We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect the Ritz if you have not paid for the Ritz!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protur Atalaya Apartamentos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Protur Atalaya Apartamentos to your Saves list
Protur Atalaya Apartamentos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Sol Naixent S/N, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Cala Millor
Northwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't expect the Ritz if you have not paid for the Ritz!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from Cala Millor and had a lovely week. We went with a heavy heart after reading some comments posted on Trip Advisor about this accommodation. We have to say that the accommodation does what it says on the tin. It is clean, centrally located, offers maid service 3 x per week, is safe and secure and is only a step away from all the other things you would want to surround yourself with whilst on holiday.
It is 2 streets away from the beach, within easy reach of all the main restaurants and bars.
Safety deposit box hire is 12 euros for the week with a 5 euro deposit refundable on return of the key. Kettle hire is 12 euros for the week with a 10 euro deposit refundable after safe return of the kettle. We had a one bedroomed apartment which had a lounge area with 2 large sofas, table and 4 chairs and tv. A fabulous shower - plenty of hot water. The water went off one day but was fixed promptly within the hour. There is a fridge and microwave in the room as well as a small hob.
It was our bargain week away so we did not expect luxury. By the same token it is not the pits. It offers good value for money which is clean and in a central location. It is a good base without being in the middle of nowhere. I say this because as we dropped off on our way to the resort I noticed people were being dropped on the outskirts of the resort at luxury spa complexes - great if you like that sort of thing - but a lengthy walk or taxi journey to get to where the action is. I guess it is different strokes for different folks, but I would say don't knock it until you have tried it and appreciate it for what it is not what you expect it to be for the money you have paid!!!!!

Room Tip: We read advice on this site to ask for a high floor due to the noise from the British Bulldog situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    69
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
89
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

3rd time in Cala Millor and 1st time at Antalya. For the price of a 11 night stay we weren't expecting great things but were very pleased to find a lovely apartment, bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and large living space with a decent balcony.
The beach is a short walk away and as we usually do when here we go there everyday and don't use the hotels pool. But it looked clean and there were plenty of sun loungers.
The British Bulldog is loud but at midnight they close the doors and with the bedroom at the back there is no real noise.
We would highly recommend staying here and will do again ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were 11 on a cycling trip for 6 days using Cala Millor as a base to explore from. The apartment was well appointed with sitting room, kitchenette, bathroom and balcony. We arrived late on the first night and for beginning of May it was cold. I had plenty of spare pillows in the wardrobe but no blanket - I froze. Hoping for a defrost in the shower I found no hot water. There being neither red nor blue 'clue' on the taps I tried both extremes of the faucet and danced in the shower like a maniac until I could take no more. The only way to get warm was to take the hairdryer and shove it down my shirt - well away from the shower. When requested, blankets were provided and hot water restored. After that chilled start it all went very well with all the staff, helpful and eager to please. We had a great time here. It was low season and the infamous Bulldog next door never really cranked up to disturb sleep but in high season this could be a nightmare for a family with small children. And --- the price was ridiculously low.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Atalaya 3 times & have just booked our fourth visit for August. The apartments are simple, clean, fairly well equipped - everything you should expect for a 3 key/star property. Air-conditioning is good. We don't use the pools much as the beach is fab. Prime location - few mins from beach, plenty of places to eat & drink close by - would recommend The Sun Deck, Cheers & the Rose & Crown just to name a few. High room recommended, more for the view,never really experienced any late night noise from the British Bulldog. The reception staff are polite & efficient. Can't comment on the bar/food as never used them.

Room Tip: High Floor - fab views. Less noise from streets below but I think the bars have to close their doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in August 2012. Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Only problem is that due to its low price there were lots of undesirables who made far more noise than the bulldog pub.
Always ask for a high room as you can get away from these sort of people as they haven't the effort to climb seven flights of stairs carrying all there cans of beer and cheap wine.
Swimming pools were a tad small and the sunbeds were always kept cool as they were always draped in towels all day. If you get up around 6am you may be lucky enough to get one but don't blame the Germans, this hotel is 95% British.
Great location just a few hundred yards from a great beach.
Staff are first class.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On Arrival we where greated by a nice man, showed us to our rooms, on getting to room there was no cot, had to wait till next day as the man didnt know where they where kept. Really dissapointed with the whole hotel in general, cleaner only came 3 times in 2 weeks as 3 where of sick apparantly. Only 1 of the pools where open which was FREEZING kids only spent 10 -15 mins in there and had to get them out. Really dissapointed with FIRST CHOICE it is not what they made out at all!!!! really shabby old fasioned hotel. was advised hotel was lively and had entertainment by first choice but neither was true!!! If i was you i would neva go here!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We arrived in reception and everywhere looked spotlessly clean. We had Room 1601 on the sixth floor with a corner balcony which was very nice.

We had a lovely view of the sea and it was a pleasure to get up and go out on the balcony. Our balcony door was also broke and never did lock although no one could have got over the balcony from next door and they certainly couldnt climb up!

We only sat around the pool once and it was a bit dirty and had a high volume of chlorine in, not nice for the kids!

We went onto the front and beach several times and it was lovely, 12 euros for an umbrella and two sun beds, quite steep we thought (£10).

As someone said it takes ages to boil the kettle! but this was all we used and just used the fridge to keep things cool, we didnt do any cooking.

We ate at The British Bulldog (which turned out to be the best in the area with huge and lovely portions!), Cheers bar (very nice food also), The Sundeck (nice food, very friendly people), The Rose and Crown (nice food, not much) and the Sportsman at the other end of town (didnt really enjoy this meal).

At the apartment we had to chase the maid (when we could find her) for towels after day 3. The bed was never changed and the room never cleaned in 5 days!!. I would say this really let the place down as overall it was a nice place.

Eroski supermarket is smack across the road and very handy and cheap! The British Bulldog is open late as people have said but we didnt find it a problem at all. The doors close at 12 on the dot and the bedrooms are on the back of the Hotel so you dont hear a thing.

There was a free buffet and Sangria on the day we left as it was Tourist Weekend. Not many people attended (to be honest we forgot and just happened to come back to the Hotel as it was raining) The maids appeared from nowhere and took all the food that was left!! Quite funny indeed!


All in all was a good break but the Hotel could do with refurbishing and the cleaners could call more often. Would recommend it though.

Room Tip: Good rooms are the higher ones where you can see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protur Atalaya Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Atalaya Apartamentos

Address: Calle Sol Naixent S/N, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Atalaya Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Protur Atalaya Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Atalaya Apartamentos Hotel Cala Millor
Protur Atalaya Apartamentos Cala Millor, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protur Atalaya Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.