We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel D'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel D'Or to your Saves list
Hotel D'Or
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Avenida Calonge s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Cala d'Or B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottinghamshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel. Ok the rooms are a little basic but that's a minor point as still comfortable and cleaned almost every day. The pool area is fab with a good bar area for drinks / snacks. An excellent location set in a quieter spot but just around the corner from the main part of Cala D'or and just a short stroll to the beaches.
Staff work hard to maintain this lovely little hotel, it's definitely worth a visit would return no problem!

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel away from the road. The road itself isn't too bad bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    85
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
26
109
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were given ground floor room which had a little porch area and opened straight to pool area. Pool was lovely, breakfast was good and staff helpful.Town center and beach just minutes from hotel,and Cala d'or much prettier than we expected. The down side were the beds as they were quite hard and uncomfortable and the room needed updating. The beaches are lovely and the sea second to none although it does get quite crowded as the beaches are very small.

Room Tip: The upper balcony rooms looked nicer than ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here for a week in June 2012 and it was brilliant. Nice small complex with no children! Pool is small but fine. Room was on small side but spotless and decent size balcony with chairs and a lounger. No problems from any noise nearby (we were on roadside so got evening sun).

Good breakfast selection. Friendly staff. Best thing is that we were half board and the evening meal was in Don Leone's restaurant close by - much better than an evening canteen experience! Restaurant staff were great and there was a selection of three starters, mains and desserts each day. Best starters were - warm salad, pate, mains - salmon, ribs, cordon bleu, dessert - mousse!

Happy hour was great (half price drinks) and our trip coincided with European Championships so there were additional happy hours before each game! It is only a two star but is great for this (if you used to 5* luxury, this it is not - but we were very pleased). Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel, flights and transfer through Easy Jet. Flights on time, transfer smooth, and the hotel a very pleasant surprise. Situated on the edge of the pedestrianised area of the Town, it is an ideal location for the beaches, about 10 minutes, the Marina, about the same time, shops and restaurants. Our room had a small patio with a grass area,,loungers and two chairs. The room was very clean, compact and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. There is a safe for hire and probably worth taking. The bathroom was very clean and the towels changed every day. Sheets were changed twice during our stay. I believe the rooms have been refurbished with a new TV, shower head and mattress. The Staff were very friendly, and when I asked for an extra pillow, the girl immediately brought one. Some have commented on the breakfast, however I have had much worse in hotels of higher star rating. The choice of hot or cold food was available and varied to some extent daily. The pool was very fresh, clean and quiet. One thing to note, if you request a pool view or an upstairs room, I doubt if it will be granted. This in no way detracted from what was a very enjoyable holiday.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Myself and partner stayed here from 17/5 - 3/6. We originally booked a two week package deal through Thomson and were meant to leave on 31/5. We didn't want to come home so cancelled the flight back and booked another with Thomson costing £39pp. We got a good rate at the hotel for the last 3 nights there and were able to keep our room on. Everything was so easy to sort out, both Thomson and hotel D Or we very helpful.

Rooms here are fairly small but comfortable and clean, all of the staff are friendly and happy to help where they can. Cleaners are very busy but still do a great job, chef has a sense of humour and always very cheery. This hotel is set in a great location, 5 mins from beach, town and the marina. There are also bus stops very close - Cala Mondrago is a lovely day out and cost 3.30 euro returnon an open top bus. This place has amazing walks and view points and is set in a brilliant nature reserve.

Cala Gran beach is the closest beach and is fairly large. You can walk out over the rocks along the side and find a quiet secluded spot with some ladders going down to the water. Perfect place to spend hours swimming and soaking up the sun. We found a great place to eat lunch and dinner sometimes. Head out of the beach, turn left and a few mins up the hill is a cafeteria called Marfils. Good food at reasonable prices. We had baguettes most lunchtimes we were the and the were around 3euros. They also do 3 pork steaks, bacon, two eggs and chips for 4.50 euros!

The town is less than a 5 min walk and is made up of restaurants, cafeterias, and general tourist gift shops. It is a place you can walk around day or night and feel so safe. I feel safer there at night than I do at home!

We have booked to go back in October but have not booked a package deal. We are saving over £300 by booking it separately. Using the trivago website or travelrepublic we have saved enough so we can hire a car next time for two weeks :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Found the hotel to be clean, yes the rooms are basic, as expected, but the shower works, its clean and except wednesday the room is cleaned and towels changed, the communal areas are well kept and the breakfast has good choice. I cannot fault this little hotel, and would return tomorrow if i could!!

The resore of cala d'or is wonderful, we used the beach mostly but the pool area of the hotel is very nice. We ate at a spanish restaurant called cana tapas grill/restaurant jsut off one of the mian sqares, walk past wooddy's bar and the indian and you will find excellent spanish food and service at fantastic prices

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Small & friendly hotel situated in the middle of Cala D'Or very close to the restaurants and activities. The rooms are modest but clean and a very good daily service to the rooms with one exception per week when the maid has her day off. This is the 13th year we have returned to this hotel and have committed to next year also.
There is a small staff of 2 maids, a breakfast chef, two bar staff, and a manager. The success of this hotel is the friendly atmosphere and great service. The hotel is a two sun (star) rated hotel but the service is 4 star.
There is a Spar shop immediately across the road from the hotel where almost everything is available so reducing the need to carry toileteries etc to Majorca hence cutting down on baggage weight. The hotel has 3 restaurants and one bar within Cala D'Or all part of the ownership. There is music on a Monday evening from 2200 to midnight.
This hotel is not really for teenagers or young people wanting good night life, it more of a couples and senior citizens type hotel. All of the upper rooms require ability to climb the fairly steep and narrow stairs.

Room Tip: Rooms are allocated on arrival and because there are only 40 rooms not easy to prebook a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Or

Address: Avenida Calonge s/n, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel D'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Or Cala D'Or, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel D'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.