We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific....................” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca"n Trompe

Ca"n Trompe
Belgica, 4, 07660 Cala d'Or, Majorca, Spain
+34 971657341
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 123 Restaurants in Cala d'Or
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cheshire
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Terrific....................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Over the 7 years that we've been to Cala D'Or we'd never been to Ca'n Trompe, but based on Trip Advisor feedback we decided this year to have a look at the menu. As there were 7 of us we reserved a table on the terrace and it was ready and waiting for when we arrived. At first we felt we were being ignored but after about 10 minutes or so the friendly staff sprung into action taking drinks orders and bringing the menus. From that point on the service was great. And the food? With 7 of us we thought that at least one would be dissappointed, but no. All starters and mains (we all went for the Mallorcan-inspired meals) were terrific. In particular the Frito and the Pork Loin with Tumbet.
We booked to go back another night but this time the table wasn't ready so we had to walk around for 20 minutes. However they were very apologetic and sorted out things as soon as we returned. Again, another very good meal with no complaints. Oh, and both times we were pleasantly suprised about the size of the bill!
Definitely on our 'must go back' list.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    76
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“THIS IS A MUST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was one of our best Cala D'Or meals. The restaurant is central, smart and service is very good. We were even given a free drink after we'd paid; nice touch for returning customers. The menu is not extensive which means the food is prepared just for you. Both of us enjoyed our choices of fish for the main course and starters too were good. The Tuna carpaccio and the Asparagus starters went down well as did Cod Mallorcan style. This is a very high quality restaurant with sensible pricing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mmmm...Paella!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We ate here twice in the week we were there. We had the blind paella for 2 which easily fed us and our daughter. Our 12yr old had the pork which he thoroughly enjoyed. Staff couldn't have been nicer, very helpful and happy to accomodate our chilkdren by changing the menu slightly for them. The restaurant is in a corner and is a great place to watch the hustle & bustle but not feel to close to it. A bit more expensive than some places but worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch time value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

You must go in and have the menu del dia.

10 Euros: 3 courses of very high quality food.

Best food in Cala Dor

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I've been going there for over 25 years and it is my most favourite restaurant in Cala D'or. Great service, friendly staff and lovely owner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca"n Trompe also viewed

 

Been to Ca"n Trompe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca"n Trompe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.