We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Es Mollet

Es Mollet
Port de Cala Bona, Cala Bona, Majorca, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 55 Restaurants in Cala Bona
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cala d'Or, Spain
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not good !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were in Cala Bona for the day and decided to have a mid day meal at this restaurant, the restaurant looks inviting and the staff were very friendly, but the food leaves a lot to be desired, I had spagetti bolognaise, the spagetti was over cooked and the sauce smelt off, it actually tasted like heinz spagetti out of a tin, I must admit I started to get worried when I kept hearing the microwave pinging! Needless to say we won't be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great view good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were recommended to try Es Mollet by a local and it was a good place to go. We went there a few times for a glass of wine at sundown - and enjoyed whitebait one night and gazpacho on another day with our drinks. It is a delightful cool corner from which to observe the harbour scene. The staff are very pleasant and we found the service very good. We went back one night for a full meal and tried the paella - which frankly was disappointing compared with some other versions. We did enjoy the garlicky olives and the bread served with Alloli - which was first class. Es Mollet is well worth a visit - overlook some of the posts below - if the bread is stale send it back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned to our hotel and feel compelled to write a review.

Whoever writes reviews on this restaurant and gives it 5 stars needs to be shot.

If you like stale bread, tinned olives, processed paella and dry desserts then this is the place for you.

The majority of the staff made you feel like you were interrupting their night and only paid attention to those patrons who have dared to return to es mollet.

A huge disappointment in a resort that is in desperate need of a good restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dining, excellent location, well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had an excellent meal at Es Mollet. If you want someting a bit different and more typically Spanish you should really give it a try. It is the best location we ate at during our week in Cala Bona with promenade side tables overlooking the sea with views of the harbour and the active street life.

The food was very good, we had the mixed meat and fish paella for our main course and were very pleased with it. It is not the cheapest restaurant, but very well priced in the mid range and definitely good value for money. Service was quick, wine reasonably priced and a table on the side of the promenade made for a very enjoyable evening. We will definitely eat there again.

It is well worth a visit and we recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice setting okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Went twice as my husband wanted to go back and try the paella. First visit my sea bass was lovely although we were charged €1.50 each for a basket of stale bread which hacked me off. Charged wrongly for drinks that weren't ours although they were apologetic. Second visit we had paella which i thought was average but my husband liked. Needless to say we rejected the bread this time. Nice setting on the harbour. Older staff so it was a bit old school. I think there are better places to eat but it might be worth a try.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Es Mollet also viewed

Cala Bona, Majorca
Cala Bona, Majorca
 
Cala Bona, Majorca
Cala Bona, Majorca
 

Been to Es Mollet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Mollet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.