We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Globales Sumba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Globales Sumba to your Saves list
Hotel Globales Sumba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Sa Maniga, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cala Millor
kilmarnock
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Stayed here for our silver wedding loved this hotel rooms modern great balcony with great views of the sea beach across the road the food was the best I had ever had in a hotel the we went allinclusive but if u wanted a branded drink you just paid half price a Smirnoff was 1euro 40 pool area was lovely with plenty of beds I would definetley return to this hotel staff were all lovely as well

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    77
    22
    17
    7
See reviews for
67
95
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

spent 7 days at The Sumba, and overall the holiday was exactly as expected.. food very good if somewhat samey, but always fresh and varied meat options. Staff are very helpful, especially in the restaurant and bar areas., and the rooms are spotless. The sister hotel Borneo has the same good level of food etc, and share facilities. However, the biggest bugbear about this hotel, and I expect many in Majorca is the fact that preference is always given to the German visitors.. they get the rooms overlooking the pool (and the sunshine) while we brits get put on the shady side, when asked if any rooms are available on the sunny side, the reply is always, we are very very busy, sorry no change available.. In the restaurant there are many many tables already reserved (again predominately for the German visitor) so the tip is to get there early and hope for a good seating option. The hotel is also very popular with the less mobile, hence you run the risk of having your legs very bruised by the walking aids used by many guests, who feel the need to use them as a battering ram to get to the buffet meals, then park them in a manner which makes movement around the restaurant and bar sometimes a bit hazardous to say the least. The entertainment was average and there is something most nights. The best bit though is the close proximity to the long stretch of sandy flat beech, just a few feet from the hotel. Local buses are frequent and closeby making getting about easy and cheap.1.85 euro to Porto Cristo, very good value. The sudden appearance of a large cockroach in the tv lounge on our final evening was a bit of a letdown, which the staff didn't seem miffed about in the least. Would I visit again, sadly I think not, I do like to make small conversation with fellow travellers, and unless you speak German then give this hotel a miss

Room Tip: ask for rooms overlooking the pool (these are uneven numbers) unless of course you prefer a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday at the Sumba, we have nothing bad to say about the Hotel, minor irritations only , that did not spoil the holiday
Firstly the food was as good as we have had in Spain ,plenty of variation and changes to the salad bars etc made the meals interesting, too many tables reserved for German Red Cross guests.
Internet Sumba free did not work very well ,fix it or ditch it.
Hotel was very clean, and welcoming, reception very helpful
Situation of the hotel is good right on the beach,this end of Cala Millor is very clean and the front is flat if you have difficulty walking
We will return for another holiday

Room Tip: rooms on the pool side have good outlook ask for odd number rooms ie429 these are best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

Well after using trip adviser for years and only booking hotels once I read the reviews I feel I owe them one, we booked in the Sumba, I had mailed the hotel a couple of weeks prior as it was our 25th wedding anniversary to ask for an upgraded room and had a reply from Anabel the duty manager that she would find a nice room at no extra cost with a surprise for us. So at checkin we were told the hotel was full And we had been put in its sister hotel next door called the Borneo, was a bit surprised but just went along with this, at the Borneo checkin was fine and here is my one thing I would change, 40 euros for a safe rental of 4 nights way over the top, ok now the rest, staff great, food fantastic, room brand new and super clean, location on the beech, 2 bartenders at the pool bar, always loads of sun beds. If you like to have a chat with your fellow holiday makers best learn German, only heard 3 English voices while there and as we enjoy are own company that's not a problem, we did not bother with the entertainment at night and those guys also run the daily activities so plenty to do, one last thing I like to complain about something but boy is this one great hotel, and thanks to Anabel for the wine, fruit and card, great touch

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

This hotel is so close to the beach and the main shopping street. The rooms are cool and very clean. The pool was good. Staff are helpful and friendly. Plenty of restaurants around and perfect to end a day on the beach at...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The best ever experience..would stay there again n again.We reached there at 12 midnight were very please with the welcoming staff.The room that we were given was sea facing sea.The cleaners made sure it was spotless.we stayed there for 7 days all the staff was extremely kind, helpful and made sure we had a good holiday.The all inclusive food deal was awesome.Beach is just few steps away,would love to visit the same place again and again.

Room Tip: rooms facing sea rare sunshine all day..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Have just arrived home on saturday, from the Sumba. We had a great time. We had room 507 which had a lovely view from the balcony, at 630 am what a lovely view of the sunrise. Room adequate, and kept spotless clean . Linen changed, fresh towels every day.
Food, wonderful, I am very fussy and enjoy good quality food. This food was perfect. The choice excellent. Could not think of anything we didn,t have in the week we were there. The presentation was lovely, the variety at each meal, so much choice unable to decide what to have. Lovely salads, fresh fruit, fish of all descriptions, lamb , pork, pasta , paella, chicken . and loads more. The sweets were also too good, especially for the already overweight.Ice cream, biscuits and cheese, lots of varieties. The area around the pool served afternoon tea, cakes and biscuits, donuts etc,. Ice cream and lollies always available......Plenty tea , coffee drinks etc. We were all inclusive, and hardly spent anything as food so good.
The hotel is just across from beach, which has lovely white sand. The swimming pool is good also. Didnt use indoor pool sauna or gym. Plenty seating area inside. We didn,t go to evening entertainment, but there was alway something on each night. The hotel was perfect for us. The staff were very friendly, and always willing to help or answer any questions.
The area is lovely, we walked to cala bona harbour most days. Plenty shops around hotel. We took local bus to Alcudia, and had a good day there. Local bus to Palma also. There is plenty to do in this area. I would hightly recommend this hotel. for couples, single people and families. We had a great holiday,and the weather was perfect, some days 37 degrees.

Room Tip: room 507 quiet and lovely view from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Globales Sumba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globales Sumba

Address: Urbanizacion Sa Maniga, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#11 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globales Sumba 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Globales Sumba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumba Hotel Cala Millor
Sumba Cala Millor
Hotel Globales Sumba Cala Millor, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Globales Sumba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.