We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, focused on children, clean and the food was good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Alcudia-Arta Km 22, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, focused on children, clean and the food was good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just returned from a week at hotel tonga.

The food choice was above expectations, there were several meat choices at each sitting and I think they managed a different option over the 7 days we were there. As a group of two we didnt experience any issues getting a table in the dining room.

The room was kept clean and was visited every day.

The pool area was random as some sunbeds were situated around the pool and some on two grassy areas. There were all positioned in the sun but could be a far way away from the bar and with the two small plastic cups per person rule this could be quite a pain. There were a few days were we went down to the local beach which was only a short walk away.

The hotels exercusions were well advertised but not pushed in your face which we appreciated, we did hire bikes which at 7 Euros for a full day with a picnic provided by the hotel was well worth the money. The majorty of the roads were bordered by cycle lanes and the surrounding area contained several nature reserves just made for cycling through.

The local bars were also a short walk away and the locals were very friendly. The entertainment in the bar was hit and miss from 8pm it was all focused on the children and so for a childless group we had to wait till 10pm for the adult entertainment , which for most nights was too long so we visited the local bars instead, this seemed to be trend with all the "non family" groups.

The animators were friendly enough but we didn't really see them till day 3 and even then they didn't mingle or chat with the guest, only if you went to them to participate in the set activities. The activities consisted of a variety of team games and for fun games. We enjoyed the volleyball!


All in all we enjoyed our week and would return to this hotel / resort.

Room Tip: Best for families with children to the age of 12. Or adults using it as a base to cycle round the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    448
    297
    117
    123
See reviews for
644
306
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Entertainers and all the hotel staff superb. They work so so hard and have endless patience. The children love the kids club staff and activities...... Long transfer worth it. Food - amazing choice, something for everyone, however fussy. Been here several times with and without family. We spend whole day on the beach and not round the pool with the disgraceful slovenly "guests" who leave a wake of rubbish for the poor staff to clean up , which they do with endless good will. Towels of course are laid out at crack of dawn on beds in the (now) spotless pool area. If you read any moans about this hotel I would ignore them as we have witnessed appalling bad manners from all nationalities, and heard totally unfounded criticism, Our ONLY complaint is the behaviour of clients, not the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have just come back from club tonga majorca, well im not going to go on about the transfers we were 2hrs but the scenery on the way made it worth while, we arrived and were checked in pretty quickly. i will start with the rooms very clean and cleaned every day chambermaids work hard, the resturant was busy depending on what time you went in they open at 6pm so if you all go at 6ish then it will be busy, you did have to wait for the lifts but bearing in mind they have over 1300 rooms so you can imagine the wait. Out to the pool area, my 1st thought was how busy it was for october, the bar is 2 half pint cups at a time but the quese went down quickly it was the snack bar where you had to wait, there was 1 poor lad on his own all the time, at about half 4 the pool cleaners come and tidy it up, good job edwardo and miguel. The entertainment for little kids was ok but evening wasn`t we went out most nights. The beach was 10 mins away and wow it was lovely, the jamaican bar on the beach front was excellent made you feel welcome, the views of the island were georgous, a lovely place. MY ONLY GRIPE WAS THAT THE STAFF IN THE HOTEL WERE VERY RUDE AND NOT FRIENDLY TO US ENGLISH AT ALL THE RESTURANT STAFF WERE THE SAME AS WELL AS SOME SHOP OWNERS, but all in all a great holiday and would go back now ive experienced it.

Room Tip: We were on 8th floor, corner room and theres 14 floors ,we were back of hotel," dustman work la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Paid 505pound for 2 adults 2 kids for a week allinclusive mid september(flights seperate)transfer was 2 hours but expected it so wasn't bothered(not hotels fault)food was ok and plenty to choose from and I'm a fussy eater also I took enough money to eat out aswell so eat well all week.lift qs went down faster than expected only bad point wen coming down it doesn't say wat floor the lifts at.drink qs were fast as there was 3 places to get drinks from,entertainment was good for the kids and kept the entertained all week day and night.football vollyball darts tabletennis archery just to list a few of things to do for adults during the day,plenty of kids activities aswell including horse riding scuba diving also kids can get involved in the shows.rooms basic but cleaned everday with fresh towls and bedding maids even placed your shampoos etc neatly.good pub 5 mins walk called trotters were there is loads of football matches rugby etc and you can have a bet.overall good holiday kids can't wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went to The Tonga Hotel with a friend in September 2012,location was too far from the beach description stated close to the beach, but was at least a mile away. Dining room manic with difficulty in finding a table,food repetitive,with desserts being cake, mousse, or fruit. Entertainment was different every night but the acts just mimed the shows,the room was clean but basic with just one socket in the room which was too far a way from the mirror,Beds very hard. Long queues for meals drinks, etc I wouldn't want to be there in high season.Being 14 floors lifts were very slow and had to wait quite a while.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a week's stay at club Tonga. Yes it's a 2hr transfer and if this is too long for you don't moan about it when you've read enough reviews telling you it's 2 hrs. The hotel is in a great location only a short walk to the beach and shops bars etc. The hotel is very clean and the staff are great. We had a family room that was very spacious. Food there was plenty of choice so all was good. Pools great, loads of subnets. Entertainment team were excellent both day and night. Overall a great hol. Don't listen to the moaners and see for yourselves

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent a week at this hotel in September 2012. It was really clean and not a bad location, but I was really disapointed in the food. My husband disagreed and ate in it daily, so perhaps it is a matter of personal preference, but I wasn't impressed.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main part of Can Picafort and the resort is lovely.

Hotel is very dated, but the rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed daily. No complaints in this respect.

Drinks OK, the main bar inside serves proper glasses, while the poolside bar uses plastic cups. We spent a lot of time on the main strip, so didn;t really get the value of all inclusive.

Entertainment poor, but it usually is!!

I wouldn't stay here again.

Avoid snackbar like the plague, tried it 3 times and am surprised I wasn't struck down with food poisoning. Having said that, I ate one bite of the weirdly tinged burger and chucked it away. Disgusting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites

Address: Ctra Alcudia-Arta Km 22, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel plus situated in the Alcudia Bay. Totally renovated in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonga Club
Tonga Can Picafort
Tonga Hotel Ca n Picafort
Tonga Hotel Can Picafort
Can Picafort Tonga
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.