We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cala Santanyi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pinos Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pinos Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Pinos Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costa d'en Nofre 15, 07659 Cala Santanyi, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cala Santanyi
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cala Santanyi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

My fiance & I stayed at Pinos Playa for a week in June & loved it. Hotel staff is friendly, amenities were nice. We did not love the food & found it costly, but was a nice atmosphere.

Be prepared to be around many many children! Our biggest complaint was that we stayed in an ocean-view room below the restaurant & every morning we were woken up by the constant loud screeching of chairs above our heads, as well as in the evening at dinner time if we were napping.

Nightly shows are great, the scenery is beautiful!!! We would definately go back to Pinos Playa!

  • Liked — The beautiful sea views!
  • Disliked — Noise & children
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
20
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly. The views are fantasic over the bay. It attracts a mainly German tourist crowd so if you are looking for Brits abroad, forget it!
The hotel itself, is nice. But... basically the walls are paper thin and as this is a hotel that predominately caters for families with very young children, be prepared to expect to be woken regular as clockwork every night by a screaming baby in one of the rooms neighbouring yours
Also, if you are as unfortunate as we were to get a room directly underneath the canteen, be prepared to again be woken from your slumber by the sound of people dragging their chairs as they sit down for breakfast. Every morning. At exactly 8.30am. Not fun, when you have already been awoken at bang on 4.30am by the baby next door screaming its lungs out for a good hour.
But I guess if you are a family with a screaming baby, this place is perfect for you!
We didn't eat in the hotel as we found a fantastic restuarant above the one and only shop in the town. Pretty expensive but definitely worth a visit. The other place we found ourselves going back to time and time again, was the outdoor restaurant across the beach where we had fantastic food time and time again - no the menu wasn't traditional Spanish which was disappointing but nevertheless was good and the staff there were great.
The one pub in the place is bang opposite the hotel and although stayed open til well after the rest of the resort shut down before midnight, it can hardly be described as buzzing. It was ok though.
The beach was fantastic and clean (apart from the disgusting habits of our fellow tourists of burying their spent cigarette butts into the sand by the sun beds. Vile). The sunbeds and parasols were pretty expensive at 11 euros a day though.
The sea was lovely.
This resort is great for a few days of relaxation but I wouldn't recommend staying for more than that if you like a bit of atmosphere and a bit more activity than lying on a beach. Although it was pretty, clean and friendly enough, I wouldn't return... unless I had a very young family which I could use to wake up my hotel room neighbours!

  • Liked — The views over the bay
  • Disliked — It was noisy
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cala Santanyi hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

Pinos Playa was a great value for the money! We had the most lovely sea-view from the fourth flour. The beach is nearby, and the property boasts two swimming pools. Though the nightlife in Cala Santanyi is less than interesting, the tranquil ocean and beach make up for it.

The GOOD: Location. Price. Pools. Food. Services.

The BAD: The beds are really really hard. It was quite hot with no breeze, even with a door facing the bay.

The UGLY: The strange late 60's feel of the architecture and decor. But if you aren't too about that kind of thing, it could almost be seen as "retro".

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget, to families with kids, and even to couples. I would not recommend this hotel to party-seekers. We stayed here four nights and had a really lovely time. But if you can, it's best to have a car to get here and to get around. Coming with the bus is quite a haul and might not be worth the headache if you can get a cheap rental.

  • Liked — The price and the stunning sea-view.
  • Disliked — The hard bed and difficult location.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

The hotel is located near Santanyi on the marvelous Cala Santanyi.
Our room was at the fourth floor with a spectacular view on the cala and on the sea.
The hotel is composed by three different buildings. One of them is directly located on Cala santanyi while the other two are on the other side of the street. The two sections not located directly on the sea are provided with two swimming pools.
The room was nice but there was no air conditioning (there was only a big fan on the ceiling).
The cleaning service was really good.
It is possible to select the Half Board with an additional fee of 18 Euro or alternatively it is possible to pay directly the Breakfast (8 Euro) and/or the dinner (11 Euro beverages not included but not very expensive). We chose to have only the dinner and it was always good.
There is no private parking but it is easy to find a place in the public roads in the nearby.
Every evening there is a show (in spanish, english and german).
There is also a bar and a pub with disco (that was always desert during our holidays).
The staff was polite and efficient.
A car is needed to reach the hotel.
The hotel is suggested also for families with young children because there are a lot of activities for kids during the day.

  • Liked — the place
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

The position of this hotel is magnificent - it is perched on a cliff and overlooks an inlet and a sandy beach. Our room was in the basement and was quite dark. Airconditioning was provided by a massive ceiling fan! It was kept clean but we had problems getting our room made up on a couple of occasions and the staff on reception were not exceptionally helpful. The fridge however was very useful. This hotel is on several sites and the position of the bar and the pools is not well signposted. The pool was lovely with plenty of sunbeds and we eventually found a reasonably quiet tv lounge off the main bar where we could spend some time in the evening. This is not area for shopping or cultural activities although there were water sports and good walks. The little train to Santanyi market was also interesting. While it was good to see another part of the island, I would be more attracted back to places like Puerto Pollensa and Paguera.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

Just returned from a long weekend (much needed after missing my original flight by seconds because of the M25 and Ryan Air) in this hotel.
The hotel is clean, bright and very pleasant, although we only ate breakfast i must say i could not fault it also the fridge in the room was a god send .Even for May the weather was good and so was the swimming pool and the area around the pool bar.
If you are looking for a nice lazy holiday then this place could be for you, the beach and the resturants and bars within walking distance of the hotel give you just enough decent choice. Im 43 but still like to party and have a good drink but dont expect raving till the early hours (although there is a disco in the hotel) but do expect nice service, a beautiful outlook, decent resturants and bars and service from the staff.
If you are planning a longer stay one tip would be hire a car for a day or so and have a look around this island it was my 3rd trip and i have never been let down yet.
The only downside was the shortness of my stay.
I hope you enjoy your stay

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shower head not big enough
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pinos Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pinos Playa

Address: Costa d'en Nofre 15, 07659 Cala Santanyi, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Santanyi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cala Santanyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pinos Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Pinos Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinos Playa Hotel
Hotel Pinos Playa Cala Santanyi, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pinos Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.