We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can Highly Recommend This Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Castell de Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Castell de Mar to your Saves list
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Bonanza 1, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cala Millor
Biddulph
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Can Highly Recommend This Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

On our arrival at the hotel at around 2 15pm after a very early start we were met with a refreshing drink of orange juice as our welcome drink. On checking in at reception we were told that our room was ready for our occupation (wonderful). Previously at other hotels we have waited for up to three hours for our room. On entering the room on the 11th floor were were amazed at the stunning view over the sea that we had. The room was immaculate The bathroom too was excellent. The mini bar fridge was open no charge other than obviously the drinks that you had from it. and was large enough to accommodate any purchases of one's own from the supermarket. There was a charge (as normal) for a key to the safe. On handing back the key and receipt there was a ten euro refund. On going down to the restaurant we were greeted by the manager who allocated us a table for 6 as we were with other family members. We had a daughter and her partner who had gone out before us to this hotel and when a table for eight was available the manager organized it that we could all sit together. There was a wonderful selection of food to suit all nationalities, there was always something that we English could choose that was lovely. Pancakes for breakfast was a must for our Grandson. There were a lot of German's, Spanish and Russian. English were fewer in number we thought. There was never a problem getting sun beds by the pool, we usually found that between 8 - 8 30am was was ok to put our towels out. The hotel also for a small deposit supply pool/beach towels and these can be changed 3 times a week. The Thomas Cook Welcome Meeting was at 9 00am - a little early for us after such an early start the previous day (needed a little lie in and breakfast) so we missed it. However, there was an invitation in the room to join the hotel manager for the hotel's own Welcome Meeting (a well though out touch), this was at 10 30am - more sensible time we thought. We attended this meeting and found it very useful. We visited our rep later that day on her half hour visit to the hotel. We apologized for not making her meeting and told her it was too early - we are not lazy, just very tired after our early start the previous day. She did tell us that actually no one turned up any way. My husband and I booked on the free Blanket Trip with her. This proved to be a lovely day out, some sight seeing on the coach and an hour and a half in Porto Pollensa. We just had to sit through the bedding presentation - it was interesting to see the product anyway. One special touch about this hotel is that it is very disabled friendly. The pool had a seat that could lower a disabled person into the water so it was great to see such joy on the faces of these swimmers. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who needed the use of a wheelchair. The hot jaccuzi was brill, the indoor pool very cold. There are 3 lifts to the upper floors and 1 to the lower floors. The beach and promenade was just to the rear of the hotel but beware of bikes and motorised scooters etc. Further down the promenade one has to be careful on the cobble stoned area as cars can enter this part as it is a road. Nearby the hotel was a small amusement area for children, plenty of bars, shops, supermarkets and Burger Kings. The walk down to Cala Bona is very nice (When the fish are on the floor you are in Calla Millor, when the fish are a gonner you are in Cala Bona) take note of the pavements you will get what this means. We recommend Janet and John's in Cala Bona, they do a lovely scone/tea cake with jam and cream. We also frequented The Rose and Crown, Captain Hooks and The Sportsman. We had a meal in the Texan Bar and I was disappointed with mine, I felt it was not good value for money. There were the usual hair braiding ladies, but no high pressure especially on the children to have their hair done. The hotel had entertainment on but as we had an evening stroll after tea we never saw it (apologies to the hotel for this). There was free Wi-Fi Internet which was useful for the children with their IPods (ah yes for the adults who pinched a go too). All in all this holiday was wonderful. My husband, daughter, son in law and two grandchildren, plus another daughter and partner and of course myself would not hesitate to return to this hotel and would recommend it to all our family and friends. THANK YOU Sentido Catell de Mar. Hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    59
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
60
85
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have just returned following a two week break at the beginning of August. We found all aspects of the Hotel excellant from the moment we arrived. We were greeted with a welcome drink and we were allocated a room on the 11th floor and the view was fabulous.
On your first visit to the restaurant you are allocated a table for the duration of your stay which is great as you know where you are going without queing. We went with family and were put on one large table and met family who were already there and after a couple of days the staff re arranged the seating and put us all together which was great.
The restaurant food is very good buffet style and serves mainly continental food but there is ample choice and we had no problem finding foods we liked and the kids loved the pancakes in the mornings, the staff in the Restaurant were all very friendly.
The Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable with a fridge which is also a mini bar but large enough to put your own bottles in.
Although we went first 2 weeks of August we had no problem a family of 8 getting sun beds together and the pool is very good and not crowded.There is also a SPA which is free with hot Jacuzzi,indoor Pool, Sauna,Gym.
The location of the hotel is good for the amenities, shops etc of the resort and there are lots of shops, restaurants and bars nearby, the beach is litterally a 1 minute walk away with Pedalos, bannana boats etc and is very clean, it is also a nice walk to Calla Bona but it gets busy at night and you have to be weary of the bikes and trikes.
In summary this is an excellant hotel if you want a break and to be looked after and get to bed at a decent hour as after 11 there is no music or noise at all, but it is not for you if you want others to entertain the kids or if you want to stay up until 2 or 3 oclock in the morning. Many have mentioned there are alot of Germans at the Hotel, yes there are but we didnt have any problems at all and many have said which is right they will not put up with shoddy service or poor practices which we tend to therefore this Hotel is excellant. Whilst we were there the split was probably 70-30 in favour of people from Germany but there were many other Nationalities there including Spanish,French,Russian.
There is also free Wi-Fi internet at the Hotel so you can keep in touch with home.If we return to Calla Millor in the future we will definately look to go back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-Trent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here as a couple at the end of July/beginning of August and were later joined by family including 2 children. The hotel is exceptionally clean with very friendly staff throughout. On arrival, we were greeted by a porter who helped with luggage and a nice refreshing glass of fresh orange juice. We were given a room on the second floor which overlooked both the road and the sea and it was nice to be able to sit on the balcony and people watch. The rooms had maid service every day and the rooms were kept immaculate.

The pool area was excellent with plenty of sunbeds (at times we were gettin 5 or 6) and it was a stones throw from the beach. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were nice although this pool was for the brave only as it was freezing!

Cala Millor is a lovely area with lots of bars, restaurants and shops. Our particular favourites were the Rose and Crown for lunch and the bars along the front of an evening, particularly Captain Hook's as they were very friendly and welcoming in there. The promenade can be a bit dicey as there are people on bikes, scooters, segways and cars.
There is an area to entertain children with go-carts, trampolines etc and the usual hairbraiding ladies, who may I add do not mither you for business.

There are no end of places to eat with 2 burger kings (one small one being right by the hotel) and also a Spar shop which accomodated for a cheap lunch. We ate out on Saturday evening at Taste of Texas although it was expensive for what you got.

We had a brilliant time at both the hotel and resort and would definately put it on our list of a place to return to.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here end July 2011 , transfer good from airport . Had welcome drinks on arrival.... nice touch. A porter took us to our room on the top floor , with an amazing view from the balcony. The room was plenty big enough for the three of us , two adults and one child. flat screen t.v in the room and minibar fridge , so you can put your water in if needed , a safe in the room , you do have to pay extra for but thats pretty standard. We found the beds comfy , we did ask for some more pillows and these were sorted out straight away. You are allocated a table for the duration of your stay which is nice no queues , staff in the restaurant very nice and we found the food very good, lots of choice and nice quality. The pool is a nice size and plenty of sunbeds , yes people did reserve some, but mostly you could usually get one. The beach is right out side the door so you can use both. There is a lilo store for guests to use , but I would take yours to your room as a lady took ours to the beach ! we did get it back , The resort cala millor joins cala bona and you can walk all along the path way / beach in the evenings, watch out for the bikes as it can get very busy. Lots of shops etc and bars .Yes there are a lot of German guests at the hotel but also French , Spanish and English, we didnt have any problems at all . All the staff were friendly and did an excellent job . All in all we had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor for fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in the last two weeks of July and had a great holiday. The hotel is very clean throughout, we had a full sea-view room on the 7th floor and we loved it, most rooms in this hotel have sea-view. The beach is hardly one minute walk from the hotel and that suited out 7 year old. Yes the hotel is dominated by German tourists but when we go abroad we enjoy meeting people from other countries. Good quality food and I would say there was enough choice, our daughter wasn't too keen on the food but loved the desserts.

There was very little activities for kids though, and since most of the children are German our 7 year old felt a little isolated at times. There is kids disco 3 nights a week. Evening entertainment was pretty good with a show every night at 9:30, and some of them really good. Nice clean pool and plenty sunbeds, many people reserved sunbeds around 8am, the hotel provides towels for the pool free of charge which was handy.

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday then this hotel is perfect, good for families in terms of a very civil and peaceful environment. The resort is lively at nights, plenty for kids to do, the hotel is central with masses of Spar supermarkets around which was handy for juice etc. We found it was very quiet in the hotel come bed time, no loud music or any kind of disturbance in the area.

I highly recommend this hotel. We had absolutely no problem of any kind.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in high season with our little son aged five. The foyer was your typical four star marbled affair - cool and spacious with a good selection of couches and coffee tables, a grand piano a nice extra. The bedroom was average sized and clean with a good bathroom. Plenty wardrobe space. A safe (small deposit ) and a fridge which was handy. The fridge serves as a minibar but there's room for your own bottles too which is a thoughtful touch. The beds were very firm indeed. We had a side street view balcony so had no pool view, despite the fact that 95% of the hotel rooms did have! I asked if there was any possibility to change this but was told no. The hotel definitely caters mainly for the german customer but as our german friends tend to have a no nonsense approach and high standards that perhaps is no bad thing. I suspect that had we not been in the tiny minority of british guests, our request to change rooms would have been met, but that, of course, is conjecture. Food at both breakfast and dinner was buffet style with a good range and was of fine quality. You are given one table at which to eat for all meals throughout your stay. Restaurant staff are very good and most pleasant. A nice touch was your own coffee flask at each table to save on queuing at coffee machines as I have done in many other 4 star hotels. There are no children's clubs or daytime games or activities. The location of the hotel is excellent; the entrance is on a side street; at the top of the street runs the many shops; to the bottom the sea front. The grounds of the hotel are grand and calming in their design. The resort itself is flat and good for walking, prams, wheelchairs etc. There is a culture for hiring bikes and there is a fair bit of weaving in and out of their way as you wander along the sea front day or night. Cute at first; bit irritating by the end of a couple of weeks although when on the bike yourself its all good fun! Cala Millor is a nice clean resort which no usual or defining feature other than many samey cheapish shops and cafes. This served as a very relaxing holiday for our family and the pool area is very pleasant - incidently no need to pack beach towels as you can hire them at the hotel. If I was inclined to return to Cala Millor then I would definitely return to this hotel without any hestitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Myself, my husband and our 4 yr old son went to Castell de Mar in June 2011. There was a lovely welcome from the hotel staff, the place was clean, and had lovely food. We stayed for a week, and although alot of the hotel guests were german and the staff speak alot of german (and we are english) they made a real effort to communicate with us and especially with our little boy! We didnt have any issues with the hotel at all, as I say the food was lovely, the room was clean and very nice, and we had a good time. We would definatly visit again and would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, I think they did this specifically as we have a small child,which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Castell de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Castell de Mar

Address: C/ Bonanza 1, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
#3 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Castell de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the east of Mallorca, 68 km from the airport and capital city Palma de Mallorca. The Hotel is situated on the sea front between 2 pedestrian zones within the bay of Cala Millor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SENTIDO Castell de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Castell De Mar Hotel Cala Millor
Castell De Mar Cala Millor
Castell De Mar Hotel
SENTIDO Castell De Mar Cala Millor, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Castell de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.