We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOLIDAY WHICH WE WILL NEVER FORGET” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Protur Bonaire Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Cala Bona
wrexham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOLIDAY WHICH WE WILL NEVER FORGET”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We have just returned from this wonderful hotel. It was our first time on an AI basis and, after reading mixed reviews, we did not know what to expect. As soon as we arrived all bad comments were forgotten. I really do not know what planet all the people are on that have given it bad reviews - from cleanliness to food, entertainment to the staff it really was first class. We have two boys of 10 and 6 and they had a wonderful time met some lovely friends who they will keep in touch with. Many many thanks to Amazing Ant, Ziggy Zoo (the boys loved him - he reminded me of Pied Piper all the kids followed him everywhere!), Antman, left foot Lydon, all the kids club staff thankyou for looking after them so well, and all the girls too you all work so hard you deserve a medal.
It has also been one of the first hotels where cleanliness has not been a worry. The apartment, although basic, was clean, the surroundings were too, restaurants etc. The food was wonderful - lovely choice and we ate very well. Thank you so much to Mikel the waiter who my boys loved to bits, you really are a sweetie.
We are already thinking about returning next year something that we don't normally do and hopefully meeting up with friends we have made again.
If you are considering this hotel all I can say is you will not be disappointed, you will be looked after, entertained, made welcome and will definately want to return at the end of it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    975
    307
    70
    16
    4
See reviews for
937
185
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We have just returned from our 3rd trip to the Bonaire in Cala Bona. This is a holiday for fun loving families. The Hotel is great, the food can be a little samey by week 2 but there's still lots of choice which is great when you have 2 young children. If not eating in the hotel the pictureseque harbour is just a 10 minute walk with lots of restaurants to choose from.

We have returned this year with some fantastic friends we had met up with on our previous visits. We even named oureselves Team GB! The Thomson Reps from the Kids Clubs, Advisors, Creche Staff to the entertainment staff are nothing short of fantastic and are a credit to Thomson (TUI). Awesome Ant is quite simply hilarious. I have never seen anyone put in so much effort and energy.

To enjoy this holiday you have to let yourself go and join in with the fun and games. If all you want to do is lie by the pool then may be this isn't the holiday for you but if you're prepared to join in, even a little, I guarantee you'll have a fantastic time.

If you would like to see something a little more entertaining than photo's please check out our holiday video on You Tube the link is below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Te6P19FU-E

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Hubbie and I took our 4yr and nearly 2yr old to the Bonaire for a week self catering. We certainly didnt feel in the minority being SC and I dont see a problem with the AI element if that's what people want. Drinks were certainly flowing in the evening but that's what holidays are about, and everyone behaved themselves! We personally enjoyed eating out in Cala Bona which is only minutes walk from the hotel so SC suited us more. Would recommend Olivia Tapas bar by the harbour in Cala Bona, lovely food and staff were very attentive to our boys. We returned afew times during our stay.
Thomson reps were fantastic, the boys loved Awesome Ant and Ziggy Zoo however, I did notice a change in reps during our week with quite afew leaving, so apart from Ant/Ziggy the rest seem to have lost their energy a little but didnt stop us from enjoying ourselves.
If you want peace and quiet in the evening dont ask for a pool facing room, the outdoor stage is very noisy until 11pm so no chance of any sleep if you want an early night.
Agree with the comments re:sunbed situation, its appalling and something drastic needs to be done by the hotel otherwise unfortunately you end up joining in and getting up early to reserve a bed (which doesnt go down too well if you are awake til late in a pool facing room!)
Pirate Ship/Splash pool is a great new addition and ideal for young children as parts are shaded and its shallow water. It meant we could catch some rays while the kids played - providing you dont mind joining in the water fights each day with Ziggy Zoo!
Overall one of the best child friendly places we have been to, with kids club, creche, soft play, slides, splash pool still within a small family feel resort - what more could you ask for? Will be booking again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland Tyne & Wear
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We have just arrived home from a 2 week stay at the Bonaire, I was travelling with my husband and 2 daughters aged 14 & 9, we also went with friends who also had 2 children of 13 & 7. They had been to this hotel in the past over 4 years ago and we were looking forward to 2 weeks of Sun, Sea and San Migel! It was one of the best holidays I have had and would love to go back again soon.
We went self catering which wasn't too much of a hassle as the local spar was just across the road and the bread on a morning was very freah and warm, at lunch time the poolside bar had plenty to offer with generous portion sizes for about 5 euros. on a night we chose to walk across the road to the Harbour where you found plenty of food on offer at the local bars and restaurants, in total we spent about 70 to 100 euros a day on food, not bad for the 4 of us. We chose to saty around the pool for the day and took part in some of the activities on offer both inside and outside the pool ran by the very english Entertainment team, Amazing Ant man, Lady Kerry and Lindsay pops. they were a hit with the kids and the adults and had so much energy to offer an outstanding rota of activities.
The night time entertainment was good and the team also played a major part getting the kids up dancing and the Adults too! the shows were interactive with the audience and they even managed to get myself up on the stage 3 times during my stay and my husband twice!.
My youngest daughter took part in the Razzmatazz theatre production on 2 occasions and she thoughly enjoyed that and it kept her out of the sun for 2 hours 3 times a week!
All in all we had a good holiday, the beds were a bit hard and you only got 1 pillow but could ask for more, the cleaner was spot on and it was a pleasure to be there and would definately think about going back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Just back from our 4th visit to the Bonaire with 2 boys aged 6 & 3. Yet again a fantastic time had by all!!
Had been a little apprehensive before going due to recent mixed reviews & introduction of All Inclusive option - we needn`t have been. The Bonare came up trumps again. apart from the smell of BBQ through the day hardly noticed AI - certainly no drunken/inappropriate behaviour
The Kidzone girls were one of the best we have ever met always taking time to speak to the boys who loved going along to Tots & Team.
The Bar Staff were there usual friendly selves greeting us as soon as we arrived.
The boys did swimming lessons football & razzmataz loving every minute.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks in the hotel. Read reports before we went and was really dreading it. We did not see any drunken behaviour at all, the pool area and bar were a little untidy at linch time with the all inclusive mess left by people but not really off putting . It appears that most of the bad reviews are for holidays taken in school time when holidays are cheaper. It seems a better class of people go in the holidays as not taking the kids out of school. Spaces available in kids club. Have boy 9 who really enjoyed himself and found plenty of things to do , would go back next year no problem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We've just returned from the Bonaire after visiting for the 3rd year in a row. Thomson! What have you done?

This used to be a great family hotel with excellent facilities and a really friendly atmosphere. It seems though that the introduction of the all inclusive option has attracted a whole different type of clientele.

The facilities are still superb and this year the hotel has built an amazing new pirate ship pool and snack bar. The rooms are clean and functional and there's plenty of things for the kids with the clubs and activities. However it's just not the same place anymore.

The first thing that was immediately obvious was the amount of mess around the place with rubbish and used cups and plates around the pool and bar areas. By the afternoon the hotel just seemed to be a mess. The pool bar and restaurant were so untidy by 1 o'clock it was sometimes unpleasant to sit and eat.

Sadly the once really friendly staff seemed rushed off their feet and under pressure. It seems that they're now struggling to keep up with the constant demand for free beer and food.

The same applied to the Thomson reps, especially the ones running the kids clubs. The clubs were busier than we've seen in previous years and for the first time there were occasions when our 5 year old didn't get in.

There were groups of rowdy people shouting and swearing and on one occasion there were some older kids throwing the toddlers push along toys in the pool. I noticed a young girl smoking no older than 13 or 14 when her mum appeared and sparked a cigarette with her. One guy was so drunk he couldn't even walk.

Maybe I'm being snobby but it seems that Thomson have attracted a group of "drink all you can while you palm the children off to the kids club" type.

Despite how it might appear we're not ones to moan so we just got on with it and enjoyed our holiday but not as much as previous years. But by the end of 2 weeks I was pleased to be going home. It's unlikely that we will return despite previously planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protur Bonaire Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.