We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel really well run but way over the top "entertainment"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Protur Bonaire Aparthotel to your Saves list
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel really well run but way over the top "entertainment"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We (couple with 13 month baby) took our first "family" holiday here. As a holiday it would always be a very different experience to the other holidays we had taken, both together and separately. Cala Bona is a very quiet little town north from the livelier Cala Millor and I'm glad we stayed there, much quieter is what we needed and the hotel is also at what we felt to be the better end of cala bona with a very cool bar/ pizzaria called Penetosto overlooking the sea which was well frequented by Germans and Dutch as well as the Brits.

The hotel is exceptionally well run, the catering / bar and cleaning staff were faultless ( thanks Miguel for always making our daughter laugh) . The downside, and it is almost certainly a deal breaker for us was the Butlins style "entertainment". If you want peace and quiet, having a 19 year old female shrieking into her microphone " in just 5 minutes time...... " every 10 minutes whilst lying by the pool trying to grab a doze just isn't what we, and I suspect many families with pre school aged children wanted. We had travelled after the schools had gone back specifically to avoid the noisy season.

I guess we might have underestimated the "Thompson" effect and hats off to the hotel for the for the job they do. I don't really do going back to the same place because there are plenty of places in the world I'll never have the time to visit, but we will not return despite the quality of the hotel staff.

By the way- quietest blocks with a lovely view of the hills are the far ones in block 4 and 5. Morning coffee ( self supplied) on the terrace overlooking them was an absolute highlight of the holiday.

Room Tip: See above review
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    324
    75
    16
    5
See reviews for
991
199
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Super holiday with all the family. Had a great time. The hotel is within an easy walk to the harbour. Very good street entertainment which the little ones loved. Great entertainment at the hotel as well. The children loved the kids area of the pool. We also went on several outings arranged via the hotel. We had a wedding anniversary while at the hotel, somehow (probably our mutual anniversary cards) alerted the staff to it and that night a chocolate cake and bottle of fizzy stuff appeared in our room. An amazing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Why on earth is this place getting 4 and 5's is beyond me. Got back today from a week all inclusive with my wife and 20 month old. First of all when checking in you need about 50 euros worth of deposits for towels the safe and the remote control. An additional non refundable 14 euros is required for the safe. So 19 euros in total with 5 refundable. In regards to the towels you can only get 3 changes in 7 days without being charged further. Apartment was fine. It was spacious for us and most importantly clean. Luckily we were in block 4 looking out to the football court. Good luck if in block 1-3! Entertainment goes on just past 11pm and is ridiculously loud! So if you have little ones and like most want to settle them down from 9ish then good luck. We went for the all inclusive option as at the time of booking it only worked out £15 each person per night to upgrade from bed and breakfast. Two words to describe the food. School dinners. Honestly it's rubbish well dinner is anyway. Breakfast is okay and lunch is good but only from the cooking station by the pool bar. Fresh fish, burgers, salads, pork or chicken kebab tasty but couldn't tell what meat it was lol. Dinner is truly shocking. We ate there 3 nights out of the 7. It was bad. If you are a kid then you will prob like it. But it lacked seasoning taste,quality and by the time you walked back to your table it was cold! Be prepared to walk into tantrum city at meal times also. this seriously is a family hotel. if you do not have small children then dont stay here. for us parents its great though as you feel very comfortable and know everybody dining is in the same boat and any tantrums are generally ignored which is great. Nothing worse then going to a restaurant where some adults have clearly never had children or quite simply hate children and the odd tantrum at a restaurant. they are kids for gods sake they are learning and experiencing new things each time. There are so many nice restaurants by the harbour in cala bona it was a shame not to sample them. We ate in 3. Panetosto twice which is a pizzeria. Nice chilled out vibe great views and great food. If you like pizzas try it out. L'oliva by the harbour more expensive but we did have fillet steak and king prawns. The other one was fomoll di mar just down from panetosto. Had a great paella there. On average looking at 40 euros per meal. L'oliva cost 65 euros again we ordered the most expensive dishes. It amazes me when at l'olivas we heard the waitress next door at smithys explain tonight's specials to the diners "tonight we have chicken curry served with rice or chips even better you can half and half" never could understand why you would go abroad and eat something you can get from a cheap takeaway back home. Everybody is different though just my opinion. Sticking with the all inclusive I was disappointed in the drinks also. Last year we went to protur sa coma. There you could have bottles of San Miguel, Smirnoff, Baileys quite a few branded spirits'. Not here it's draught or local spirits. I drunk vodka and draught first few nights and my guts were ruined. From the 2nd day I drank only bottles of San Miguel and had to pay 1 euro 10 cent each time. Didn't have a dodgy stomach once though so small price to pay. Even the fridge in our room was never stocked and was always empty. Last year in sa coma same chain fully stocked everyday. No snacks at all on AI in this hotel. Only ice creams and some foul tasting cake. So overall disappointed. On to positives my son absolutely loved it there. Loved Thomson the dog and the entertainment team. Even though me and the wife couldn't listen to any more from the 1st night we sat through it for our son as he loved it. That's what matters right. The entertainment team 100% effort and enthusiasm every single day and night can't question it. However it is the same thing every single night practically and for us was just like being at butlins or live at some kiddies show. Like I said though our son was having a ball. If you have kids between 18 months and 6 they will absolutely love it. I would definitely go bed and breakfast. Breakfast as with kids it's easier. There are so many restaurants in cala bona and cala millor which is a 20 minute walk or 5-7 euro cab you would be mad not to try them. All reasonably priced. Quite a mixed review really. To sum it up me and my wife did not enjoy the hotel but our son loved it. Because of that it was a worthwhile trip. Long gone are the nice luxury couple holidays where you can relax in the day and enjoy yourselves at night!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in the Bonaire for 11 nights in early September - our first trip abroad with our young kids age 3 and 16 months. The Bonaire was recommended highly to us by someone with equally young kids and now we know why. It's perfect for families.

The apartments are clean and look like they have been fairly recently refurbished. There is a large pool area with varied depths and a fantastic splash pool about 30cms deep with fun slides for young kiddies.

The food is fantastic (don't listen to anyone who says otherwise!) I am a bit of a food snob so I was worried about going all inclusive and eating from a buffet every night but there was a huge choice, all really fresh and tasty. I eat a lot of seafood and so do the kids, and we were spoiled for choice. There is a kids buffet which can be a little more limited (the usual chicken nuggets, spag bol, chips etc) but our kids mostly ate from the adult buffet - our 16 year old was tucking into grilled swordfish fillets at one point! The only problem I found with the food is that it was so nice, I ate too much!! The BBQ buffet at lunchtime was brilliant, and the breakfasts were even better.

The staff were fantastic. Really, really fantastic. Nothing was a problem. Our air conditioning unit started leaking one day - we reported it to reception on our way to dinner that night and by the time we returned to our apartment after our post-dinner entertainment and drinks, it was repaired and the floor had been cleaned again.

The Thomsons staff were incredible. They never stopped! And always had smiles on their faces. Our 3 year old had a few stints in the Kids Club and had a ball. We planned on making use of the creche with our 16 month old but ended up just going along to one of their afternoon parent and toddler sessions rather than leaving her there. But even that was great as there are loads of toys and books for them to play with and other parents to have a blether with while they play.

There is a small play park and soft play area within the grounds, which we used quite a lot when the kids got bored with the pool. For older kids (and grown-ups!) there is a football pitch, table tennis table, pool tables and probably loads more we didn't realise.

The entertainment runs almost all day and evening, which is great for keeping kids occupied (and those like my husband who don't enjoy just lying by a pool). Water polo, quizzes, giant jenga etc are a great way of joining in the fun. The entertainment staff were fantastic and 'Thomson the dog' makes an appearance every day (mostly), creating a new obsession for my 3 year old!

There's even a doctor in the hotel every day at a set time, which is peace of mind for those with little ones!

Cala Bona itself is lovely - very quiet and a pretty little port. Lots of little shops, bars and restaurants and the larger Cala Millor is about a half hour walk away with a larger beach and more lively buzz if that's what you're after. The little road train also stops almost right outside the hotel, which runs out to Cala Millor and Sa Coma.

Overall, fantastic. Would highly recommend and we're considering returning next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in Block 3 - the smallest of the blocks. Great for families as it was away from the entert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Bonaire for 11 days in August. As previous reviewers have said, it's a great hotel for families with young children. The kids clubs are free and well run. There's entertainment round the pool all day which you can easily ignore if it's not your thing. The pool is big enough to be out of ear shot. The reps are all excellent as are the hotel staff, particularly Lorena in the snack bar by the splash pool, Margarita in the restaurant and Toni in the Italian restaurant. The rooms are big, well thought-out and clean. The breakfast is excellent, the snack bar food is great and the evening buffets are excellent some nights and good others. Yes there are some unusual things on offer but you're in Majorca!! Not England. Cala Bona is 5 minutes walk from the hotel and you can get to the amazing beach at Cala Millor in a taxi for 8 euros. All in all a great holiday. Thanks Bonaire

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of one of the blocks if you prefer a quiet room. All blocks are near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely amazing for children and adults it ticks all the boxes, it's so good that we are planning on returning next year.
Rooms are beautifully decorated and very spacious we were in block 2 and although you can hear the music it didn't really bother us and anyway your on holiday!. The splash pool is brilliant with lots to keep the kids entertained, on certain days the crèche is open for toddler time which I would recommended all the toys are clean and are supplied from mothercare.
The entertainment staff especially nutty Nathan are excellent and all ages will love Thomson the dog which comes out at lunchtime and at tea time live. The hotel staff are so friendly and the food is excellent with lots of choice. We went all inclusive which meant we could eat at the BBQ which I must say is delicious. Only thing I would like to see changed are the sun beds some are broken and not very comfy. Overall this is a fantastic hotel and if you visit make sure you take a walk to the harbour in cala bona it's beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This review is a little late sorry - came back end of August from a fabulous 11 nights at this brilliant hotel. This was our third time and we were so happy that after not going last year, the reception, restaurant, bar and the lovely Manager remembered us! Lorena who works at the splash-pool bar even remembered our eldest son's name! I like to try different places but this hotel really does tick all the boxes. It is exceptionally clean, the food is spot on and the atmosphere is so friendly. We met up with friends again from couple of years ago and also met knew ones.
My boys are 13 and 9, they too loved it there and my eldest, who I was a bit unsure whether or not it would be too young now for him, immediately said on our return home - "can we go next year please?" says it all really.
Just to finish, please don't listen to the other poor reviews for this hotel (in the minority) where the staff consistently work their very hardest, it does not deserve it. I will say the Thomson reps have been better but the ones that were there did work hard and gave a lot of guests plenty of enjoyment.
A very big thank you for a fab holiday at the Bonaire, we have again booked for next year and are counting down the days .....enjoy!!

Room Tip: Blocks 3,4,5 on the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protur Bonaire Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.