the saunas disgraceful see for yourselves other than that the the entertainment was ok ,staff what staff lol only cleaners you will see there were no managers around overall service was ok .

Room Tip: rooms in the front of the hotels are quieter ,but then you wont have a sea view double edge sword .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Mastines/Chihuahuas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Mastines/Chihuahuas Hotel

Address: Carrer de Mola, Mallorca 07689, Calas de Majorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calas de Majorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Calas de Majorca
Number of rooms: 194
Also Known As:
Sol Mastines/Chihuahuas Hotel Majorca/Calas De Majorca, Spain
Sol Mastines Chihuahuas Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Mastines/Chihuahuas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.