We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Protur Bonaire Aparthotel to your Saves list
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cala Bona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home from our 2 week holiday at the Bonaire. The hotel staff were very friendly and the entertainment reps were fantastic!! Nutty Nathan was full of energy and such fun to watch he really shows great enthusiasm, he was fantastic with the children and kept everyone well entertained. It was good that you were not forced to join in the activities.
The rooms were very clean and the hotel grounds and the pools were lovely. The resort was very quiet and family orientated. We visited the beach a couple of times and the sea was beautiful, we caught a taxi back to the hotel as it is cheaper than the bus. We recommend this hotel we all had a fantastic holiday and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    324
    75
    16
    5
See reviews for
991
199
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is our second trip to the Bonaire All inclusive - I have holidayed in cala bona for over 32 years at various point in my life and in 2012 this hotel was perfect for our family, we booked for 2013 within three hours of landing back in the Uk and as soon as the brochures were out we booked for 2014!
This year we had a new addition to our family a 7 week old daughter! I have to say after visiting here previously I had no qualms taking her to this hotel and resort (although it was booked before she was conceived) I have to say she was perfect the whole holiday!
The majority of customers return year on year and it was lovely to see a lot of faces who we had met last year.
Generally the hotel staff are amazing from the bar staff, cleaners, waiters, chefs and reception! I did witness a few incidents with one member of staff but once brought to the attention of the manager it was dealt with – I must say the manager is very pro active and can be seen around on a daily basis.
The food is great and always plenty of it although in the continental/late breakfast room the coffee machine often doesn’t work! Kids sometimes run around in the dining room however this is down to parental control not the hotel!
A few comments I must make!
No cot or steriliser was in our room even though it was pre booked. There is a 10 euro deposit required for the steriliser which we were not pre warned about by Thomson’s and there were no instructions provided on how to use the steriliser.
It took a while to warm to this years entertainment team as last years team were outstanding and I do think Kimbo is a very sad loss to the Thomson entertainment team! Nutty Nathan and the girls did win us over and believe me they have one hell of a job - it was a hard audience for them some nights!
The outside entertainment was appalling the amount of money we pay there should be good acts every night – the good ones were the acrobatics and magic acts the poor ones were the singers and the bands - they wouldn’t even get a gig in a north east social club they were that poor! As far as I am concerned the entertainment should keep the kids sitting on the marble floor watching them not boring them to death and them running riot!
Kids need shoes with covered in toes for kids club – again not said anywhere by Thomson’s prior to arrival – although this must be for safety as it wasn’t stated last year. Thomson’s must be cutting back as last year kids got a T-shirt, water bottle and a hat, this year kids got a t-shirt with a hood (really in that heat?) and a water bottle. Kids club was again not of the same standard as last year with more “special” sessions that you have to pay for! The chocolate party night running the whole dinner session 6-9pm - you want my child to just eat chocolate and sweets for tea are you going to clear up the mess - needless to say we gave it a miss this year!
The quiz is about the only daytime activity we participate in and I noticed it has gone from 20 questions to 15 – cutbacks in every area?
One day the full Thomson team were out of the hotel for training – peak season August and you have to take the staff out for a training day – same happened last year surely it’s not going to happen next year too?
In 2014 we are paying £600 more than we did in 2013 - I hope there are no more cut backs -I want to see more for my money especially when I’m paying more!
I will not be booking for summer 2015 until I have been in August 2014. The Holiday Village along the road in Cala Millor is in the same price range and offers more for your money – you will have to up your game to compete with them and keep your customers - a number of larger families who I spoke to (due to larger family rooms being available) are already considering the holiday village as an alternative!
Remember happy kids happy parents !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Protur Bonaire hotel review:

There are plenty of reviews on TripAdvisor giving accurate accounts of how good this hotel is. I could easily fall into the same trap and offer you little new information now or you won't see if you book and stay there ... which you probably will do or should do if you've taken the time to come to Trip Advisor to look at this hotel.

Therefore, here are some interesting notes (which I've stated as "Facts") along with "Tips" about the Bonaire and Cala Bona which I hope you will find useful:

Fact 1: The transfer to the hotel took around 1.5hrs. This was travelling in a bus seemingly limited to 50mph and having to drop off at 4-5 hotels before reaching ours. This was still shorter than the 2hrs experienced by others. Having travelled close to Palma airport to go to the aquarium later in the holiday the transfer could be done in 1hr by car. This might be a factor if you are thinking of hiring a car for the duration and/or have little ones that may become fractious.

Fact 2: Mallorca offers glorious weather this time of year which can be likened to the best of a British summer day - therefore not too warm for those not used to warmer climes. It will therefore make a nice "first time abroad" family holiday.

Fact 3: The hotel is set in very clean and spacious grounds.

Fact 4: It is situated at the end of Cala Bona at the furthest end from the bigger resort of Cala Millor. If you are all inclusive the hotel will offer you all you can want. If you are self catering for 2wks you may find you want to wander towards Cala Millor to give yourself a greater choice of restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. Be prepared to walk!

Fact 5: Akin to the last point, if you are looking to go to the beach for part of your holiday but aren't prepared to walk the 20mins or so to Cala Millor then look at hotels other than the Bonaire. The beaches in Cala Bona are shaley / rocky places that are likely to disappoint. Cala Millor offers a lovely sandy beach but, be warned, it does get very busy this time of year!

Fact 6: The hotel rooms are compact but very modern and clean. They were cleaned and had fresh linen provided in them 5 times per week. I think even the most cleanly of people should be satisfied with this.

Fact 7: The hotel has excellent facilities for families - particularly those with younger children. The children's pool with its pirate ship is excellent.

Fact 8: The staff and holiday reps are, on the whole, excellent. They pride themselves on providing excellent customer service. We saw the hotel manager every day. He was the happiest and most congenial chap you could meet always speaking to guests and, generally, there when people arrived or left his hotel. I don't think I've seen a better more "hands on" and friendly hotel manager in my various stays to hotels both in the UK and abroad.

Fact 9: The fact that you need to reserve beds from 7:45 is a slight pain but you can get beds later in the morning or afternoon if, unlike us, you aren't early risers. The beds merely won't be at the pool's edge.

Fact 10: Whilst the reception area has WiFi it is painfully slow - seemingly owing to the number of people using it at the same time.

Fact 11: The drinks and ice creams from the bar aren't too pricey. They merely compare with restaurant prices in resort (e.g. €3 for a pint of beer). Obviously you can buy drinks from the supermarket and drink them on your balcony much cheaper than this should you wish. However, the newspapers (already significantly more expensive than the UK in all shops) are increased by an extra 15-20%!

Tip 1: If you want to hire a car, use the hotel's own company (Protur) rather than hiring via Thomson or anyone else before leaving the UK. The prices are cheaper, there are no hidden charges and you can book via reception. The only point to note is that there was a lack of a person speaking English on the day we picked up our vehicle.

Tip 2: If you have a particular request regarding a room contact the hotel via email before leaving. Based on speaking with others around the pool direct requests appeared to be accommodated more than requests via Thomson's. We played it safe and covered both bases.

Tip 3: If you want a quiet block avoid Blocks 2 & 3. We stayed in Block 5 which was close to all the amenities we needed. In fairness all the blocks will place you quite close to most of the amenities you will use. Please bear in mind Tip 2 though!

Tip 4: Take advantage of the Kids Club if you have little ones. Whilst family holidays are all about spending time with your children it helps you to relax with each other or other parents. The children are in safe hands and have great fun!

Tip 5: For a cheap lunchtime meal, if you are self catering, get a take away pizza from Panetosto which is 150-200 yards from the hotel front. Eating in, where you have a choice of pastas and other foods too, I'd equally recommend.

Tip 6: Also if you are self catering other decent places to eat at, in Cala Bona, include: Tasca des Port and Hotel Cala Bona (open for food in lunchtime only). Overall however the restaurants in the resorts don't break culinary ground and all tend to offer the same choice. We found much better restaurants in resorts in locations such as the Algarve.

Tip 7: BiP supermarket is approximately 250-300 yards to the right as you come out of the hotel. This is great for products if you wish to cook in the apartment and for water, soft drinks, ice creams, breads and the like. It is the most reasonably priced supermarket in the immediate area.

Tip 8: As it was my son's birthday when we were on holiday we advised the hotel and Thomson's of this fact prior to leaving the UK. The result was that the hotel provided a cake to the room on his birthday. Thomson's also made a fuss in Kids Club and during the evening's entertainment. I'd therefore recommend making contact with the hotel and Thomson's if you have a birthday or anniversary whilst staying at the hotel.

Hopefully you will find this informative. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel for your next family holiday. I would be surprised if you regretted the decision.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week holiday with 2 teenagers and have mixed feelings of the Bonaire. The thing that really got me down was the sunbed situation around the pool. Getting up at the crack of dawn for a broken sunbed is not my idea of a relaxing break. Drinks and ice cream were very expensive at hotel but bar staff were excellent. Hotel grounds very clean and we found room service to be very good. Entertainment was more for the younger family. My teenage children did get fed up and I do think more could have been done to cater for them during the day. Cala Bona as a resort is very quiet but still had plenty to do. Food is very much to English taste and chips are served with everything. We did have a nice family break. Was is our best? No. Would we go back? No. Would I recommend the Bonaire? Yes I would, but only for families with children under 10.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my family have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Bonaire. Overall we were a bit disappointed, not only with the hotel, but with Cala Bona as a resort.
The Bonaire is a nice hotel but does not live up to its trip advisor hype. Yes, the rooms are nice, but this is because they have just been refurbished and so you would expect them to be. The following points need mentioning:
1) The maid service was terrible! The room was not cleaned properly in two weeks and our sheets were only changed once after complaining.
2) The sunbeds at the hotel are in a terrible state. At least 80% of them are broken and not fit for use. This problem appears to be ignored by hotel management.
3) Drinks at the hotel are extortionately expensive compared to other nearby establishments.
4) The lifts in block 4 were out of service most of the time....a pain when you are on the top floor!
5) The entertainment at the hotel was terrible compared to other hotels and Thomson are obviously making cut backs. The Reps focus all their attention on families that return year after year. The same children are on the stage each night winning all the prizes!
6) The food in the restaurant was poor. I couldn't eat half of it due to the amount of salt added. The restaurant was full of children running wild, some of whom weren't even wearing shirts! The parents seem content to let them get on with it?!
Overall the Bonaire isn't value for money. It is well overpriced. When you pay £3000 + for 2 weeks self catering (2 adults and 2 children) you don't expect to encounter the above problems. In my opinion the hotel is popular with those guests who return year after year and put on these vastly unrealistic reviews. Namely, Brits who are easily pleased, are content with burgers and chips and never leave the hotel!
As for Cala Bona, I was disappointed as soon as I arrived. It is run down and dirty. Crawling with stray cats who walk on the ouside restaurant tables. The resort is overrun with english owned low quality restaurants serving mediocre english food at inflated costs. One newly opened restaurant owner told me he couldn't serve spanish food because the people who holiday in Cala Bona wouldn't eat it!!! I go to spain to eat spanish food?
If you like the beach don't go to Cala Bona....the beaches are terrible. Cala Millor, a 25 minute walk is a nice beach but was packed!
Overall a disappointing holiday. Overpriced and overrated. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Bonaire Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We thank you for your comments and are sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our second stay here very much but the difference between staying in June and August was the sunbed situation. Towels aren't allowed to be put on beds before 7.45 but people would sit by pool from around 6am gather all their beds and umbrellas and wait till they could leave them. I would get down there at 7.45 to find only broken sunbeds available and no umbrellas! Some families were too greedy taking 2 umbrellas for a family of 4. Apart from this our stay was great again. Although the price hike for summer hols makes it too expensive to go back again. Great hotel , wonderful staff xxx cala bona is beautiful !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Bonaire , we visited last year for two weeks and just had to return again this year.
Reception staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them. Had a few problems with our room but all sorted within a hour of notifying them. The Thomson Reps worked extremely hard Nutty Nathan (who was a fantastic dancer and singer) Lady Lottie (loved her laugh), Krazy Kayla ( professional at all times). They all had loads of energy and kept us entertained from morning to night and they looked like they really enjoyed their jobs.The hotel was kept in excellent condition and our room was spotless. Special mention to all the bar staff especially Danny, Ricky and Oscar who made our holiday and worked so very hard every day.
Definitely be returning again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protur Bonaire Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Bonaire Aparthotel

Address: Ctra Cala Bona-Costa los Pinos s/n, 07559 Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Bona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Bona
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Bona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Bona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Bonaire Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Protur Bonaire Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Hotel Cala Bona
Protur Bonaire Aparthotel Cala Bona, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protur Bonaire Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.