We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cala D'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Cala D'Or to your Saves list
Melia Cala D'Or
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portinatx 16-18, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
scotland
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a lovely boutique hotel providing an oasis to retreat to from busy Cala D'Or. We were well received at the low key reception by Pedro who was always very professional. The room was of a high standard although the mechanism for operating the lights and aircon is demanding! The bathroom was modern and had all we needed. Room service was efficient although we had to ask them not to come to turn down the beds and tidy up the room at the time most people are getting ready to go for dinner. The pool area is attractive and there are plenty other places to sit if you want a quiet space. The sun beds are uncomfortable and need mattresses. Newspapers are provided. The breakfast service is very good and the room has lovely, tranquil views. There is a varied menu with different things every day and chefs to cook eggs etc to your liking. The only part that does not change is the cooked items on the buffet and they are unappetising. We had dinner once and it was very good but not striking enough to persuade us to pass on the greater choice of restaurants and more sensible prices for equally good food that is available in town. The best evaluation is the answer to 'would you go back?' and the answer is definitely yes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    52
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
88
147
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in July having done some research and booked a junior suite on a half board basis direct.
Everything was so easy. The flights were great (with Monarch). We only needed 3 cases as I'd emailed the hotel and found out they supply a pool towel each which is changed as often as you like and toiletries so we didn't need these.
We wandered straight out into a taxi the hotel booked for us - apparently the going rate is around 70 e or 80 e on a Sunday.
Our children are 8&5 so they had the sofa bed but housekeeping make it up every night and take it away every morning. Our bed was massive.
The pool was a nice mix of ages and nationalities, and everyone was very pleasant. The children made friends. There was room for everyone, and for those who enjoy sunbathing there were lots of loungers in secluded parts of the hotel grounds. I had been concerned that past reviews seemed split between complaints about too many children or too many old people- not a problem either way for us.
There is also an indoor pool the children enjoyed too. Also a lovely play area, with a clean paddling pool. Everything was cleaned daily and there was a lifeguard on the main pool, which has a fenced baby area at one end and a shallow jacuzzi area at the other.
The food was good. The only thing I was disappointed with was that I expected half board to include drinks with dinner but it didn't even include water, so expect so spend at least 10e a night on drinks. Also, noone told us about the free coffee/tea/biscuits at 5 daily in the lounge
They are small gripes though.
The resort was typical tourist place, the beach looked pretty but packed. We stated in the hotel mainly as this was a break to recharge, although walked to the marina one day. Once the children were happy in the pool, we could really relax an even read a couple of books while they played.
It was easy to relax here and we are hoping to return one day!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a fab hotel, exceptionally well run by a team of dedicated and highly courteous staff. My husband and I spent a week half board in one of the junior suites. We thought we might end up eating out a couple of evenings but the standard of the food and the dining experience was so good that we didn't need to go elsewhere. The standard of cuisine was very high with beautifully fresh produce turned into pieces of art every time.
Our suite was very well appointed and we could have happily stayed on a "room only" or bed and breakfast basis given the kitchenette facilities and the very well stocked mini supermarkets just a few minutes walk away.
The pool area was at times a little congested and needed to be a bit bigger to accommodate the guests who during our stay preferred to stay put rather than go to the very crowded local beaches.
The beaches are just a short stroll from the hotel and are truly beautiful but in high season are extremely busy.
We were offered the opportunity to switch to the new Melia hotel in Palma for our last night, at no extra cost. We decided to take up this offer just 15 minutes after receiving the details from the maid who provided the turn down service early eve. We then contacted reception to take up the offer, but nobody could process our acceptance pending the return of Ana the quality manager. After trying three times to follow this offer up, some 24 hours later, when we again tried to check with reception on our transfer details, we were told that another couple had taken up the offer. Whilst an apologetic was finally provided by Ana after my husband complained, the matter was not well handlled and it became clear that communication between reception staff and the quality manager wait'll or. It was only following an email to the guest experience manager Barbara that any gesture was offered - a free lunch in the poolside snack bar.
We didn't let that spoil our stay however and we would go back, however we'd go back out of high season. Thank you for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Recepción at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Nicola676,
Thank you very much for the nice comments about our hotel. We are very happy to hear that your stay was very pleasant and we sincerely hope to be able to welcome you in the future.
We are aware of the incidence when trying to book at the other hotel on your departure and we feel sorry not being able to offer it to you but we will try to make it better next time!
Once again, thsnks for your trust in Meliá Hotels International and we all look forward to hearing from you very soon.
Kindest regards,
Bárbara Mora
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just enjoyed another 8 days at the Melia Cala D'or.

Everything was excellent,the staff cannot do enough for you,and are all so polite,

We travelled with a 5 year old and a 9 month old baby,and the place is spotless.

Hope to go again before the season finishes.

Graham Magee and Family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b_rbarameli_cdm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear graham m,

Thank you for choosing again our hotel for your holidays. It has been a great pleasure to receive you here another year and we all hope to see you and family very soon.

Our best wishes,
Bárbara
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a brilliant hotel we stayed in a junior suite overlooking the pool with a huge balcony. The staff were friendly, warm and helpful throughout our stay. They really couldn't do enough for us, it was so refreshing. I hope the Melia team read this, we can't thank you enough for a fantastic holiday and making us feel so welcome. You spoiled us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BárbaraMeliáCD M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Spil1 209,
Thank you very much for your recent comment on Trip Advisor Web site. We are so glad to hear that your stay in our hotel fulfilled your expectations as we work for this reason.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you in the future again.
Best regards,
Bárbara
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I spent 10 days recently at the Melia hotel, and it was lovely. Admittedly the resort itself is a bit tacky and crowded, but the hotel is tucked away and peaceful. We hired a car and went off exploring the quieter beaches. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the junior suites and it was a great size, clean and had everything you would hope for. Breakfast each morning was great and the pool area very pretty. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BárbaraMeliáCD M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Happyholiday26,
Thank you very much for your nice and useful comments on trip advisor and thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at the Meliá Cala d'Or Boutique as our main aim is to fulfill our guest's expectations.
Your comments will be also very useful for other guests if they need some help when deciding one hotel or the other.
Looking forward to hearing from you very soon.
Kindest regards,
Bárbara
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hotel appeared full but quiet and we had an excellent stay with our 3 year old. Only a short walk through the back of the hotel to the lively town centre where you have many restaurants to chose from if you want to eat away from hotel. Also only a short walk to beach. We only had breakfast and sometimes lunch at the hotel - for breakfast there was always a great selection. Rooms very spacious and hotel kept to a good standard. The hotel is also within a half hour walk to the Marina which has a number of excellent restaurants with great views. We had a room within the main building but there are also excellent suites around the gardens of the hotel which look very nice. Would go back,

Room Tip: Suites around gardens look very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Cala D'Or, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear John D,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your holidays with us. Our main aim is to ensure your satisfaction in our hotel. We do appreciate your comments.
Again, our most sincere thanks.
Looking forward to greeting you in the future at our hotel.

Best regards,

Barbara Mora
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cala D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cala D'Or

Address: Portinatx 16-18, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#1 Green Hotel in Cala d'Or
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala d'Or
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cala d'Or
#11 Family Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cala D'Or 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Melia Cala D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cala d`Or Hotel Cala d`Or
Cala d Or Melia
Melia Cala D'Or Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cala D'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.