We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It. Will definitley revisit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ona Cala de Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ona Cala de Mar to your Saves list
Ona Cala de Mar
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   C/ Voltor sn Urb Es Sementer, 7660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Cala d'Or B&B and Inns
wicklow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved It. Will definitley revisit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Travelled here in May 2012 with my husband, our 2 kids ages 10 and 18 months and my parents. We were in a 2 bed and provided with cots, highchair and stair gates. There was also a welcome pack in our kitchen which was a nice touch. Full kitchen with washer/dryer and dishwasher, oven ect. 2 flat screen tvs, 1 in lounge and 1 in main bedroom, also dvd player and cd player which was great for our youngest as he liked to watch his cartoons before nap time. Duplexes were fabulous. Comfortable beds, spotlessly clean and really nice furniture too. Main bedroom was huge with its own ensuite and wrap around balcomy with furniture. Twin bedroom had its own ensuite as well and downstarirs the couch converted nto a double bed and there was also a wash closet. Plenty of storage as well. There was also a little patio area and garden out front which was nice to eat breakfast and lunch at. We were just across from the pool which was lovely and manned by a lifegaurd. There was also ping pong, mini golf, giant chess, a playground and a badmitton court so plenty to keep the kids occupied. In reception you could rent dvds and board games free of charge as well as use wifi for a nominal fee.
We didnt eat in the restaraunts ourselves, but my parents and kids went one night and said the food was very basic but in Cala Egos itself there are lovely restaraunts or you can go into Cala D'or where you are spoilt for choice. Cala Egos was such a lovely area, quiet and family oriented. No drunken yobbish behaviour here. Beaches lovely and we went on the glass bottom boat trip which was a nice day out - apply plenty of sun screen though. There is also a train which brings you into Cala D'or and we took the kids on this too as they enjoyed it. Would definitley return here and would recoomend the Cala De Mar. Probably the nicest we have stayed in yet

Room Tip: try and get one of the duplexes across from the pool - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We came on an rci exchange and we were really impressed with the standard of accommodation. We stayed in one of the two storey, two bed units, which was spacious and well equipped. The pool and grounds were extremely well kept and the reception and bar staff very friendly. The lifeguard, however was far from concientious!!!

Cala de Mar is well situated for the beaches, marina, shops and resteraunts. Would recommend Doughty's bar round the corner.

A WORD OF WARNING....I had my purse stolen from my handbag in the local Eroski supermarket. On reporting this the police said this is a common occurrence, be extra vigilant as I still don't know how they got in my bag so quickly and without being spotted!

Overall myself, my husband and our 4 children had a lovely time at this resort.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in August. A perfect family resort. Stayed in a one bed apartment with my husband, 2 teenagers and 11 month old. There was plenty of space for us all. We expected the sofa bed to be a double but it cold be made up as 2 singles which was perfect for us. The apartment was cleaned daily as we're the grounds. The crazy golf/table tennis/chess area was kept neat and tidy as was the pool area. The pool bar was good value for drinks and food. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a great little complex this is. The facilities are perfect with a pool, bar, restaurant, spa and sauna and even a gymnasium. A recent addition is Tara Pascal Dee's massage room. Very profession and very reasonably priced, this is well worth a visit. The bar staff are very knowledgeable and offer a variety of cocktails along with branded spirits and soft drinks. Tapas Evening and Cocktail Evening was very much enjoyed along with the entertainment offered. The many beaches are only a short walk away as is the marina. The supermarket has a wide variety of stock to suit all and the local restaurants offer everything from typical Spanish food to Steak and chips. I would thoroughly recommend this self catering complex and will be returning again in November.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for week. Is off season so very few shops or restaurants open in the locality or in cala dor itself so needed car to get to supermarket. On site staff very helpful and informative. Reception closed all weekend. Spacious and well equipped one bed apt. Kitchen a bit tired cupboards seen better days. Cleaned every day and bin emptied etc. Great welcome pack of groceries and wine. Short walk to marina very pretty. Otherwise used car and bus to get to other places. Recommend the park walks and lovely beach at cala mondrago national park.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Its a classic family holiday, arcades for children lots of places to eat close to beaches where the 1 ft and swim by your feet, calm and peacefull, lovely hotel great employes very polite and just a lovely plave to visit, hopefully again this year!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited Mallorca only to use up a week of a Lion Resort Holiday Experience, because we had been unable to stay at a resort in Cyprus.
We have previously stayed at the Capitol Coast Resort in Cyprus and loved every aspect of the resort, so Cala De Mar had a lot to live up to. It did in many aspects, the accommodation was excellent. Upon arrival check in was very quick and the receptionis was very helpful, as were all of the reception staff whenever we had any questions. We had a two bedroomed villa over two levels, it had two large bedrooms which both had patio doors opening onto the huge balcony, both had ensuite bathrooms and there was also a downstairs toilet. The kitchen was well equipped with a dishwasher and a washing machine which looked like it had never been used, and all the other equipment you would expect to find in your own kitchen. Upstairs there was also a safe, and the key was obtained from reception but use was free.
Everything was very clean throughout the villa, and it was serviced, and towels replaced every day except on the day after out arrival.
During our stay we had no trouble with noise from the bar or pool area, but this may well be due to the fact that the season seemed to have ended although it was only mid October. We did not eat in the restaurant but the staff seemed friendly and they did have various themed nights with entertainment which seemed popular. The pool area was well maintained and clean but the water was cold.
There are many restaurants within two minutes walk of Cala De Mar, Chinese, Italian, steak house etc and there is a supermarket next door for water, bread etc. There is an even wider choice of restaurants in Cala D'Or which is 5 minutes away by car or a little longer on the tourist train which stops just along the road from Cala De Mar. I would definately recommend having a hire car for part or all of any stay to make the most of the surrounding area, and to go further afield to see what Mallorca has to offer.
Our biggest complaint of our trip is not to do with Cala De Mar, but the fact that a lot tourist attractions seemed to be closed for the season, water parks etc and even a lot of the restaurants. I think it would probably be better to visit earlier in the season for a wider choice of activities and places to eat, but all in all a nice break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ona Cala de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Cala de Mar

Address: C/ Voltor sn Urb Es Sementer, 7660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala d'Or
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cala d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Cala de Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the south-east coast of the sun-drenched island of Mallorca, lies the Ona Cala de Mar resort. Nestled between picturesque coves, golden sandy beaches and exclusive marinas, the Ona Cala de Mar is ideally situated to offer couples and families everything they could want from a holiday. The Ona Cala de Mar itself is a beautiful 3 star resort with a warm and friendly family atmosphere, renowned for its fantastic food, excellent entertainment, its impressive swimming pool and the garden area. The Ona Cala de Mar offers a wide range of gastronomic proposals, from full-English or Continental breakfasts to a la carte lunches and dinners. Once in the hotel guests can get tourist information and Wi-fi internet connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ona Cala de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala De Mar Hotel Cala d`Or
Ona Cala De Mar Cala D'Or, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ona Cala de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.