We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel talayot .. ticks the box for a winter spring break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Talayot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Talayot to your Saves list
Hotel Talayot
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Son Sard 2, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cala Millor
scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“hotel talayot .. ticks the box for a winter spring break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Talayot gets mostly favourable reviews on trip advisor and im not gonna change that, most of what is said in previous reviews is fairly accurate in my opinion, rather than repeat it all again i will give you my feelings about the hotel.
Firstly the resort of cala millor / cala bona is lovely and flat,fantastic for walkers, the only danger is there is a cycle track right along the walkway tho strangely enough its in the middle of the walking area rather than one side ... beware its not just bikes, its scooters, the large 4 person bikes and even motorised scooters you need eyes in the back of your head at times, the area has been developed in a very customer and environmentally friendly way which is fantastic to see, having not visited this resort for 30 years i was very pleased the way they have designed it (unlike other resorts iv returned to after 20+ years of an absence), this may have something to do with the fairly high german prominence in and around the area, tho dont worry there is still a fairly healthy brittish food and pub scene for those who see this as a must on holiday.

Now to the hotel talayot, its true its general design is slightly older but it did bring back memories of all the early spanish holidays i had during the 80's, where everything thing was in its place and the customer was treated with respect from the hotel staff, from this point the hotel have it spot on, its spotlessly clean, well maintained, basic but has everything you need, i would say it looked slightly understaffed while we were there even tho the hotel was just about full.

The pool area is quite small which wasnt a problem during winter and spring months but i could deffinately see issues during the summer with space and sunbeds, indoor pool was nice although its 20 cents for a blastof the jacuzzi which is inbuilt in the pool., the lounge areas in the hotel are wonderfull with indoor entertainment area which leads onto a conservatory type area which leads onto the outside seating area with wonderful views out over the front walkway and out to see.

Food was fine nothing fancy but more than enough choice - 2 types of soup, around a choice of 10 mian meals and a full salad and pasta bar, and ample fresh fruit and deserts to keep most folk happy ... home made rice was fantastic (yummmy).

Room was more than adaquate with air con ( hot only at this time of year) but was compensated by a large ceiling fan which kept the room nice and cool but not cold, addintional benifit of telephone, safe and a fridge in there as well.

My only grump if you can call it that and i make no appologies for them as they are my personal thoughts are this -
1) 17 euros per week per safe is disgracefull, in this day and age safes should be free or realistically priced at 5 euroes or less per stay, then again the hotel makes around £1800 per week should they hire out all their safes, makes you think the policy wont be changing anytime soon.

2) £17 euros per week fridge hire, slightly different tho as the fridge is a consumable item that will need replacing, my opinion is yes it good to have it there but again well over priced, i would see it being more of a reason to use the hotel again the fact it has that facility rather than a hotel that doesnt but at 17 euro personally feel its overpriced.

3) Apaert from lager/ beer, bar prices are a little steep which i think will loose the hotel custom during the main holiday period.

As i said the above points are only my opinion they didnt detract from my holiday which in itself was a really nice week away from the cold and snow of scotland, in a nice friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    161
    42
    9
    4
See reviews for
100
188
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a week here with our 21 month old daughter and were very impressed overall by most aspects of our stay.

We paid a small amount extra for a sea view and looked out over the promenade at the front with a lovely view of the sea. Our room was reasonable in size and a good sturdy cot was provided for our daughter. As other reviews say the decor in the rooms is a little dated, however they are spotlessly clean. There was not a speck of dust or mouldy grout in sight and rooms were cleaned to this high standard every day. There was lots of storage and furnishings were quite considerably thought out. Double wardrobe, sofa, desk and chair, bedside tables and a under sink cabinet in bathroom - far more than usual in a hotel room. There is a hair dryer and kettle in the room also. As others mention there is a fridge that can be rented out in the room too.

Like the room the hotel was cleaned to a sparkly shine. The bar areas are nicely furnished and the indoor pool has little changing rooms and a jacuzzi. This was useful as it was a little too cool to swim outside during our stay.

We were allocated our own table for the stay, including a wooden high chair with cushion for our little one. The choice of food was great with something for everyone. Plentiful salads and desserts with good variety. There were probably 7-8 different meat and fish varieties each night so spoilt for choice. Breakfast was also good with re usual offerings of cooked, continental or cereals with coffee and juices. Wine can be bought and drank over a couple of days, it is returned to your table for the next evening. A microwave is available for guests to use if like me you prefer your food to be super hot.

The staff were some of the best we have ever met. We tend to keep ourselves to ourselves and potter about the resort and hire a car. Therefore we didn't spend vast amounts of time in the hotel and due to having a little one were quite early to our rooms at night. However, whilst we were around the hotel and at dinner the staff were so friendly and welcoming. They were happy and if there were ever any minor issues they bent over backwards to help. Everyone was lovely to our toddler, made a big fuss of her and spoke to her.

A few people have mentioned that there are certain extra services you can pay for. I didn't really mind this too much as the holiday was so reasonably priced and irrespective of the family feel it is a business. The fridge can be rented in the room by day, we hired it for 6 days for about 15 euros. The hotel has wi fi which can be rented for various prices and days. Again we paid 15 euros for the week and it was more than ample for us to use our laptop in our room which we did use a lot. There are some thoughtful bits you can buy such as a tea pack or coffee pack for use in your room for 2 and a half euros for a fair amount. They also had a towel hire service, presumably for beach type towels, which we didn't use which was a very reasonable price. Drinks were priced fairly for the area in the bar and there appeared to be happy hour deals each evening.

The resort is a good size. It was just coming to life when we stayed and more was opening each day. There was plenty for us to do though even with a few places being closed. Cala Millor has a massive beach lined by a promenade which was very pleasant to walk down. There are plenty of bars both on the front and on side streets and again all the people we encountered were very smiley and family friendly, making a fuss of our daughter. The Talayot is well located as it is right on the front, on the edge of Cala Millor. Therefore, you could walk right from the hotel along the front or drop back a road to the shopping area in Cala Millor. Alternatively, you could walk left, along the lovely coastline promenade peppered with bars, and in about 5 minutes be in Cala Bona. This is a small place but attractive with a little harbour lined with bars and a few shops.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others. As is mentioned again and again on reviews here it is a three star hotel at face value but all the good things I mention make it feel higher. It seems to be a little hotel with a lot of heart and good service values.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having looked at the reviews for this hotel we had high expectations. I can safely say that these expectations were matched. The hotel is very friendly and welcoming.

As a couple we were travelling abroad with our baby for the first time. We were nervous about what to expect. The hotel provided us with a cot in our bedroom and all the staff made an effort to engage our daughter and make a fuss of her. Yes the hotel is slightly dated, but the reception area is spotless and neat. The rooms could do with an upgrade but they fulfilled our needs. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and the maid came every day to clean our room. We had a lovely view of the sea, if you can catch the sun rise in the morning it is rather beautiful.

We did not use the outdoor area as the weather wasn't warm enough, but it looked good. The indoor pool is excellent, nice and warm, with a Jacuzzi for 20c and hot showers.

The restaurant provided us with a high chair for our daughter, I don't think they were prepared enough for a messy baby! The quality of the food was standard for a 3 star hotel, the fresh grilled meats and fish were really nice and there were plenty of salads and other dishes to choose from. Lots of different desserts and fruit too. Breakfast was good, lots of your full English on offer as well as continental.

The entertainment in the evening was fun, bingo, quizzes, and music. We didn't stay for the later music acts. Beer prices were average. Activities in the day range from local walks, indoor golf, and pool. It is worth joining in as you get to know people in the hotel and you can have a laugh. Book for the paella demonstration on a Wednesday, it is delicious!

Some gripes included having to 'rent' the fridge in the room and having to pay for the safety deposit box €20. WIFI was strangely slow for normal browsing, but fast for watching videos and you could only access on one device, this was €15 for the week.

There was also no aircon. when we queried this we were told that it doesn't get turned on until later in the season, which we accepted as it was early season when we went, and we soon got acclimatised anyway!

Overall... Very Good indeed!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor with a sea view. No noise in the evening and a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Talayot has the feel of being managed by a family rather than a company. The staff are very friendly and have a laid-back, yet professional, approach. The sea views make the upgrade fee worthwhile.
It may have a slightly dated feel but that is part of its charm. Probably not ideal for the younger set ... that applies to the resort too.
It is not worth paying extra for full board as lunch only consists of simple food from the bar. It is better to purchase 'as required' as it is no more expensive to do so.
(In fairness to the Hotel, on both weekends of our stay the buffet was opened for a large Spanish group and we were told that we could use the restaurant buffet provided for them).
Unable to comment on the pool or evening entertainment as we did not use the facilities. (The entertainment sounded very enjoyable from our bedroom at the front -second floor. That is not a complaint but do be aware of the fact if you prefer quiet early night.)
Beds were comfortable with quite deep mattresses.
The centres of Cala Bona and Cala Millor are in easy walking distance along the extremely pleasant sea front. An assortment of bikes* can be hired for riding along a designated cycleway that spans the entire bay along the sea front. (*For one to six people plus children).
The local cafes felt friendly and welcoming.
Definitely a hotel and resort that we shall be returning to. Both are good places to chill out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We must have arrived behind another coach as the queue for check in was oiut to the pavement but they were so organised that each couple's check in was speedy.
On arrival in our room I saw what previous reviewers had meant about dated. Even the biggest fans of the Talayot would have to admit they are basic but functional albeit on the large side.
However on pulling back the curtains the wonderful sea view made up for the dated furnishings.
If you want to sleep before midnight request a pool view room at the back as the entertainment will keep you awake until midnight.
We normally book apartments so are used to making our own entertainment but we found the guy organising it to be very friendly and helpful when we did pop in for a drink in the bar.
We found the staff to be really good apart from the little bar waiter who was ok and the night reception chap (brother ?) who was a little offhand but not quite enough to receive some verbal from me.
One bad point in the restaurant there was a table near us with a young child and for 2 days the mess the child made was on the floor near their table it definitely had not been cleared up.
We found the food to be pretty good about what we expected or maybe a little better.
One other minus point is the lack of beach nearby which I haven't seen mentioned.
The main C Millor beach is not far but the hotel is on a rocky but with no sand nearby whereas the Levante is directly on a sandy beach.
We found bar prices ok Pint of beer E2.30 and bottle of wine E9 and coffee E1.80 bottle of water E1.80 but avoid a half pint of beer which is poor value at E1.80
they have a happy hour in the bar with a bit off certain drinks every evening but it is not half price or 2 for 1.
Our main complaint was room remperature. The room was always hot and the air con only blew hot air which left us with a very noisy fan and an open patio door to let the breeze in.
It was strange that we both had probably our worst sleep ever on holiday due to the previous + the rock hard pillows (bolsters) even though the hotel is generally quiet with only a handful of ignorant people coming back to theor rooms pissed in the early hours.
Overall a lovely holiday and the amount of German visitors in the resort told us that C Millor is a bit more upmarket than the Palma end with its union jack shorts crowd.
Oh and great cycle paths as well if you hire bikes (E5) so you can see other places

Room Tip: front for view back for sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

.....what this hotel lacks in stars it more than makes up for in hospitality.
It is clean and comfortable.
The staff were brilliant with a special mention to Santi (Santino), the entertainment manager, and Gabby (Gabriele) one of the bar staff.
Normally we are independant travellers and this is the first time we have been on a "package" holiday for a very long time and we were really pleasantly surprised with the whole experience.
We may not have had a sea view room but that didn't matter. We weren't there to stay in our room for any longer than needed to sleep - although we did get into the habit of an afternoon siesta!!
The room we were in (# 209) was at the back of the hotel overlooking the swimming pool.
It was basic but clean.
We had a safe but had to pay for the key - EUR20.00 for the week with EUR3.00 being a returnable deposit
There was a kettle and cups available but you had to buy tea, coffee and milk. You could buy packs from Reception but you'd be better taking your own from home and then buying the milk elsewhere.
We didn't use Room Service so can't comment on that.
We booked half board and took advantage of the breakfasts and evening meals.
The food was very well cooked and the variety was OK.
Have a good, big breakfast and that could see you through to the evening!
Having said that, we found a few lovely places to have lunch if we wanted it
The location of the hotel couldn't have been better.
Turn left and you're in Cala Bona, turn right and you're in Cala Millor.
The hotel has WiFi - for a price - EUR15.00 for the week

Room Tip: If you can choose a room at the front of the hotel, try for one on the second floor or above. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

after an hours drive from palma,arrived at nice looking hotel.check in smooth.room<single> smallish but adequate.first surprise was to be allocated a "seat" for the week.why this was necessary i'm still not too sure.redolent of 'butlins' in the seventies.dinner was standard buffet fare.it was neither good nor bad.some went out for dinner instead,many prefered to eat in,as did i.sometimes it was better than others<personal taste>some enjoyed it immensely.breakfast was very good and very british.location is ideal,as it lies between calas bona and millor.everywhere easy to walk to,except in off season many places are simply closed.evening 'entertainment' is on site.also not everybodies cup of tea<i.e bingo>bar is nice and staff are friendly and helpful.if one like to leave england,sit on a plane for two hours,only to be in mallorcan'england',i advise strongly you visit here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Talayot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talayot

Address: Calle Son Sard 2, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#7 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Talayot 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Talayot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talayot Hotel Cala Millor
Talayot Cala Millor
Hotel Talayot Cala Millor, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Talayot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.