We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covers the basics; good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inturotel Cala Azul Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inturotel Cala Azul Garden to your Saves list
Inturotel Cala Azul Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle S'Espalmador, s/n | Urb. Cala Esmeralda, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Cala d'Or
SLC, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Covers the basics; good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent a week in October 2012, the low season, just a week before the entire complex closes for the winter. This definitely qualifies as a three-star facility, so in that regard you get what you pay for. The beds had stiff mattresses and flat, thin pillows, with crisp cotton sheets and a simple blanket bedspread. The extra beds are the actual couches in the living room, not pull-outs with proper mattresses. There was a tiny TV hanging from the ceiling corner in the living room that offered a few channels, including BBC. The kitchenette has a European-sized fridge and two burners, sink, utensils, etc. You can't drink the tap water (Americans drink theirs, so this is something new for us). Buy bottled water at the little grocery store just across the street from the entrance. There's a lovely balcony with table/chairs with a view to the pool. We didn't use the pool but it looked lovely. There's also access to the sea on the other side of the street in the Azul Park area. The entire resort (this piece plus two others, Cala Azul Park and Cala Esmeralda) was clean and very well maintained.

The breakfast and dinner buffets were great, located a 5-minute walk away in the Cala Azul Park reception building. They feed a LOT of people very well. I'm pretty certain I didn't get much Spanish food besides the one paella dish they served nightly, plus a couple of interesting desserts. We often skipped lunch! All drinks are extra, including water.

There was nightly entertainment in the Cala Azul Park area, first for kids (up to about 10 in age, max). There was a Flamenco demonstration one night but it was quite cheesy so we left. There are several restaurants along the street with outside seating, for enjoying a nice pitcher of sangria :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    79
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
113
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Wildungen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were in Cala D'Or one week in October. It was absolutely quiet and relaxing (and not only because a lot of places had already closed for the winter). Breakfast and dinner were served in another part of the complex in Cala Azul Park, where also the animation team cared for children and where the evening shows were. Our room (130) was simple, the TV small (we didn't watch any so I have no idea about the channels), the kitchen was very simple (but o.k. if you don't intend to cook), there was free WiFi in the lobby. Our son (9) used the pool and liked it - we liked the sea better which was about 300m away. You can use all the facilities of Cala Azul Park: heated pool, gym…

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

satyed for one week in September. Apartments were plenty big enough for two of us and would be fine for family with two young children in the lounge. There are three blocks of apartments belonging to the same group. Cala Azul Gardens is the quietest and only had food and drink facilities by pool during the day. Breakfast etc (if this has been included)is taken in the Azul Park across the road. Lots of variety for breakfast so no need for much during the day. we were bed and breakfast as there are many resteraunts to choose from in the evening. Would definately recommend going to the Marina one night for a special meal. The Cala Esmeralda looked lovely and was right by the sea, as was the Azul Park both in a really lovely setting. Lots of things for people with very young children but not a lot for the teens.Would recommend this area of Majorca for fairly quite holiday but with plenty around should you venture out for a walk. Not a lot of facilities in the kitchen area of the apartments if you wish to do a lot of self catering but OK for a snack and a cuppa.No electric kettle or microwave but had a toaster

Room Tip: request room facing pool as they have the sun most of the time. Ours was at the back with trees in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Sad to say this accommodation was very disappointing do not accept room 308 it is nothing like the pictures in the brochure or other peoples reviews. It was like a reject from the 1970's complete with horrible candlewick beadspreads!!! The only plus point was that it was clean.
We requested a nice room because it was our anniversary and dispite asking for a move we were even prepaired to pay more money we were told they were full. I felt like crying I was so gutted so much for the really nice holiday.
Anyway plus points about the resort - pools are lovely we especially liked the Esmeralda where their was entertainment for adults and kids. Pool a little cold but no more than you would expect aqua gym girl was excellent and very considerate when our daughter also wanted to take part.
Food - again good selection and quality at Esmeralda - Cala Azul I would not bother with as the one meal we had there was poor quality and little choice. The Pizzaria is excellent and offers snacks as well as meals the staff here are friendly and ready to help if you are struggling to choose like our daughter.
Drink - A little dear but if you watch what you are ordering it is affordable, small beer 1.95, 1/2 L sangria 5.95 etc. Soft drinks were 2.20 approx. Happy hour late afternoon and then again after show.
In general the public areas are really clean and staff are polite and most go out of their way to be helpful the entertainments team are exceptional and most shows were very good. Some performed by them and some professional.
In all I would not recommend the Cala Azul Gardens due to the poor quality of our room but would recommend the Esmeralda Park Hotel good food etc and the rooms we seen looked more like the brochure.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 308 at Cala Azul Gardens. Pool/Sea view rooms at Esmeralda Park Hotel some also o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks in August and had a fab time.
The hotel is in an excellent location and yes doesn't have the views of the Cala Azul park but we prefered this hotel as it wasn't as busy.
The rooms had everything you need for a self catering holiday and thank god for the air con as it was so hot while we were there.
Everything was spotless from the rooms to the public areas and round the pool. The staff were really friendly and helpful.
We would definately stay here again if in Cala Dor.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking pool. We had a room on the back and were woken a few times by deliver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay in the apartments at Cala Azul Gardens. It has a nice quiet pool area to relax in and we always managed to get sunbeds and umbrella whatever time of day and no problems with people reserving them with towels! We went to see the entertainment one night in the Cala Azul Park hotel and it was dreadful very childish entertainment no wonder there was only about ten people watching!! Even just music playing would be better than that.
There are plenty of places to eat nearby and a short walk into the centre for more.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times in the reception of Garden Apartments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Wow what a place, where do I start? For a 3 star rating hotel you wouldn't believe it, the place is stunning and very clean! Everyone speaks very good English and are very warm and welcoming, at first when we arrived and found out we were across the road from the entertainment I was pretty peeved off to be honest, but cala azul gardens has its own pool (which everyone can use across the hotels) which is beautiful and very quiet which was great as it was a couples holiday we wanted, and there was not much children, as the other hotels (cala esmeralda etc) they were more loud and family orientated. This hotel was beautiful, right next to a strip of shops for food, restaurants and gift shops! Could not get any better .. It is not far from the cala d'or town which is defiantly worth doing. One excursion I would reccomend doing which we never was the orange blossom trail average abut 72euros per person, but it sounds amazing so try look it up on the internet and get it booked. I would 100% recommend this hotel as I could not fault it ! Thank you for a beautiful stay <3

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inturotel Cala Azul Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inturotel Cala Azul Garden

Address: Calle S'Espalmador, s/n | Urb. Cala Esmeralda, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inturotel Cala Azul Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south-east coast of Mallorca, the hotel is situated at a distance of 150m from the beaches of Cala Esmeralda and Cala Ferrera and about 800m from the centre of Cala D'Or. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Inturotel Cala Azul Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inturotel Cala Azul Garden Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala Azul Garden d Or
Cala Azul Garden Hotel
Inturotel Cala Azul Garden Cala D'Or, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inturotel Cala Azul Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.