We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value rooms in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Blau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mar Blau to your Saves list
Mar Blau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iglesia 24, 07659 Cala Figuera, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cala Figuera
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good value rooms in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We chose to stay at the Marblau after reading glowing reviews. We had room 208 which was a good size with twin beds, a small shower room and a minute balcony which had the air conditioning unit taking up half of the already small balcony. The cooking facilities were basic with a kettle, microwave, fridge and several pieces of assorted cutlery and crockery. We only really had breakfast in the room but had to ask for bowls and spoons which were brought within a few minutes. The room was dark as the only window was the door to the balcony(although this kept it cool). The door to the balcony was very narrow - 43cm wide. The room was cleaned daily and the towels were changed on request. Cala Figurera is very scenic along the inlet although the restaurants are very similar in their menus. The areas to the rear of the Marblau are not so nice with lots of closed down hotels, apartments, restaurants and unfinished buildings. Overall good value rooms in a nice location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this in English for all the tourists who choose to come to our lovely country.

We stayed in the top floor apartment (no lift and very narrow stairs) and we were both a bit disappointed by the size. We had expected it to be larger, especially for the price. The setup is fine but not really comfortable seeing that you have to move the table just to get out the door.
The bed was HORRIBLE. I woke up with backaches every morning. Also the cleaning ladies don't change the sheets. We stayed for a week, went to the beach every day and it really would have been nice to have the sheets changed once.
The website claims that the kitchen comes fully equipped and it does come with everything you'd need to cook... but not to clean up! No dish soap, no sponge.... not a paper towel in sight. No worries though, the hotel owns a store on the main floor that sells off brand dish soap at 2 times the normal price. Before you even mention the clearly marked up ridiculous prices the staff will assure you that all groceries are expensive on the island... nice try but we didn't fall for that. There is an Eroski less than 10 minutes away with normal prices. It really makes me sick when people try to take advantage of tourists!! By the way, we left some soap and a sponge for the next guests, you're welcome.
The water from all taps is SALT WATER, which we found out the hard way by foolishly brewing a pot of coffee. I've stayed in Mallorca several times and I am very aware of the water issues, which is why I don't drink it straight from the tap, BUT this was just unacceptable. I had to use bottled water for everything, even to brush my teeth. We never felt clean after showering with salt water. This wouldn't have bothered me so much had the staff advised us ahead of time. One day we had no water, the staff did not notify us, after we went to complain the water came back on... but BROWN!!
I guess the thing that made my stay here bad was the dishonesty and lack of commincation of the staff. Be real and stop taking advantage of people who don't speak Spanish or who aren't familiar with Spain. Afterall, it is thanks to them that you have a job.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The four bed flat is on the third floor with narrow stairs up. Once climbed you have a small living room/kitchen that is not fully equipped but was ok for us, plus two bedrooms and a terrace that is bigger than the apartment with beautiful views of Cala Figuera and the sea. Plastic chairs and sunbeds. Everything nice and clean. Convenient with the shop down stairs, easy walking around the beautiful village that does not have any real hordes of us touristes since there is no beach - you can dive from the cliffs. Good hiking in the vicinity. Good price - would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Firstly the town. Cala Figuera is a gorgeous little fishing port with lots of cracking pubs and great snorkling/swimming potential. I could happily waste a week or so here just swimming and chilling, without any hassle from the heavy drinking loud mouthed Brits and Germans.

The accomodation is great. It isn't exceptionally plush or fancy and maybe not the place you'd take to impress your other half on a first trip away, but it is exceptionally clean, it is really comfortable, it is great value for money, just a stone's throw from the water. The rooms have kettles and fridges. Our's had air com and a fan. The staff are very friendly and obliging. I have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed for 1 week in June we had the 1 bed room penthouse which was excellent. The fictures and fittings were all brand new . Lovely clean rooms and the views were lovely. Had a small t.v but only 2 English news channels but that was not a problem. The owner Tony was very very good he helped us sort out the tv when we got there and advised us where to dine.Cala Figuera is as stunning as it looks in the photos very quiet reosrt most of the visitors are French or German omly heard 3 English voices in a week.Not everyone speaks English. Used the resorhoppa transfer which ran like clockwork first class. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The penthouse rooms on upper floors had private terrrace for sunbeatbathing in total privacy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The room was fine, balcony, bathroom. supermercado is downstairs, you can leave the key in the market if the owner is not there. Sometimes is hard to catch him. You can park the car below your window. Location is fine, you can go by foot for exploring the village

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

If you want to enjoy your holiday far away from charter tourist and enjoy the real Mallorca. This is the place. Cala Figuera is a small village where the fishing boats still come in and life is nice and quiet.
Hostal Mar Blau is a very comfortable place to stay when being in Cala Figuera. Rooms are of a good size with private bathroom and balconies. You can choose with or with out aircondition. All rooms have a fridge and coffee brewer.
Appartments are very large and placed in a separate building. Very well quiped with bathroom, bedroom, livingroom and kitchen. Two large balconies. Cleaning twice a week.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the street. So are the appartments. But it is a small and quiet village so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mar Blau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Blau

Address: Iglesia 24, 07659 Cala Figuera, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Figuera
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cala Figuera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mar Blau 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mar Blau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Blau Cala Figuera, Spain - Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Blau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.