We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos

Save Saved
You added Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Els Revells, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 49 hotels in Cala d'Or
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived home today after 7 nights at Sol Cala d'Or - we had a fab week away! We did ask for a room change on the first day, as we had a ground floor apartment near the road which was a bit noisy for the kids. This was accommodated the next day and we moved to a second floor apartment with a lovely pool view. The staff were great, very helpful. The apartment was spotless clean, with plenty of fresh towels. The pool was clean with a lifeguard on duty each day. We didn't eat there as we self catered. We ate in the local restaurants, with a couple of nights at the centre, which were more expensive but with a good atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this for families, our kids loved it at ages 11 and 16! I would hope to come back again next year, although I might reserve a sunbed now! This isn't a reflection on the hotel, only on selfish people who bag four (or more) beds at the crack of dawn then disappear for hours! The solarium on the 5th floor is great for peace and quiet, and for a dip in the jacuzzi! Read a few negative comments before visiting, all very trivial and we couldn't fault anything for what we paid!

Room Tip: Pool views are great, very sunny with nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Amanda W,

Thank you very much for your nice review, we are so glad to know that you had a fantastic holiday with us. Our main aim is to ensure your satisfaction in our hotel. We do appreciate your comments, our most sincere thanks!!.

Looking forward to greeting you again in our Sol Cala d'Or Apartments.

Best regards,

Ana Matos
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    131
    55
    31
    13
See reviews for
120
126
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our second time at the Sol Cala d'or and just like last year, we had a fantastic family holiday. We stayed for two weeks self catering which works well as the supermarket is on the doorstep. We have two teenagers age 16 and 13 years who enjoy the pool, roof terrace with jacuzi and local beach. Friendly, helpful staff are always on hand especially Ana who was amazing, she goes above and beyond to ensure you have the perfect holiday. The apartments are very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Air-con was a blessing in both the living room and bedroom. The pool area had plenty of sun loungers and parasols with sun and shade available all day. We got up around 08:45 to reserve our sun loungers, no problem. The snack bar at the side of the pool serves lovely food and having had breakfast here last year we can vouch for a good breakfast service. Perfect location, beautiful clean beach just a 3 minute walk down the road. the local bars and restaurants are a short walk away with evening entertainment is on your doorstep. We will definitely be coming back to the Sol Cala d'or hopefully next year, it's our home from home. Definitely would recommend it.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 102 and 106, both ground floor by the pool, very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Jayne L,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and thank you for choosing our Sol Cala d'Or apartments for your holidays. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and the most important thing was that you felt at home, it would be a pleasure to receive you again between us and try to ensure your satisfaction in our hotel again.

Kindest Regards,

Ana Matos
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here in early August, found all the staff friendly & helpful and the hotel clean & tidy.We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment (self catering) which was clean and a decent size for a family of four, with air conditioning which was needed over several days.Friendly cleaners with fresh towels come in every couple of days to tidy up .Excellent location as the beach and centre are only a few minutes walk away, well the centre may be a bit longer on a hot day.Not sure how you solve the sun bed issue as I wouldn't want to pay for these every day, but if everyone is sensible there are plenty of sunbeds to go round.Would definitely stay here again as we found it great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello HappyHolidayer68!

Thank you very much for your nice comments and thank you for choosing our Sol Cala d'Or Apartments for your holidays. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays between us.

We all look forward to hearing from you again for your next holidays!

Best regards,

Ana Matos

E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days in a one bedroom apartment on an AI basis. Apartment was an excellent size and the space could probably be used a bit better. Air conditioning wasn't functioning correctly but was quickly sorted out with new units being fitted on 2 separate occasions. The staff were incredibly friendly and very hard working. The place was spotless and was continually being cleaned. The pool area wasn't opened in the morning until the cleaning was completed. One piece of advice for the pool, take goggles or sunglasses as the pool is heavily salted and chlorinated which led to stinging eyes. Be prepared for a scramble for sun loungers in the morning.

For a 3 star All Inclusive the food choice was excellent and reasonably varied. We always found something to eat. However the biggest downside to this hotel is the lack of entertainment in the evening for children. This is a hotel that promotes itself heavily to families but there is no effort made by the hotel to keep people entertained. As a result you're forced to leave the hotel and go elsewhere and you lose the full benefit of the All Inclusive package. The brochure also advertised a hotel run kids club from 4-14 years however I would say the hotel kids club is for age 7 or 8 and above. We saw the kids club co-ordinator approach older children to get them involved however they walked past and refused to acknowledge the younger 4 and 5 year olds. On seeing some of the pool games it became clear why this is the case as it was incredibly boisterous and probably too much for the younger ones. If the hotel want to advertise this then please be prepared to cater fully for it. The inability to cater for what it promotes will be the main reason for me not staying here again.

POSITIVES

Decent size apartment with comfortable beds
Excellent and attentive staff
Nice size pool area
Reasonable choice of food and drinks on the AI package
Spotlessly clean

NEGATIVES

Daily scramble for sunbeds
Kids club does not cater for younger kids as advertised in the brochure
Lack of evening entertainment

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Andy M,

Thank you very much for your trust in our Sol Cala d'Or Apartments for your holidays and for your comments published in Tryp Advisor.

About the negatives points that you mentioned , I would like to say that our kids club accept children from 5 to 12 years old, we do feel really sorry if at any time there has been a misunderstanding in this regard because the broucher advertised an incorrect information. I have to say that we always explain that children under 5 years old can participate in the activities supervised by an adult or parents. Activities could vary depending on the ages that children who form the group are.

Once again I do apologize if we did not meet your expectations this time, and I dearly hope that your experience has not deter you for future reservations in our Melia Hotels International.

Kind regards,

Ana Matos
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week on august, in a self catering studio apartment. The male receptionist on arrival was pleasant and informative considering how late we arrived. The room was of a half decent size for two with a huge bed, reasonably comfortable. Room was eqiuped with utensils and pans etc, only really used for breakfast. There is air con but take ear plugs its very loud. Balcony was small but adequate for pre meal drinks. Cleaners came late in day so often we were in the room when they came bu t hey r nice and quick. Although room looked clean it did have a musty smell and a wee bit of mould if you really looked. My main grumble was the lack of water, if you had a shower at say 5-7 in the evening the water would either go freezing or stop completley so we were coming back late afternoon just to make sure we could get a shower (it was very humid so you will definitely need one) the location was excellent five mins from cala gran and fifteen from another beach which was smaller but quieter then gran. Ten mins had you in the bustiling centre where tjere were an abundance of restaurants and cocktail bars. I would reccomend the "different" restaurant the food was delicious and service second to none. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and would return however not in august as the humidity was 86% and too much, and not in the sol apartmentos, service was ok and room etc we didnt eat there as we were self catering and ate out all week, however the all inc menu seemed to be the same each day and night. For what we paid I would have expected better but it was an enjoyable holiday never the less. Be prepared to be up for 8 to get yr towels around the pool it was funny watching people scwabble for beds each morning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello k8ejones,

My name is Ana Matos, Quality Manager of the Sol Cala d'Or Apartments. I would like to thank you for letting us know your opinion about our hotel. We work daily in order that our customers enjoy the most. We note all those items that you were not agree, because all these points are always studied to achieve the total satisfaction that all our guests deserve.

Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again with us!

Kind regards,

Ana Matos
E- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the sol cala dor apartments the last 2 weeks in July. Myself, husband and 2 children 10 and 14. I cannot fault the apartments they were very clean and well kept. Around the pool area in the mornings the hotel staff were always busy cleaning the pool and terraces. We stayed at the busiest time of year but the hotel was very quiet at night no problems with noise.Iif you didn't mind where you sunbathed then there were still loungers to be had at 9.00. Yes there were inflatables in the pool but it is a family hotel and no one seemed to mind it was a very pleasant atmosphere. We were holidaying with friends who travelled the day before us and had emailed in advance for rooms together and pool views. This request was met and we were given ground floor apartments with doors opening onto the pool area. I would definitely request the ground floor again. The air conditioning could be a little loud but did not keep us awake and certainly did the job of keeping us cool. We did not eat at the sol cala dor so cannot comment on the food. Otherwise all of the staff we found very polite and accommodating especially the manager.The location of the apartments was fantastic lots of reasonably priced supermarkets on your door step and some beautiful restuarants to choose from. The pedestrianised centre of cala dor was full of bars and restuarants but slightly more expensive than the area outside the apartments.There is a great children's area with go karts, trampolines, bouncy castles and other activities with bars opposite. There are also a couple of bars close by with entertainment on every night. The beaches and marina were all short strolls away and very pretty with again some lovely resturants at the marina serving amazing fresh seafood.
All in all this hotel was a clean friendly well run 3* establishment in a fantastic location. Any negative reports about the sol cala dor can only be written by people who are looking for something to complain about. We all had a lovely holiday and hope to return next year. I have no reservations about recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Deborah R,

I would like to thank you for nice review about your holidays and your staying in our Sol Cala d'Or Apartments. We also would like to thank you most sincerely for your kind comments about our staff.

We hope to see you very soon between us and I remain at your disposal for anything or query you may need.

Best regards,

Ana Matos

E-Guest Experience Manager
Sol Cala d'Or Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent a week here at the end of July 2013, three of us in a one-bedroomed apartment. Clean with plenty of room though the view from the balcony wasn't the best (but then how much time do you spend on the balcony anyway?). The air conditioning didn't seem to be working too well, but one word with reception and it was sorted. The room was cleaned three times in the space of a week which was more than I might have expected.

It was my birthday half way through the stay and what a pleasant surprise to return to our room on the day to find a bottle of fizzy on ice and a personal message from the management. Top marks.

Only one quibble.....the sun beds are locked up over night to let the maids clean in the mornings. It was like rats to cheese every morning, with activity starting as early as 7:30. The first people would start to stir with their towels, booking space for their beds using the vacant chairs. As the ceremonial un-locking of the beds approached it was more like a war-zone...people rushing to get the beds. I've never seen anything like it before and vowed not to be drawn into the affray. Sadly that vow lasted 24 hours and by the second day I too fell victim to the madness.

Apart from that, I would recommend the place to anyone looking for a fairly central hotel. For us it fitted the bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Solcd s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hello colouredimages!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and for your comments about the sun beds for the pool area. We have taken good note about your comments, we believe that it is only through listening to your comments that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, your opinion is very much appreciated and I sincerely hope that this inconvenience has not affected you holidaying at the Sol Cala d'Or in the future.

Once again thank you very much !

Ana Matos
E-Guest Experience Manager
Sol Cala d'Or Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos

Address: Els Revells, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cala d'Or
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Melia, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala d`Or Apartamentos Hotel Santanyi
Sol Melia Santanyi
Sol Cala Dor
Santanyi Sol Melia
Sol Cala D'Or Apartamentos Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.