We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clumba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Clumba to your Saves list
Hotel Clumba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Son Moll S/N, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

We stayed for 1 wk at the Clmba Hotel. For a 3 star it was very good - comfortable, clean, quiet, close to the beach and town centre. I think this is the quieter time of year to go; which is what we like.The staff were friendly and helpful - esp. the receptionists. Our biggest gripe was not with the hotel itself but the fact that the area of Cala Rajuda caters for large numbers of German tourists. Everything was written in German - even more than Spanish - and English was the least. We came to Spain for the Spanish flavour...if we wanted German we would visit Germany!! In spite of that, we did enjoy our stay although we will not return to this particular resort.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Location - Cala Ratjuda more for Germans
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

Arrived at 3am after a long delay at gatwick to be told that the hotel was over booked and that they did not have a room for me and my two children. The night porter did not speak any english so was unable to explain to me what was going to happen. He very kindly got hold of a german guy on the phone to talk to me, but unfortunatey my german is worse than my spanish so i was none the wiser. I was very fortunate to have family living in cala ratjada, who translated for me in the end. The hotel wanted to send me to another hotel that was not in cala ratjada. This was not acceptable as i went to cala ratjada for a reason, to visit family and friends. That night we had to stay with family, and the next day go back to the hotel and sort out a room. we did manage to get a room the next day, but im not so sure it would have been so easy if i didn't have spanish relatives. There was no apology. I had booked a triple room and was put into a double with camp bed. What more can i stay, the rest of the holiday was ok. Whilst there, there were many many more guests that arrived with no availability at the hotel, the reception area could get quiet lively at times!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — unorganised
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

we were double booked when we arrived,even though we had booked in February! Seven of us including my 87 y.o. disabled mum
[in wheelchair] and 2 young children 3 y. o. and 8 y. o. put up in
neighbouring hotel for one night and were allocated rooms the next day at the Clumba. We did not get the rooms we had paid for
and my mum was allocated a single room with a back street view
and not the double room with sea view that she had paid for.Receptionist dealt with the problem with a shrug of her shoulders and a take it or leave it response.She was obviously hardened to the problems as we witnessed several pre-booked customers being turned away in the same manner during our stay! We were apalled

  • Liked — friendly staff but not reception
  • Disliked — we were double booked and allocated wrong room type
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

Vacation from 14th April – 23 April
We arrived in palma at 10:30pm in the evening and drove ourselves in our hired car to the east side of the island (cala ratjada) arriving at 1:30am

the directions where pretty accurate, although parking at the hotel is VERY limited. The nightclerk checked us in and went out of his way to make us feel welcome and even went into the closed kitchen to make us a late night snack plate.

The first broom closet we stayed in wasn't the best room, but we changed to another room the following night, which was far better. The rooms are cosy, and typical for a holiday resort (kettle, hairdryer ETC). The food served was quite delicious but the strict dining times can be a bit of a bother, and the head waiter(?) sticks to these times without giving an inch. The staff were pleasant and the hotel was nice and clean. the main shopping area is bit of a walk away but well worth it for the explorer in you.

There is a pub directly opposite the hotel and i would recommend a walk along the seafront and stop at one of the restuarants there.

  • Liked — clsoeness to the beach
  • Disliked — strict dining times
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wantage, uk
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

My father loves this hotel - he stayed there twice last year and is booked for a month in April.

It has a mostly German clientele, but he likes the "special" attention he gets for being English! He thinks the food is exellent, likes the resort and has made friends amongst the locals.

The last time he visited he was overbooked the first night (this was in September), but as they moved him to a 5* hotel for the night he wasn't to upset!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

Despite booking this hotel in November for a stay in August we were told on arrival that we had been moved to another hotel for two nights. We were promised compensation by giving us drinks with our evening meal but then this was reduced and there was nothing we could do about it. We asked why we were over booked as I had telephoned the hotel and checked the booking but the receptionist said this happens every year in July and August. No one apologised at all! We were holidaying with friends as despite them booking through a different agency to us they were also over booked for 2 nights.
The hotel was a good standard for it's 3 stars. The staff were very good, the rooms were very clean and the food was excellent. There were problems with the hotel plumbing as at peak times there was no water for the shower and when we did have water it could not drain away quick enough and we were stood in a bath of dirty water.
We were the only English in the hotel for the whole 10 days but that was a pleasant change. I would stay at this hotel again but not peak season as I would not want to have to move again due to overbooking as I felt like I lost 2 days of my holiday and the Hotel Lux where they sent us was a very poor substitute.

  • Liked — clean, good food and not over crowded at the pool
  • Disliked — Hotel plumbing was inadequate
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go July or August or you'll probably be over booked and they'll move you out
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Clumba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clumba

Address: Playa Son Moll S/N, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Clumba 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Clumba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clumba Hotel Cala Ratjada
Hotel Clumba Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clumba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.