We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View of the bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Ponent Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Ponent Playa to your Saves list
Barcelo Ponent Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cala Ferrera-Felanitx, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Cala d'Or
ESSEX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great View of the bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights on a long weekend break with friends. Well placed for a sandy bay with great view from our room. It is a bit tired & dated but cannot fault staff or Restaurant / Bar.
The breakfast was very good with the normal bend down & look toaster. Evening meal good choices of Salad bar, Grill bar with choices of fresh veg, Ice cream & tarts. All in all for the money we paid it was excellent value. There was entertainment in the hotel and other activities during the day. Swimming pool was usually busy and the beds are not to far apart but if you want space the beach is on the other side. The outside bar due to the time of the year. Well used by saga as the elderly probably use for most of winter months.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    526
    294
    126
    57
See reviews for
428
614
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just been to Ponent Player for a week, people going for two week need a medal. This was October 14th to 21st , not many children there mostley pensioners like us,
People are saying the food was good, was there another dining room we didnt know about, or were their expectations of good quite different to ours, to be fair breakfast was more dignified not many in between 8 and 9 o clock in the morning .The evening meal i hated fighting for your food every night.people
que-ing and reaching the other end with nothing on their plates because there was nothing to get !
The carvery table meat when it was pork was always raw in the middle beware !.
every night bits of other meats chicken strips (frozon) tiny bits of lamb or pork and every night frozen tuna steaks fried till they were black.Oh and frozen veg always cold, potatoes if you were lucky YES cold.Soup was hot (not home made though) .bread table worsed ive ever seen in any Hotel, the staff, if you can find any work very hard and its not their fault, the Hotel have cut back to bare minimum and its the punters who have to suffer.
Our room was on the first floor looking into the cove nice veiw of the beach but, Oh goodness the noise every night of doors bagging and the lifts going up and down was awful, rooms clean enough although as others have said, without a fridge and an hairdrier it makes the place just a money making racket of a Hotel because you can hire any thing you need, why should you when youve paid to use the facilities of a hotel., We wont be going back to this Hotel, we went to the Esmmaralda last year round the corner lovely Hotel and they have every thing you need in with the price you paid.

Room Tip: High floor nice veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I have visited Spain at least twice a year for the past 20 years including Costa Blanca. Costa del Sol, Ibiza, Menorca and Majorca. The hotel is situated in a good location
overlooking Cala Ferreira and although looking in need of a makeover the rooms are
clean and tidy and the staff friendly. The nightmare begins on floor 2 misnamed the
dining room. The food especially the evening meal is disgusting. Meat tough and
uneatable , potatoes always cold, hot plate containers alwaysempty, soup containers
without lids so that when half empty the soup is barely warm. Every night the only dessert
ice cream which was so hard women were unable to scoop any. I could go on but you get
the idea. Without doubt the worst dining room we have ever encountered in Spain. Be warned !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for high room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The only thing I have to complain about is the beds - we visited between 28th Sep - 9 Oct 2012 and ordered a seaview room; the room came with twin beds that were made up separately (to the disappointment of my husband and I) and although they were tended to daily by the maid - were always very itchy to sleep in!!!! I would stay here again but only in a suite as the children's bunk beds were a couple of feet away. So 'That' part of the holiday was virtually non-existent. The food was always nicely seasoned and even though we don't eat pork or shellfish - there was always something else to have. Staff fell over themselves to make us welcome and comfortable. The all-inclusive aspect ensured the children (and us) were spoiled rotten. The beach and views were breathtaking - but the hotel is quite far from Palma. I am told that there is a direct bus service. The hotel have a good book collection, so if you forget your laptop, once you have finished faoming at the mouth from withdrawal - there will always be a good book to be found there. The hotel should improve its free WIFI as you can only access from the reception lobby - or pay 1 euro per ten minutes to use the computers and internet access - again, in the reception lobby. I'm also told that the free WIFI was really slow. The pools are excellent - but they have loads of chlorine in them so an extended dip without goggles will leave your eyes stinging and sore for a while.

The indoor pool is marvellous and in a warm room. Quite miss the place. :(

Room Tip: Sea views have the fluffy beds - but suite would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nothing to worry about , this hotel ticked all the boxes for us.Great food,good staff and friendly animation team,entertainment watchable.Clean rooms,good sized and the view from our room overlooking the sea and the inlet was superb.Only negative was no fridge and hairdryer,but hey no big deal.A good value for money hotel,and would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view on levels higher than 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had a 7 day all inclusive with Thompson however denied AI on seventh day , for 12 hours the only source of water was from the Lavatories. We had to purchase water on the 7th day to stay alive ,even though we thought we had paid for it.. Changi prison looked better than this hotel in the clear light of day. Requested towels on day of departure and were denied them as the hotel was short and we had checked out, 14 hours without washing in 34 degrees of heat is not an English norm. It's the small things that ruin a holiday however this hotel went out of its way to do so, like little Britain the answer seemed to be NO!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

With this hotel I think you get exactly what you pay for in a 3star hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, maybe a little updating wouldn't go a miss but lovely big towels and plenty of hot water. We were ground floor beach view which made the holiday for us as it ment just 15 or so steps onto the pretty bay. The sand is white and firm and the sea really clear. Lots of little fish too. You have to pay 12 euro for 2 beds and an umberella but lots of people just took towels etc to lay on the sand.
We were half board and the food was repetative and a boring after a week but we enjoyed lunches at the beach bar on the opposite side of the beach where they served traditional sardines, mussels, tapas etc.
Just a short walk from the hotel are restaurants/bars and souvenier shops but also the stop for the bus and the solar powered train/bus which tours cala d'or for a very reasonable price.
The pool area of the hotel was clean and offered plenty of beds whilst we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Ponent Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Ponent Playa

Address: Cala Ferrera-Felanitx, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Ponent Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barcelo Ponent Playa*** is situated on the Beachfront, with direct access to Cala Ferrera, in the town of Cala D ' Or, in the south east of the island of Mallorca. This Is the ideal hotel for a holiday with your family, partner or friends, where you can enjoy a complete restaurant service offered by our all inclusive programme. Enjoy the renovated and bright Rooms with a terrace. Also, you can relax in its Health and Wellness Centre with covered swimming pool (indoor swimming pool) Turkish bath, sauna and massage service. The hotel has a wide variety of facilities and excellent entertainment programmes for adults and children, a outdoor swimming pool, mini golf course, tennis court, buffet restaurant, snack bar next to the pool. Free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby. Enjoy a full and fun holiday in Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Ponent Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ponent Playa Hotel Cala Ferrera
Barcelo Hotel Ponent Playa
Barcelo Cala d Or
Barcelo Ponent Playa Cala D'Or, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Ponent Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.