We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the Germans!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of CLUB CALIMERA Es Talaial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added CLUB CALIMERA Es Talaial to your Saves list
CLUB CALIMERA Es Talaial
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida es Fortii 20, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Cala d'Or
Hawick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beware of the Germans!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My fiance and myself have just returned from a four night break at the Calimera Es Talaial. When we arrived it was 23.30 hrs, pouring of rain and we were extrememly tired from travelling from Scotland to Leeds airport, then an hour and a half transfer time from Palma airport to the hotel.

We arrived and the receptionist produced a map, quickly drew a curvey line and intended to send us on our way into the rain, I asked if there was any chance of food as we had been travelling all day, she showed us the restaurant on the map and turned her attention to the Germans who were waiting to book in too.

As it turned out she drew the line one block too far on the map and we couldn't find our appartment in the terrential rain. We did however find the restaurant and bar and we got a cold buffet platter that had been left for late arrivals.

The next day was better, breakfast was a huge array of hot and cold meals, something for every one and excellent quality. Everything was clean and seemed to run smoothly, empty plates were instantly replenished while your dirty plate was quickly whisked away.

Cleaner only works 5 days a week but that wasn't a problem. Rooms were clean and acceptable.

Drinks at the bar were not quantity restricted, if you needed to get 4 drinks you could get 4 drinks and the alchol quantity was enough to get an Elephant drunk!!

The beach is a short walk accross the road, very small and you have to pay for sun bed hire - 12 Euros.

The evening entertainment is a bit hit and miss, with no entertainment on a Sat or Sun night. All children's entertainment is in German, with the evening adult entertainment was of poor standard, performed by German children in the form of a talent show, with no English translation.

The Germans push in front of you at the restaurant or bar, totally ignore you when out and about in the complex, even when you smile and say "good morning", I found that hard.

All those annoying niggles out the way, we had a good mini break, we didn't go on any excursions and apart from going to the beach once, we stayed in the hotel complex. Tv was all foreign with only BBC news in English. We managed to put on 7lb in 4 days, so food and drink is excellent!

I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    63
    43
    21
    16
See reviews for
117
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north wales uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

just returned from club calimera es talaial we found the hotel,staff and food to be very good value
we were all inclusive & thought it was excellent except for the entertainment the two main animators were very rude to british guests to such an extent that German guests reported them to the management for trying to incite trouble. we understand that they are supplied by the german travel agency and not by the hotel. apart from that we had a fantastic holiday &as senior travellers we were surprised how the children were entertained all day long and did not interfere with any other guests we will go back to this hotel without hesitation. sept to oct is the best time for british as it is predominantly a german hotel and the entertainment is mainly german.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned from visiting Club Calimera Es Talaial and we were plesantly surprised by the whole trip.
The staff were really friendly and helpful . The quality of the food was 1st Class and there was somthing for everyone, you just could not be fed up with the menu. The staff seemed to work well together and cared about what they were doing in the dining area, we just could not fault it at all so a big Congratulaions to all involved there.
The rooms were dated and would benefit from an update,but they were clean and spotless all the same.We were in block 4 at the back and if you want some peace ask for that area and ask for the lower floors as there are three levels involved.

Being English were were outnumbered with the Germans but that didnt bother us at all.The entertainment was all in German so if you have Children it may be a problem but Thomas the Manager spoke good English and involved the English Children with everything.

There was an Adult Pool with a small pool and very comfortable loungers,but make sure you get down early for a place there as they get snapped up quickly.
The area itself is lovely about fifteen mins walk into the main area,really special place to visit.

Overall good value for money and well worth the visit. We will be back again for sure.

Once again Congratulations to the Management for all the hard work on this complex.

Room Tip: Block 4 is away from the main buildings and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

the address of this property leads you into a false sense of security. It isn't in the resort of Cala D'or - it is more Cala Egos and Cala D'or is really only accessible by taxi or shuttle train (not really a train but a unit that pulls train like carriages behind). 3euros per person each way.
Anyhow, the hotel is nice, clean and has loads of facilities, spa, 1 x indoor pool, adult only outdoor pool, family outdoor pool plus daytime entertainment. We went all inclusive - the hotel has 1 main restaurant and a pool side snack bar. The produce is all fresh and varied each day. Loads of salads, fruits, soap, hot food and cold food, fresh bread, biscuits. self service on hot drinks and juices, fizzy drinks and wine throughout the hotel. You need serving for beer and spirits. I had read reviews before going and knew to expect most of the guests to be German and therefore the entertainment to be the same. This was the case but as I knew what to expect it didn't bother me. We went for just 4 nights at the end of September - the weather was great, beach opposite the hotel is beautiful - just a small safe cove. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice clean hotel in a quiet location to chill during the day. We went into Cala D'or 1 evening, around the Marina another and walked to the local bars and shops just 3 mins up the road from the hotel on the other 2.

Room Tip: the rooms are on 3 levels so unless you are good with steps it might be worthwhile mentioning that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Hotel is certainly pretty average in terms of room décor – the typical Spanish dark interiors and the room looked a little tired – but it's clean and reasonably well appointed. .

We booked a room on a room-only basis so can’t comment on the food or the behaviour in the meal areas but when I walked through it looked fine and calm.

This worked out well for us, a couple in our mid sixties. The “kitchenette” was pretty basic but we did bring a kettle. There are 2 fast rings – no grill or oven and just about enough plates, cups and glasses. I would suggest bringing any condiments you might want and we bought coffee and coffee filters to go with the plastic filter jug. With a fridge and a couple of Spar Minimarkets a couple of hundred yards away for the milk, juice and morning baguettes this was just fine. Perhaps also bring some freezer bags for ice cubes. We also bought a dishcloth and washing up liquid and we were set.
Some lovely restaurants at all prices within easy walking distance and only 20 minutes walk to the Marina at cala D’Or itself which again has some lovely places to eat.

Important to realise this is Cala Egos not Cala D’or but this suited us fine. Particularly as there was a small beach 100 yards from the hotel and for a change a rocky place to swim 100 yards in the other direction. Daily boat trips from the beach and a small hourly road train around the resort and to Cala D’or for 2 Euros each. We had a car but not essential as there are also buses to local towns. The Reception staff were very helpful and all spoke good English.

But – we were there in October and the hotel closes in 3 weeks so it certainly wasn’t full. At 9.30 the first morning I walked to the pool and there were no towels reserving spaces – in fact no-one swimming or sunbathing at all.

However the entertainment was mostly German but there were 2 evenings of mimed music – Queen and the Blues Brothers. But the 1 hour adaptation of Boeing-Boeing in German was one to be missed for us. At least I think that’s what it was.
With children it could be difficult although the regular games of children’s football are pretty international.
We may go again – particularly to this area and maybe even to this hotel.
Word of warning if you drive – can be tricky to find but follow the signs to Cala Egos and then to “Es Forti” and you will eventually see a garish yellow and blue sign saying “Club Calimera”. You’re there.

I'd certainly recommend it for an out of season break.

Room Tip: We very much enjoyed the rooms 51nn and 52nn overlooking a small road by the side of the complex. Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent one week rowards the end of September in this complex on an all inclusive deal arranged by Broadway Travel. Accommodation is in blocks mainly located around a large U shaped swimming pool which has a shallow area sectioned off for small children (heavily used). Our first room was on the third floor and we found this inconvenient. We would advise older visitors to ask for a ground floor room as the upper rooms are reached by steep staircases which lack handrails. Nadja (Guest Service) was most helpful in arranging a ground floor room for us and throughout our stay made sure we were well looked after. Our new room was spacious and very comfortable. Marguerita and her colleagues in Reception were also very helpful - particularly when my wife's purse was stolen (see below)
As others have noted, the majority of guests (perhaps 80% - 90%) were from Germany but this presented no problems since many spoke English. The entertainment was mainly in German but we were not interested anyway. The TV in the room offered two channels in English.
Meals were served buffet style and taken either in a large dining room or outside on a pleasant terrace Some time before the meals were to be served, many guests secured tables on the terrace ready for the moment the doors opened. There seemed to be a general feeling that unless the buffet was raided immediately there would be nothing left. This same worry also made it imperative to see how much food could be piled on one plate before going back for a second helping - and there were some impressive performers. I suppose there may be more frightening sights in the world than a young German mother and her brood advancing towards the food counter but I've yet to see one. Our advice then is to wait for 45-60 minutes before going to eat so avoiding the crush. There was always plenty of food with many alternative dishes. The desserts were excellent and plenty of fresh fruit was always available. Judging by the amount of fruit some guests helped themselves to, if an apple a day keeps the doctor away, they will not need to see one for months to come. All in all, the entertainment in the dining room was interesting to say the least. Considering that at any one time there are 800-850 guests to be catered for, the catering staff did a remarkable job.
There is a small sandy beach a few hundred yards away from the Club. A road train provides an hourly service to and around Cala D'Or and this stops outside the main entrance. The cost seems to be two Euros whatever the distance travelled. In Cala Egos itself ,less than half a mile away, there is a bus stop with buses serving the local area and as far away as Palma. On Sunday a market is held in Felanitx and buses run to there twice in the morning, at 8:20 and 10:05. We opted for the later bus. Long before it arrived a crowd had gathered and when the bus came there was an undignified scramble with a mass of people pushing and shoving - utter chaos. It was here that my wife's purse was stolen from her bag. There is a notice saying to beware of pick-pockets but they seem to operate here with impunity. Beware!
To sum up. This is not a luxury hotel, it is a three star Club. Judged against more luxurious (and expensive) hotels, three stars is probably realistic. However, for what it is, the service it offers, the standards achieved and the helpful,friendly staff we think it deserves a Very Good assessment. Great value for money and an ideal holiday centre for parents with young children

Room Tip: Older guests should ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Yes this hotel does cater mainly for Germans but we found them very open and friendly. We booked with Broadway Travel and found the hotel exactley as the Photos had shown and with all sites I reaserched before booking. The Hotel position is superb the Beach is beautiful, with the weather we had 18/25 sept you could have thought yourself in the caribbean, yes we have been and the little cafe serves wonderful Frappelatte. The Hotel Service was excellent, we arrived after midnight and asked the night receptionist if there was anywhere still open where we could get a drink. Within 5 mins he had arranged for the resturant to be opened and we could have had as much as we wanted. Then the night watch helped us to our room with our cases. This turned out to be on the second floor with 5 short flights of steps.As we are both in our 70's this was a draw back with no lift but you did not forget anything as you left your room. The food was far above our expectations for the price we paid. Breakfast, lunch, afernoon tea, dinner and all the snacks anyone could eat plus all liquide refreshments. Yes lots of children and many babys were there, don't forget children start school later on the continent than in England but the animations team worked very hard with them, morning, afternoon and evening until 9pm to entertain them, A little too much chanting as they filed around the grounds for our likeing but they were enjoying the games, Then the adult enterntainment started. Only one evening when the whole show is in German. Any nationality can understand tribute shows to the likes of The Blues Brothers, Oasis ect. It is a fault of the English that we do not in general learn other languags. ALL IN ALL A TREMENDOUS VALUE FOR MONEY HOLIDAY.

One thought after being home a day or two, If the weather had been less kind Es Forti is a very small area and the hotel would not have entertainment other than German in the day time.In th evening it could be a disaster as all entertainment is outdoors. Andrew S's comment of a sperate bar indoors where other nationalities could make their own entertainment and chat would be essential..

Room Tip: 1st / 2nd floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CLUB CALIMERA Es Talaial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLUB CALIMERA Es Talaial

Address: Avenida es Fortii 20, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala d'Or
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CLUB CALIMERA Es Talaial 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your CLUB CALIMERA Es Talaial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Calimera Es Talaial Hotel Cala d`Or
Calimera Es Talaial Hotel
CLUB CALIMERA Es Talaial Cala D'Or, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CLUB CALIMERA Es Talaial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.