We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo's Restaurant

Carlo's Restaurant
Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 87 Restaurants in Cala Millor
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We went here on our first night in Cala Millor based upon Trip Advisor's rating. We were rather disappointed by the experience and, despite having to walk past the restaurant several times a day for the next fortnight, we did not have any inclination to return. We were greeted by a bare-chested Carlos and shown to an outside table with a grubby table cloth. We were then waited upon by Carlos' side-kick who was unfriendly and abrupt (as I say, we passed here several times a day and never once did we see this guy smile. His permanent expression resembled that of someone sucking a lemon). I had a vegetarian pizza which was not nice. The pizzas which my wife and kids had were ok (definitely not the best in Cala Millor as Carlos claims). I had pizza in other restaurants including Sa Caleta and the Alhambra and these were definitely nicer than Carlos'.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    5
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Mmmmm pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

They sold us on the homemade pizza thing, but to be honest it seems like a gimmick to get people in. We all ordered pizza and a bottle of red wine - I obvs asked for house red - which was confirmed by the waiter ( who by the way was attentive) I actually remember him saying "would you like the house red or something a little more expensive" - was he taking the p**s or what? anyways, when the bill comes we realised we had been charged 20 euros for the wine!!!!!!!!!!!!!! in hindsight I REALLY wish we had complained, but they probably rely on the fact you are a little tipsy and enjoying the view and ambience etc. Dont bother with this place - it is a tourist trap and well out of order

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Very expensive. 30 euro for a prawn. No price list for drinks, not surprised they don't want to let peple know, 50 euro for 2 bottles of wine!. Service was terrible, dropped knife and fork on my leg. Weren't allowed a second pair of cutelry. Staff rude and unhelpful. Don't know how people are writing good reviews.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My parents are regulars here when they are on holiday, and introduced us to Carlos and the staff and the amazing food. It is definitely the best pizza I have ever had on holiday or back at home. The atmosphere is lovely overlooking the sea and could spend all day here. The staff and Carlos are very friendly and very quick. Went twice in a three day visit to cala bona. Try it you won't look back promise

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food with great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I really enjoyed the food here, twice. We only stayed in Cala Millor for 1 week, and ate here twice. One night we had a chicken kebab and a pizza, then both had pizzas on our 2nd visit. Both times the food was very nice and not expensive. The views whilst eating were also really good. Great location, lookng out to sea, but good people watching spot also. I would recommend as food and service was really good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo's Restaurant also viewed

 
Cala Millor, Majorca
Cala Millor, Majorca
 

Been to Carlo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.