We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few points of difference.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inturotel Cala Esmeralda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inturotel Cala Esmeralda to your Saves list
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Cala Esmeralda, 8 | Urbanizacion Cala Esmeralda, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A few points of difference.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

.....from the majority of reviews. I have to agree overall with the generally high standards in this hotel, but with a few reservations. Yes, the hotel is clean, most staff friendly and helpful, food good but we can only report from personal experience. On arrival my husband and I were allocated a room with what I can only describe as 'no view' !! The balcony faced a blank wall and there was a felt roof running from approximately 12inches below the other side of the balcony across to the wall.
Okay, back to reception to reject the room and we were allocated another room. Remove luggage, go to second room. Hardly any improvement in view, yet another felt roof to look out on!!! Once again to reception to report unhappiness with room. We had also booked a twin room and both of the first two allocated had a double bed. Third room allocation and at last this room overlooked the pool and did have twin beds. I have to add though, that the member of staff who dealt with us at reception was offhand to the point of rudeness when she had to allocate the third room. To my way of thinking, this is not good service. We booked half board through Thomas Cook and for the price we paid for the holiday we honestly expected more.

Room Tip: Avoid room 115 at all costs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    140
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
109
368
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Cala Esmeralda. Feel thoroughly chilled and relaxed as we did absolutely nothing except lie by the pool and read. The whole place was spotlessly clean, the staff were wonderful (and they all appear to get on with each other - lots of smiles). We asked to change our room which was done with no fuss and we ended up with a sea view.
The food was of a higher standard than is normally found in resort hotels and there was lots of choice. There are 2 pools, one overlooking the sea which was the busiest, but the one in the hotel itself was extremely peaceful - people even swam quietly!

The customers tended to be more middle aged than young, but it was September. Perfect hotel for relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a lovely week at this hotel in August. It's in a absolutely beautiful, peaceful location. As others have said, the food is good, and the staff are excellent. In fact this year was our 7'th annual Summer holiday at the hotel with my partner and young daughter who is now 8. It says a lot that we keep returning. Therefore it is a real disappointment to learn that next year we won't be able to come because it will be for over 16s only. What a shame. I wonder why they have made this decision because I've never seen the place overrun with kids or kids making a nuisance of themselves. Perhaps they are being forced to do this by the big tour company contracts. Who knows? Very sad, though. For 7 years we loved this place :-(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from a 1 week break at the Cala Esmeralda, having read most of the reviews I was confident of the quality and took any negatives to be a simple case of you can't please all of the people all of the time.

This turned out to be the case, the location, decor, pool areas and food were all faultless, the rooms are as you expect in most spanish resorts not UK 4/5 star but clean with nice balconies and if you want a little English TV you have a flat screen with plenty of English channels. I especially liked the little fridge in the room that was free of charge since most half board hotels charge for fridge rental.

They stick to the no sunbed reservation policy so it was refreshing to not have the early morning battle for sunbeds and made for a more relaxed stay.

Cala d'or centre is close by and has plenty to do in the evening for a quiet family evening out.

Finally it is a shame the the cala esmeralda is to be adults only since the other inturotel hotels that are on the same cove would not be to my taste since they are not hhotels but a number of spead out apartments blocks that from what we saw are not a patch on the Cala Esmeralda and as such we would not return.

Adults though book this hotel without fear it is top quality in everyway

Room Tip: Sea view not worth the extra money in my opinion since a large amount have large trees blocking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I can only agree with all the positive reviews of this great hotel. We have just arrived home after a fabulous week which I booked after reading trip advisor reviews and I was definately not dissapointed!! The staff and management are really friendly and the food is very, very good, loads of choices and variety at a much higher standard than I have previously experienced at a buffet style set up, there was always plenty of good food for my typically fussy 4 year old too. We usually go out to sample the local restaurants when we get bored of half board at the hotel, but certainly didn't need to this holiday!
The rooms were fine and comfortable and we were lucky enough to get a sea view which came at no extra cost.
The location is idylic and pool snack/bar lovely which overlooks beach and a perfect romantic setting at night to enjoy tasteful entertainment on a few nights. The rule about not reserving sunbeds was excellent and we had no problem getting nice spots day after day. The life guard ensures the kids around the pool behave which was also a bonus when a few older ones arrived. The small beach gets busy and maybe not for those who like miles of golden sand however dont let this put you off as the location makes up for it.
We enjoyed strolling to the shops/bars and marina at night and there is plenty going on without being too hectic, the resort a family/couple orientated place.

We too were very dissapointed to hear the hotel is planned to become adult only, as although a few kids there it was still peaceful and a really good balance for families who are happy with just entertaining themselves and enjoy a bit of quiet too!!! The staff were so nice to our little boy, I think they are dissapointed about the change also. We will do well to find somewhere that meets our expectations like this hotel did...lets hope they change their minds!!

Room Tip: email the hotel before hand to request a sea view, this helps but not guaranteed.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

A brilliant hotel with arguably the best pool and beach bar view on the island, nestled on the side of the cove.

The hotel is a 10-min walk from the centre, which is small (certainly compared to magaluf, Marbella, venison etc). There are certainly enough bars to visit a different 3 or 4 each night of a 2-week holiday.

The provision of towels is ideal for a family as it reduces the suitcase weight/space by leaving 5 beach towels at home. You simply exchange for clean at reception each night.

The cove side pool is the pick of the 2 pools. We get there 9am each morning and at least half the beds are still available at 9.45. The lifeguard removes towels from unattended 'saved' beds, so it is first come first served.

The pool is so good that people from the sister apartments often migrate across to it. Reception staff from the hotel check (everybodys) room numbers twice a day and politely ask any nine residents to leave. This ensures that guests who are paying for the facilities actually get priority use. Sounds a little heavy handed, but it really isn't and is lightly and professionally done.

The food is excellent with a fantastic range at both breakfast and dinner. The staff take a pride in their work and it shows. We've been a few times and the same faces are always here, so a low turnover of staff is a positive for this hotel.

Only downside is that we hear that this hotel is most likely going adult only, which is a real disappointment. The hotel is not overrun with kids, which is perfect for us. Nothing worse than staying at a huge, cheapish 'family hotel' and trying to spot your kids amongst a sea of thousands. This hotel has the perfect balance and has done do for many years - it certainly isn't awash with kids, but has enough families to bring life to the place.

To the Inturotel Management - PLEASE rethink.

We leave on Thursday and I could happily stay another 2-weeks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Helens,United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here at least six times and always great apartments The rooms are a good size with great facilities
The pool is a nice size but not many English stay here majority are German Great location 10 mins to cala dor center and 5 mins to nearest beach and 3 mins to nearest supermarket Rooms cleaned 5 times a week Only twin beds which isn't a problem Ask for a room not pool side Eden Paradise Bar open till midnight and is quiet noisy We don't cook in the apartment but could if you wanted to had everything you needed toaster kettle hob fridge microwave etc

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inturotel Cala Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inturotel Cala Esmeralda

Address: Carrer Cala Esmeralda, 8 | Urbanizacion Cala Esmeralda, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inturotel Cala Esmeralda 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and comfortable "adults only" Hotel surrounded by Mediterranean gardens in front of the beautiful beach of Cala Esmeralda. It is located a short distance away from the centre of Cala d'Or, Mallorca's beautiful East-coast resort distinguished by its Ibiza style architecture.The Hotel offers 152 rooms facing the sea or beautiful gardens. Between the facilities the hotel features 24 hours reception, free Wifi in lobby, buffet style restaurant, lounge bar, snack bar, freshwater outdoor pool and a second one with lagoon-style with an impressive beachfront setting, both surrounded by spacious sun terraces. A hard tennis court, a playground and a conference room are also available. Daily doctor's visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inturotel Cala Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda Hotel Cala d`Or
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda d Or
Cala Esmeralda
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda Cala D'Or, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inturotel Cala Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.