We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food, Great Service, Must Go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prosper Chinese Kitchen

Prosper Chinese Kitchen
Carrer Espalmador, 44, Local 16, 07650 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
+34 647 19 73 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 123 Restaurants in Cala d'Or
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Chinese, Cantonese, Hong Kong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Here in Prosper Private Kitchen, you will have our irresistible Spare Ribs, Beef steak with honey and pepper sauce, and etc. Even with the most well-known chinese dishes like sweet & sour ones, you will find we do different from others you had before. Come here to get surprise and you will get all the satisfaction!We are very close to the bus stop of Cala Ferrera and next door to the supermarket SPAR-San Francisco.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Great Service, Must Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited this restaurant on our first night as we were looking for somewhere nearby to eat after arriving at our hotel. We both love our food and were sceptical about a Chinese abroad, but have to say, this is the best we've had, abroad or at home! The restaurant is owed and run by a family from Hong Kong so the food was authentic and delicious. The lady who runs front of house couldn't do enough for us, explaining some of the specials on the menu we could tell she was so passionate about the food they serve and this was reflected in the quality we received.

We had the special ribs and spring rolls for starter, the ribs were out of this world. For main, we had rice, noodles and 3 dishes and everything was so fresh and tasty.

This restaurant has only been open a couple of months and therefore lacking in decoration and finishing touches but do not let this put you off when walking by. It is very clear the investment has gone first and foremost in to the ingredients, so if you want a top quality meal for a reasonable price, this is the place to go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    17
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lily2010
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best chinese restaurant from Cala d'or!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Everything tasted great, from the peking duck with pancakes, amazing prosper spare ribs, sizzling beef steak and especially the chicken in li shan sauce! Even the fried rice for take away in the afternoon was very nice. Price is very good, in comparison to all the other restaurants. Lovely family that runs the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Chinese delight well beyond a holiday destination level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A very modest setting hides a true gem. Everything we tried was very tasty. The ribs are really worth putting to the chef's recommendation list. Also amazingly tasty were chicken and prawns with bamboo shoots. It's a shame we didn't come hungry enough to order more, but we'll definitely come back. Another thing not to miss is, surprisingly, sangria — blended with the best ingredients like cointreau instead of triple sec and some very decent wine it was one the best I tried anywhere in Spain. A very friendly and helpful waitress speaks good English and explains everything you want to know in elaborate detail.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“coco cola and lemon ginger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 weeks break in Cala D'or, We tried this restaurant on the first night and liked it that much we ate there three times in the week. The food and service is absolutely brilliant, the best chinese food i have ever had. It's very reasonably priced, two meals and drinks for under 25 euros. The frendley staff of this family run restaurant cannot will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They are all Hongkong based people ,and therefore speak english very well. The only draw back that I have is this. THE RESTAURANT IS PAINTED " BLUE ".

I think it should be a TYPICAL red . This PEOPLE LOOK FOR AND RESPOND TOO. ALSO BEING BELOW STREET LEVEL IT COULD DO WITH A FLASHING "" SIGN "" THIS WILL MAKE IT MORE NOTICABLE . 5stars all the way ,and good luck for your future,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Chinese meal I've eaten since Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

newly opened Chinese restaurant that is far above the usual fare, some very interesting items on the menu and all made with good quality ingredients no corners cut from this kitchen.
Excellent front of house staff very passionate about the food that they serve.
They really deserve to do well and I hope they do so as it's rare to find a Chinese restaurant that cares as much as they do.
WELL DONE !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prosper Chinese Kitchen also viewed

 
Cala d'Or, Majorca
Cala d'Or, Majorca
 

Been to Prosper Chinese Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prosper Chinese Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.