We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protur Bonamar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Bona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Protur Bonamar
Save
You added Protur Bonamar to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Comellar Fondo, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
wrexham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

As a couple we like the Thomson Gold brand but were encouraged to try here by the numerous good reviews. After a long and tiring journey, an hours delay in Manchester, circling Majorca for over 30 minutes, waiting over an hour for the luggage and 2 hours on the bus to the resort, we were greeted by Victoria with a smile and a quick checkin. Her tone set the scene for the week with really great staff always smiling and singing. I wont repeat too much of what has been said about the hotel i.e. rooms, cleanliness, food etc. I would say that the cost of the drinks in the hotel and the resort are very reasonable. We had a great time and would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms ending 01 - 20 have partial sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    147
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
362
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Fantastic hotel in excellent place. Staff cant do enough and are very friendly. Very close to Callor Millor and the harbour at cala bona. Cala Millor has lots of shops but Cala Bona is the better resort with many hotels with Cabaret to watch. Couldnt fault anything at the hotel, was great not to have any cooking and cleaning for 2 weeks. A special mention to Natalie for organising the entertainment at night and activities during the day, she made everyone welcome and is very friendly and good at her job.

Room Tip: We didnt upgrade and our room was excellent. The upgrades overlook the pool and sea, we had limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I, together with another couple, spent two weeks here in late September this year (2012). We found the hotel staff most helpful and friendly, everywhere was spotlessly clean, and the food in the restaurant of a good standard, with ample choice and quantity. The hotel is situated between Cala Bona and Cala Millor and a pleasant stroll away from either. For a reasonably priced 3 star hotel this would be hard to better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My partner and i have just got back from 2 lovely weeks at the bonamar. I was concerned reading the reviews about it being full of old people as i am 29 and my partner is 33 but it was brilliant even though some of the people were older and they were all regulard they meet there eve year they helped us showin us where everything was and were very friendly to us after 2 weeks we felt like we had known everyone for ages! Only problem was men wearing long trousers to dinner..so pathetic as women are allowed to wear shorts and it is not mentioned until you check in. Natalie the entertainment rep is lovely and very friendly gettin everyone involved in the daily games and quizzes! Eileen and pedros shop round the corner is very cheap and has tge best sandwiches tgey are lovely and very friendly. Great location lovely people and worth a visit only downside is there are no tea or coffee facilities in your room or a fridge we had to pay 40 euros for 2 weeks to hire one the rooms do need updating however the rest of tge hotel is lovely and we had a beautiful view of the sea from our room 220. We would go again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Second year running at the Bonamar at the beginning of September and our fourth visit to Cala Bona. Despite five days of questionable weather out of the fourteen, we again thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
Paid slightly more this time for a full sea view and must say that it was well worth it. The room was slightly bigger and the balcony considerably so.
As mentioned in our previous review, this hotel maintains its claim to be the most friendly we’ve ever stayed in. All employees are exceptional, from the cleaners to the bar and kitchen staff, the receptionists to the management – all fantastic at how they conduct themselves. This level of professionalism is a credit to the Protur Group. Again, we’d like to mention Natalie, whose contagious enthusiasm in keeping everyone happy and entertained is a pleasure to experience.
As last year, the standard of cleanliness in and around the hotel is of the highest quality and as good as any hotel we’ve ever visited, regardless of star rating.
The food this year was also very good. Better than last year we thought, with plenty of choice and always hot.
One minor criticism, as last year, is the few guests who insist on rising at 7.00 every morning to reserve their sun beds, even though there are signs saying this is prohibited before 8.00. The reason the hotel displays this sign is so the cleaners can thoroughly clean the pool area ready for use. There are always more than enough sun beds and umbrellas to go around and there really is no need to carry on in this manner. Please get a life.
We’d like to add our comments to the countless previous ones regarding Eileen and Pedro who run the local Spar shop just outside the hotel. A wonderful couple who add to our holiday experience year after year.
Don’t usually mentioned holiday reps but would like to say that Heather, the Thomson rep was very pleasant - never pushy, but always there for help and advice when required.
So many nice bars and restaurants in resort that we can’t mention them all. We did however, enjoy several drinks at Paulas, on the promenade just along from the Hotel Alicia. Great service at reasonable prices and a perfect spot to sit and people watch.
As the beaches in Cala Bona are not the best you’ll experience and the long beach at Cala Millor is quite busy, it is well worth going to Silot or for a lovely quieter beach, up towards Los Pinos. We spent two days at each, using either the bus or the land train to get there.
Finally, a thank you to all other guests that made our stay as enjoyable as last year - especially to Sir Frank and his wife. Also a big hello to Morris and Marjorie from Widnes – we thoroughly enjoyed your company and will be looking out for David in his forthcoming TV role.
Work commitments mean we may not be able to return next year but rest assured we will be returning to the Bonamar as soon as possible.
Dave and Lindsay (Bristol)

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a full sea view. We prefer a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you like a small hotel couples only thats relaxing with a friendly atmosphere (staff excellent) and very clean then this is the hotel for you.
Rooms are quite small but ok. Would recommend paying extra for full sea view as balconies are a lot bigger..
Plenty of choice at Breakfast. Cannot comment on evening meals as prefer to eat out at night. (try l oliva on the harbout excellent food and tapas to die for)
Will definately be going here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our first visit to the Bonamar and won't be our last.The reception staff were very efficient and we were soon in our room.The rooms are small but very clean we didn't expect to spend much time in it so it wasn't a problem.Pool area really nice with plenty of sunbeds.The food is excellent their is always something to eat you shouldn't go hungry.
Didn't see any of the entertainment as we went out every night.Hotel is in a perfect position between Cala Bona and Cala Millor you can walk from one end to the other its nice and flat, there are plenty of bars along the way for you to stop and people watch its a very relaxing resort.Overall a fantastic holiday and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protur Bonamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonamar

Address: Calle de Comellar Fondo, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cala Bona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#6 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Bonamar 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Also Known As:
Protur Bonamar Cala Bona, Majorca
Protur Bonamar Hotel Cala Bona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protur Bonamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.