We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing holdiay at Melia Cala D'or” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cala D'Or

Save Saved
You added Melia Cala D'Or to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Cala D'Or
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portinatx 16-18, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 hotels in Cala d'Or
GreenLeadersGold level
liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful relaxing holdiay at Melia Cala D'or”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just spent four nights in a junior suite at the Melia Cala D'or. The hotel is wonderful and relaxing. The staff cannot do enough for you. We stayed room only but next time we will book all inclusive as whillt looks expensive when you see the price on line, it is really good value for money. The suite was great, and the bed is one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in whilst on holiday in Spain. We would definitly go back.

We had a meal at the Yacht club restaurant which was excellent so would recommend a visit if you like nice food and good waiter serivce.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 311 overlooking the pool - the rooms below opened direclty onto the grassed / pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Sue h,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for letting us know your opinion here.
We are glad to know that your stay was so pleasant and we sincerely hope to welcome you again at the Meliá Cala d'Or hotel.
Best regards,

Bárbara
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    42
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
69
112
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
clitheroe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a fabulous hotel. Far enough away from the centre for peace and quiet but easy enough to walk to Cala D'or centre. We had room 221. Two lovely terraces so we could find sun or shade at any time of the day. The room was well appointed with loads of towels etc. We were just on b/b basis and breakfasts were lovely. Plenty to choose from. We only had dinner in the hotel once as we like to get out and try different places but it was one of the best we had. The staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Special thanks to Isobel, Esperanza, Mercedes and Michal. If eating out we would recommend The Yacht Club, Vicentes, and es cuila for tapas.

Room Tip: Room 221 has 2 terraces. One side looks over the gardens and the other the road but both very privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear townendmj,

Thank you very much for writing your experience at the Meliá Cala d'Or hotel on the trip advisor web site. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, that is what we work for, to ensure your satisfaction.
We sincerely hope to be able to see you again at the Meliá Cala d'or in the future.
Best regards,
Barbara Mora
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed 13-24th June as a couple. Hotel lived up to expectations and agree totally with everything RNP reviewed. One reviewer said you should be over 70 to go to this hotel, but we found many young families with babies and children plus couples and elderly, so suits all. Must just mention Juan Andre's and his team who helped to make our stay at the hotel memorable; the service was 100% and nothing was too much trouble and all done with genuine smiles and friendliness. Housekeeping staff were also very friendly and helpful. We spent most of our time around the pool as the nearest beach Cala Gran was extremely busy with a limited number of beds and parasols. We also ate out most evenings and we found the resort restaurants busy and the food a bit hit and miss. We walked to the marina, which is a good 20 minutes, which was a nice setting but also we found the food hit and miss. Nothing compared to the food at the hotel restaurant, which is quite expensive but as it is a five star hotel, you can expect five star prices, which also included lunch at the pool bar. We shared lunchtime meals, which were more than adequate, and the olives and bread were free and topped up. Went on a trip to Cala Mondrago by catamaran. We had lunch at the beach restaurant and returned viewing all the other bays. Well worth the trip and advise booking at Cala Gran beach, rather than at the hotel, as more information available. Really enjoyed our stay and would like to thank all staff for making it a special holiday. Would recommend this lovely hotel and will definitely return one day.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor garden room (305) which is a garden room leading to pool and with sun beds on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear marcor 1970,

On behalf of the team of the Melia Cala d'Or ,I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your last holidays and for letting other trip advisor readers know, how your experience at the Meliá Cala d'Or Hotel has been. We are glad to hear that your recent stay has been very pleasant and we sincerely hope that if you have the chance to visit Mallorca, to be able to greet you again in our hotel.
Kindest regards,
Bàrbara Mora
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We didn't expect it be so good...in fact, the Melia Cala D'Or was brilliant. Cool cotton sheets (yes, occasionally threadbare), loads of towels: bathroom & pool; quiet, efficient air con; varied, plentiful breakfast spread, at 07.30 and at 10.15 - fresh fruit, yoghurt, baked goods, cheese, meat, eggs to your specification, Cava, fruit juice, fab coffee...you get the picture. The opportunity to lie in the sun or the shade from sun up to sun down. A lovely clean pool. Friendly, endlessly helpful employees. Beautifully maintained grounds/garden, watered every night. No need to ever leave the hotel and its grounds really.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear R N P,

Thank you very much for letting us know your experience at the Meliá Cala d'Or.
We are very happy to know that your stay has been good and we all hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Bárbara Mora
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed from June 1-8 for a weeks chilling holiday.The suite,112 was lovely,well equipped.The staff in the hotel are lovely,nothing too much trouble for them.We usually do not make breakfast but this was worth getting up for,bucks fizz each morning if you like !
We ate twice in the evening and the standard of food was really nice.
All in all the best hotel I have stayed in (we have stayed in 5 star hotels over the world but this one IS 5 star) Hope to visit again soon.
Well done the staff at Melia Cala D'or and Thank You for a lovely week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Komorione,

Thanks to you for choosing our hotel for your last holidays and for the comments you wrote on this web site. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time and we hope that if you have the chance to visit Mallorca again, to be able to welcome you at the Meliá Cala d'Or hotel.
Our best wishes,
Bárbara Mora
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed for a week at Melia Cala D'Or at end May13.
Arrival was low key - nobody greets you outside or helps with luggage. There is a small table for reception. Check in was slow and seemed very old fashioned. Receptionist was polite but not friendly or engaging.
Our room was 125 - on the second floor in the main building. It was a suite with an open plan lounge, diner and small kitchen area, and a seperate bedroom with four poster bed. It had a large whirlpool bath and seperate shower cubicle, and some very nice toiletries were provided and replaced daily.The balcony was large and nicely furnished, but the views were disappointing - rooftop of indoor swimming pool mostly.
It was soon clear that the air conditioning in our room was not working. I rang reception and they sent a technician. He said it needed a part to repair it. Receptionist said this could take a couple of days as it was Saturday night and supplier would not be open until Monday. I asked to be moved to another room but was told none available. She could not advise when a room would be available.
The next day (Sunday) a different receptionist told us a different story. She said the air con was switched off in the whole building because it had been cold recently and was not needed, but they would now switch it back on. A few hours later it still did not work and the technician was despatched again. He said it needed a part.
The following day (Monday) a part was acquired and fitted and the air con was working. However the temperature would not go lower than 19 degrees and the fan settings did not seem to work. The receptionist told us that 19 degrees was the lowest it could be by law and the hotel had therefore limited the settings. So what was advertised as individually controlled air conditioning is in fact not true. It was either on or off and was not very effective.
The hotel is in a good location, a short stroll from the towns shops, bars and restaurants, but in a quiet side street with no major noise.There is a rectangular swimming pool with sun loungers under an ivy and flower covered canopy. The sunbeds dont have cushion pads and are therefore not comfortable, and there are no parasols.. The canopy provides shade, but is fixed overhead and therefore cannot be adjusted and half of the pool is in full shade all day. So this is not the best hotel for sunbathing. There are some loungers in the gardens, but again the sunny areas are limited and the lawns are not flat.
Breakfast in the hotel was good but lacking in variety. Muesli (not good quality), yoghurts, small selection of continental cheese and meat, croissants, rolls and pastries, cheap sliced white and brown bread for toasting, and there was only 1 or 2 fresh fruits available which changed daily. Cooked items on the buffet everyday were baked beans, Hot dog sausages,spanish omelette, and bizarrely fish fingers, eggs were cooked to order at the kitchen hatch, (poached, fried, scrambled, boiled or omelette) as was some very streaky bacon. The waitress was very friendly and helpful and the conservatory style room is nice.
We did not eat in the hotel in the evenings, preferring to wander into town or to the harbour which is about 15 minutes walk away.The hotel restaurant seemed to lack atmosphere when we passed.
All in all this was a nice, relaxing week. The hotel is quiet, comfortable and nicely furnished.The location is good, breakfast is adequate, and there is free wi-fi throughout. However the sunbathing and pool facilities are limited. The views are poor from most of the rooms, check in was slow and reception staff were not welcoming or helpful.
If this had been a medium priced holiday I would have been satisfied but it was very expensive indeed and did not represent value for money at all.
Would I stay here again ? Yes, but only if it was at least 30% cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Sharon f,

I would like to thank you for your comments that you wrote on the trip advisor web site and for choosing our hotel for your last holidays. Unfortunately your stay has not been as pleasant as you expected and we do apologize for it. Your comments have been taken into consideration iin order to make the necessary improvements and make sure our guests feel comfortable in our hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you in the future and if is there anything that we can do for you, we remain at your entire disposal.
Kindest regards,
Barbara Mora
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronchi dei Legionari, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent one week at the end of May at Melia Cala d' Or Hotel.Very comfortable and ampli sized room with grand king bed filled with LCD flat-screen TVs,either in bed room and living room.Pool side is really nice, chic set up with really attentive staff.I suggest to ask for a room with pool view,as we forgot this particular,our room was at the opposite side(a oasis of peace anyhow).
Staff,service,restaurant and breakfast are superb.
Highly recommended for a relaxing week with your partner.

Room Tip: Pool side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Corrado80,
First of all, I would like to thank you for letting us know your opinion through the Trip Advisor web site with regards to your recent holidays in the Meliá Cala d'or Hotel.
It is very satisfying for us to get your feed back and even better to know that we full filled your expectations as our main aim is to ensure your holiday satisfaction.
Looking forward to greeting you in the future.
Kindest regards,
Bárbara Mora
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Cala D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cala D'Or

Address: Portinatx 16-18, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cala D'Or 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Melia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Melia Cala D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cala d`Or Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala d Or Melia
Melia Cala D'Or Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cala D'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.