We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buntlines in the sun” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Millor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari
Save
You added Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. Son Servera | Porto Cristo, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Cala Millor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Buntlines in the sun”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Where should I start - with a positive I suppose. My daughter loved it here. She is 7 and loves swimming and dancing - so, the pool by day and ifive live in the evening. She wasn't interested at all in the kids clubs so stayed with us so she could swim more, however as soon as it was time for Gav and his AMAZING entertainment team, she came to life. A special thanks must go to John who really got My daughter to join in, but Gavin, John, Ben, Belle and Sammy were all great!
Negatives -
Our duplex room was lovely but wasted as the sun didn't appear on the roof.
Also not in walking distance to the beach and that was really disappointing.
The food - it was awful and as I've read in previous reviews, I am not at all fussy. The food was so bland and having to wait 25 mins for a stir fry because that's the only thing that tastes Ok.....The other choices were chips, over cooked pasta and under cooked paella.
Fried breakfast every morning with pastries and undercooked pancakes.
It just seemed like Butlins in the sun and I don't really think that £2500 for one week justifies that. We ended up spending another £400 to eat out in cala millor so we could have decent food.
There is no way that his should ever be rated a 4 or 5* - it's 3 at its best and that's generous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    207
    76
    19
    9
See reviews for
392
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was a last minute booking and neither me nor my friend were disappointed.

We got a friendly welcome. Cava at the ready. Check in was fairly quick and he was informative.

Yes there were children but I think with us going slightly out of season they weren't a problem.

There were plenty of sun loungers for all so no having to get up at the crack of dawn to put your towels down. I can imagine in peak times when the title was more full, this might not be the case! The pool area was good though. Don't think I've been anywhere where the pool is quite so big. Yes it is fresh but once you get moving it was fine. It's a good idea having the sheltered, heated pool.

Around the pool there were plenty of places to get a drink and snacks throughout the day. Loved the mini milk ice creams! Blast from the past.

We both thought there was plenty of choice for all the meals in the main restaurant and the quality was perfectly good enough. I thought the Italian restaurant was the best. The other two were nice but nothing special. In the Mediterranean I found we were a bit rushed from one course to the next. The fajitas in the Tex Mex restaurant were lovely.

We were in the basic room and couldn't fault it. Had two tvs, plenty of wardrobe space, complimentary safe and was nice having a lounge area with a tv so not confined to just one room. The air conditioning would be the only thing that didn't seem to be the most efficient.

It was great having the use of the spa area and for free. This ended our days sunbathing off nicely.

The evening entertainment was fab. Best I've ever seen in a hotel. The programme was varied and kept everybody entertained.

There was a wide selection of alcoholic drinks included.

Overall a great week.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in the Holiday Village Majorca between 25th October and 31st October and like other reviewers I read the review prior to departure with mixed feelings. I do not normally book package holidays as I like may 4 and 5 start hotels too much. We booked a hire car so did not experience the journey from the airport to the hotel. However if you book a hire car do not use Gold Car Hire as they are very popular and it took us 2 hours from landing to get the car.

We had a duplex suite which was clean and very well maintained. We did have a small problem with the shower head on the Jacuzzi and once we informed reception they fixed it straight away. We also booked the baby pack as we were travelling with a five month baby. We were provided with a pram highchair, steriliser and sun tent which saved us from bringing alarge number of items.

There are 4 restaurants on site. The Mediteranian, The Italian, The mexican and the main buffet restaurant. We ate in all but the mexican as I am not keen on mexican food. The food was quite good although I did have problem with some undercooked chicken however once this was pointed out they removed the item from the menu immediately.

The kids club was excellent and gave us a break from our 4 year old for a few hours a day and the evening entertainment was excellent. There were three bars on site the outdoor bar near the pools, the stage bar and a sports bar which sits next to the hotel shop.

The hotel staff are always happy to help you as are the first choice entertainment staff and the reps. Our 4 year old had swimming lesson with renae and she was excellent. It is a shame that she is leaving to move to Australia.

The resort was in the process of being shut down for the winter and given the lateness that we went we pretty much expected this so this was not a major problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Holiday Village, Cala Millor still known to most as Protur Monte Safari as it only changed to First Choice this year. Myself and my wife Annette have travelled abroad for fourty odd years and have to say that this hotel is run as well as any 5 star hotels in Europe, America or Africa. A proper greeting when you arrive with drinks, a full explanation of your amenities and where everything is and a nice room with excellent maid service to keep you happy. Food wise you should have no complaints with a large selection of stir frys [ pick your own ] and then cooked . wraps, chicken ,chops, ribs, kids meals in a seperate section and any drinks that you require in the main resteraunt, plus three others MEDITERANEAN. TEX MEX AND ITALIAN.First choice Reps look after your kids with water sports, swim instructors, football coaches, high wire and water sports all in a fully safe manner. Organised games for kids and adults or just relax and enjoy yourself. One downside to some was that the hotel is 20 minutes walk to the beach bu the hotel runs their own 22 seater coach from 9.30 to 1.30 and 4 pm to 9 pm [ i believe ] so no hardship to get into town for ladies shopping or duty frees.
I have to say that we were spoilt from day one to the end of our 14 day holiday and got fabulous treatment from all reps, barstaff and resteraunt staff with a special note for Mariano, Demi and
Inma. Has ARNIE said " I'll be back "

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but request wether you want mountains and town or looking over the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

First impressions of the hotel were mixed – we were the last drop off after several hotels and the first thing I noticed was that a rep came outside to greet us (unlike every other hotel) so that was nice. Had orange juice and cava served to us and check in very smooth (they keep your passports overnight). Had a map given to us and instructions how to get to our room…….looked around for a porter but there didn’t appear to be any so trundled to the room ourselves. Panicked a bit when we saw the pools (it was just gone noon) as they were HEAVING with people (the pools relatively quiet – it was the sunbeds around them that were busy!) but over the course of the holiday we soon got used to it.

Room
We had a suite (room 2201) which was lovely. I don’t know how it differed to a standard room as I didn’t see one, but we loved the massive bed in the bedroom – all four of us could have slept in it, it was that huge. Furnishings were lovely, TV great, secure safe, balcony large (although only had three chairs for four of us which was puzzling). The shower did overflow but this was rectified by putting a hand towel just outside it which was changed daily for us. We brought several of our own hangers which we were glad of.

Pools
Sunbeds can’t be reserved and left unattended until after 8am so from about 7am you could spot bleary eyed people sat (or sleeping!) on beds to reserve them. You could still get a bed up until about 9.30ish but if you wanted front row or a particular spot you had to be dedicated in your reserving and set the alarm! Again, sounds a stress when you’re sat at home, but when you’re on holiday you go with the flow. We liked the quieter pool – the activities pool was understandably quite busy at times (although the daily pool party was great fun!!)

Food and Drink
FIRST THING TO DO after unpacking – go and reserve your al-la-carte restaurants. We booked into Tex Mex, Mediterranean (family night) and Italian (x 2). Tex Mex was “ok” – nice but not great for our kids as they don’t like spicy food. Med was nice and felt a bit spoilt (chocolate macaroon delicious!) but our favourite was the Italian – loved the made to order pizzas and chocolate fountain – our favourite place to eat by far.

General food was lovely – sometimes repetitive but still a high standard. Fresh stir fries at dinner a particular favourite together with made to order pancakes at breakfast! We loved the pool bar for lunch – freshly cooked chicken breast burgers and salad. The self serve slushies were gorgeous although as stated lots of wasps/bees congregate around them! You soon get used to them and none of us got stung in the 10 days we were there (despite several visits a day to get slushies/drinks). The kebab hut…..wow. Loved it. Drinks were lovely – the bar staff happy to hand over a full bottle of wine/cava if you didn’t want to keep going backwards and forwards to the bar. The jug of Cava Sangria was divine and the children loved chocolate milkshake with squirty cream on top. Massive freezer of a variety of ice creams.

Entertainment
Entertainment brill – the kids loved it especially Sam who was fabulous and very friendly. We loved the Jersey Boys, that was our favourite. The outside evening entertainment area is well set out on varying levels so you will always be able to see wherever you are. Lots going on during the day, loads of different kids clubs, high ropes and water rollers (you have to queue at 9.30am to book on the day). You definitely won’t be bored and the kids had a blast (age 8 and 9)!

Outside the Hotel
We spent the day at La Reserva which, although smaller than expected, was a hit with the kids. Cost us 36euro to get in (for four of us) but that included all food and drink for the day so was a bargain! A couple of larger slides for the kids, a swim up bar and plenty of sunbeds. They also limit the amount of people that can go in each day so we knew we’d get a bed. We asked our hotel to call and check there was space that day and they also called a taxi for us (cost us 10euro including a tip) – we arrived at 9.30 and brought our tickets and the park opens at 10.30.

We also got a taxi to Cala Bona (10euro) and walked along the seafront back to Cala Millor which was pleasant (stopping at a bar to have icecream!).

There’s a bus every 10 minutes or so from the hotel to the sea front with the happiest, friendliest bus driver ever – this stops during the afternoon for siesta but is frequent

In a Nutshell
We had a lovely time here. Comparing it to holiday village Rhodes we thought Rhodes was better as it was a bit more spaced out HOWEVER, the kids thought this holiday village was better, so I suppose it depends what you’re looking for! The kids loved the fact everything was close together and they had a bit more freedom as we could pretty much see them from most places. Therefore, in a nutshell, this is the place to go if you want to keep the kids happy!

Always happy to answer any questions about the hotel if you want to message me. If you’re booked to go you’ll have an awesome time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good here as everything is so close!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the HV after staying there from the 3rd to 17th october with my husband and two girls aged 7 and 8. We stayed in the swim up room.
We read the reviews before we left and to be honest we were dreading going with all the negative comments. All i can say is these people will never be happy with any holiday!!!!!
We arrived at the airport and found a rep very quickly who told us where to find the bus and told us have a great holiday. Got to the bus and yes no rep came with us onboard but the rep came onboard before we left and told us what we needed to know. The bus driver told us when we arrived at the HV but i think the big sign on the hotel gave it away! Lots of people complained that no rep on bus and no-one told them their stop!!!
The quickest check-in ever, a glass of cava and met by two reps to tell us welcome meeting the nxt morning. Off we went to our room in block one and we were disappointed as on trip advisor people said block one doesnt get the sun. They are right avoid one and two. So went to reception and asked if we could have a swim up room in block 3 and we moved. Best thing we did.
My girls loved the kids club and my youngest even won an award for going the most times in 2wks for the whole season. We hardly saw her the whole holiday as she was always in a rush to get there so that tells you how good they were. The staff are excellent, friendly and its more than a job to them. Too many names to mention but a special thanks to cameron who got my husband to do the aerial adventure who is actually scared of heights!!!!
The food was great, we did the 3 restaurants but they were nothing special and enjoyed the buffet the best. Lots of choice and when you have one fussy eater who always found something meal times were easy. Again staff were excellent and friendly a special thanks to kim who spoke to us everyday snd demi at the entrance who was always cheery and welcoming.
The swim up room worth the money just to get away from everyone and i could imagine at the height of the season how jammed in you could be at the main pools.
The first choice reps were at the hotel everyday all day which we had never seen on holiday before. Normally once they get the money off you for trips they are gone! However to Rachael Baird who was the most friendliest and efficient rep we have come across and always made sure we were happy.
A couple of negative points. Its not 5 star like first choice say it is. Its 4 star and that is what the hotel itself says it is. The room had two single beds pushed together and a pull out sofa bed which for a 4 star you just wouldnt expect. If your kids are aged 5 and under then the entertainment is great but mine are slightly older and found the start of the entertainment boring and had to wait until the main show came on which if it was an outside act was worth staying up for but if it was the hotel staff well it was okay. They work hard all day too doing activities but i think it would have been better for outside acts every night.
The check-out easy, coach trip back to airport again the rep gave us all our instructions and a rep to meet us in the airport to guide us. Again the quickest check-in we hav had at an airport before, no hassles as they put on lots of desks so the queue goes down very quickly.
We are sad to be home and hasnt stop raining since. For anyone going in october the weather was lovely, mid 20's and a few cloudy days but we saw no rain and wasnt that unbearable heat. The first holiday we have thought we might return again next year but the excitement of a new place plus all the staff we met have went to other HV's so we are already nearly booked at another HV for next year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a nice stay at the Protur Monte Safari but was not aware the hotel is so family-orientated. I was travelling with family with small children who absolutely loved it - and the facilities for kids were second to none - however if you are looking for any peace and relaxation at all, this is the wrong place for you! It is paradise for children with very little facilities for adults (apart from the lovely spa). Having been to the Protur Bonaire last year, I much preferred that, as it was much more peaceful and relaxing and the entertainment wasn't just for kids.

Having said that, it was a nice place but I would not go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari

Address: Ctra. Son Servera | Porto Cristo, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cala Millor
#4 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protur Monte Safari, a four star aparthotel in Majorca, is located in the outskirts of Cala Millor, to the side of a hill with beautiful views from Costa de los Pinos to Sa Coma. The city center is about 1000 m away. It has 306 apartments with heating and air-conditioning that have one bedroom, a living-dining room, satellite TV, piped music from TV channel, safe-deposit box, direct-line phone, fridge, microwave, bathroom and balcony. The Aparthotel has a lounge bar, poolside bar, restaurants (Sa Sinia, Es Moli, Sa Gondola), TV room, games room, outdoor swimming pools with area for children, heated swimming pool with jacuzzi, sauna, gym, children's playground and Mini Club. Amongst its numerous facilities is noteworthy its real turf football pitch and Spa centre (open tuesday through sunday). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Protur Monte Safari Hotel Cala Millor
Protur Monte Safari Cala Millor
Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari Cala Millor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Village Majorca - Protur Monte Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.