We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not as good as before?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Petit

Port Petit
Avenida Cala Llonga, Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
0034971643039
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Port Petit is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 123 Restaurants in Cala d'Or
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Port Petit is an exclusive restaurant situated in the beautiful Marina of Cala d'Or. You can dine in the open-terrace with a spectacular view overlooking the harbour. The Port Petit is famous for its creative Mediterranean cuisine since 1988. We offer a Bistro Menu for lunch at 21.50€ and at night a la Carte and 3 different menus from 37.50€.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Maybe not as good as before?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have been coming here almost anually for the last 15 years. The feeling is that it's not as good as before or is it just us tiring of the experience? It's a great place with great food that has stuck to its menu over the years. If you don't know it, do try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    8
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Easy perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Gerard Deymier is a perfectionist and he takes it easy. It's a striking combination for artists and creators like us. His restaurant's a haven of "bon goût" and great cuisine. And not surprisingly, after years and years of pursuing perfection in his kitchen, he decided to make his own wine. Success again. The other night, we fell under the spell of one of his new dishes, a pastrami carpaccio. In Mallorca, where chefs have a tendency to drown their overcooked fish into gallons of creamy, bland, insipid foam, catering to German and Austrian taste! His pastrami carpaccio was like "NY deli-meets-raucous-French-bistro-meets-serene-Mediterranean-harmony". The touch of genius --- thin slices of rich pastrami dapped with the simplest, purest French vinaigrette, the one that have blessed "museau de boeuf" for centuries, and a few leaves of not-from-the-bag rucula. A worldwide travel in one single plate. And what amazed me even more, my Cambodian fiancee just loved it too! Good taste is universal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Port Petit Cafe/Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Didn't eat in the restaurant as the veggie offer was poor but the we ate in the bar which was very nice and good value and we drank in the bar on many occasions. Jamie the manager was very welcoming and he made us feel like friends. Our favourite bar on our whole trip to Mallorca. Thanks to Jamie

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went to this restaurant to celebrate my Husband's birthday whilst on holiday with friends. We arrived just before the sun went down so we were initially in sun overlooking the marina which was lovely but once it got dark it had a fantastic ambiance too. Particularly with all the twinkly lights of the marina. The maître d' and all the other staff were very eager to please (they checked we weren't feeling chilly once the sun went down and kindly offered to close the large folding doors on the balcony for us if we were). The food was wonderful and we had a fantastic evening. Yes it's expensive but in our opinion it was worth it for a special occasion. I would say it has the best view of all the marina restaurants and the food was totally delicious. We ate from the gourmet set menu and it was all fantastic. We will certainly return on our next visit to Cala D'or.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK but was not what I expected at all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Came here for a meal as I had read up about it on-line before going to Majorca.

It was a nice meal- but very over priced for what we ate.I had looked forward so much to going here and felt very let down.

If you want to rub shoulders with Hooray Henry's and all the chaps who have brought boat's into to harbor then this is the place for you....which should not be the case as many people on holiday in Cala D'or who enjoy a fantastic freshly cooked meal still want to eat out and eat well whilst on holiday.

Very dissaponited,was supposed to be a meal to celebrate a birthday too and had built up such great expectations to friends we asked to go there with us and they also commented on the restaurant being geared toward a certain type of clientele.

The food was definatley over priced I can't put down the presentation of food at all or the taste but felt for 4 of us it was more art cuisine rather than taste and ambiance cuisine.
We all came to the agreement that it was a great shame that the web site not mention anywhere it focused on ''certain clients' it perhaps should have had a guest list??

Will not be mislead in future by a web site or information on a web site about a Restaurant will walk by first to see first hand what to expect.
Such a shame,over priced overly 'inverted snobbery'' restaurant to visit otherwise we would have not had such a negative response to our visit here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Petit also viewed

Cala d'Or, Majorca
Cala d'Or, Majorca
 
Cala d'Or, Majorca
 

Been to Port Petit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Petit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.