We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sumba/Borneo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Millor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sumba/Borneo Hotel
Save
You added Sumba/Borneo Hotel to your Saves list
Calle de San Corb. 07560, Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Cala Millor
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Sumba Borneo was a great hotel, we were a large party of 3 generations and we all had a great time. The rooms allocated to the family all had sea views which as it was just outside the hotel were glorious. The staff were extremely accomodating and friendly. We were on an all inclusive deal and everyone found what they wanted, from the children, vegetarians and even the fussy foodies. Theer are a lot of people from Germany, Belgium and France and I would say that the British were less then a quarter of those staying. The entertainment and sports programme was typical and they all spoke English. The corridors and rooms are all carpeted so there was no noise to disturb our sleep. We had 2 connecting rooms which kept the kids happy. We will happily go back here.

Room Tip: Ask fro a room at the front of the hotel closer to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We booked 2 weeks AI in Borneo/Sumba with Ola Holidays in May to arrive 31st July, with family due to arrive a few days later to stay with us in the same hotel. One week before we were due to arrive we had a call from Ola Holidays to advise the hotel had contacted them to say they were overbooked and we were being reallocated in Cala Vinas but my family's booking was fine. We obviously objected strongly to this and after many phone calls and emails back and forth between Ola, the Hotel and the booking agent in Majorca, finally we were advised our booking was fine. We arrived at 1430 on 31st July and checked in with no problems.
However, when my brother and his family arrived at 2300 a few days later, despite being told their booking was fine - they were overbooked and put to another hotel along the road for the night and not able to check into their rooms until after midday the following day. Whilst we were there we saw this happen on a daily basis to at least 5 families sometimes even more, every day, especially if they were arriving later in the day or evening. We spoke to several people who had arrived before us and had either had the same thing done or witnessed the same thing happening to other people. The hotel staff were very matter of fact about this happening and they seemed to so used to it that they were quite robotic in their apologies and they took a lot of flack from some extremely upset guests.

The Rooms
We had two lovely adjoining twin rooms which were spacious and both had good sized balconies on the Third floor. The view wasn't fabulous, facing the neighbouring flats, shops and restaurants but we had no problem with noise at all and you could see the sea from all the balconies on our side. There was plenty of hanging space, a fridge in the room and a lovely bathroom with two shower heads at different angles.
The rooms were very clean and the lovely maid came in every day to change towels and make up the beds.

The Food
The selection of food was very much catered for the majority nationality which was German and there were some strange combinations of foods together, but, overall the food was very nice and there was always a good choice of hot and cold foods served buffet style at Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. You could eat as much as you liked and the gateaux cakes were especially delicous!! Drinks at lunch and dinner were waiter service which we found to be a hit or a miss dependant on how busy the restaurant was and which waiter was allocated your table. Sometimes very efficient and your drinks order was taken instantly, other times we were almost halfway through our meal before we tracked a waiter down. We generally had carafe's of white, red and rose wine or a glass of cold beer which were served in glasses and all very nice. The kids had soft drinks or a San Fransisco, (hotels non alcoholic cocktails). We had the same experiance we had with clearing the tables, sometimes plates were taken away almost as soon as you had put your knife and fork down, but other times we had to clear the plates on to neighbouring tables to make space for the next course. Most of the dining room staff were nice, but there were a few who couldnt be bothered and made no effort to smile!!

The Pool and Beach
Nice pool with plenty of sunbeds, usual early start with towels on the sunbeds (German influence I think!!) Nice indoor pool with a jacuzzi, sauna and gym. The beach was literally on the doorstep a 2 minute walk accross a grassy area with a lovely promenade which stretched from Cala Millor right down to Cala Bona. Beach was very nice, again plenty of sunbeds at a reasonable 12EUROS for two beds and a parasol. Lovely shelved beach which was shallow for quite a distance and kids could safely paddle about on float on their lilo's on the waves.
BEWARE of the man selling watermelon, he tried to charg us 9EUROS for one slice!!!

Entertainment
Usual cheesy entertainment team who tried hard, but, the lack of atmosphere at nights didnt help to add to the evenings. Apart form the few Brits who were there, no one really joined in or even clapped much during the evening.

Resort
Very nice resort with lots to do. Fantasy Park just along the road from the hotel had, trampolines, bouncy castles and go karts which were great fun. You could hire little electric scooters and chuckle vision 4 to 8 seater 4 wheeled bikes for 14 to 16EUROS for a few hours. The SEGWAY's right next to the hotel were fantastic. I think we were about 36EUROS for a one hour SEGAY tour, which took you right along to Sa Coma and back along the coast. Great Fun!!!

Overall
We had a great holiday with 5 adults and 3 kids and the weather was fabulous. Unfortunatley the it was not as good as previous resorts we've been to as we found it to be so German orientated. Most of the Germans were reserved and some exceptionally rude and unfriendly which made the whole atmosphere a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a Pool View if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This hotel was wonderful, the rooms clean and modern. Staff did all they could to make your stay good and enjoyable. The food was very good so much choice different choices daily you just didnt no what to choose. Hotel very clean and all inclusive option was so wonderful not hassell at all we had a magnifisent holiday thanks to all will be back J&T

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Just had a short break at the Sumba Borneo with my mother, the hotel is almost on the beach just a small walkway separates it, so perfect for walking by the sea and sunbathing on the beach. Hotel is very nice ,very clean and well presented. Food was good, plentiful and hot. The selection of fresh fruit and salad was excellent.The hotel was located at the much quieter end of cala millor so definitely for you if you want rest and relaxation. No problems getting sunbeds at all.
not for you if you are looking for a lively young holiday.
the only issues I would have is that there are a lot of reserved tables in the restaraunt and it can be quite difficult to find a free table ,on one evening we were directed to a table by a waitress, we got our food and sat down to eat and were then met met by 2 very cross germans who had reserved the table so we had to move food and all ! the hotel does cater very much for the germans other than the table incident it didn't bother us but don't go if you think it will bother you

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We had 16yr and 19 yr old daughters and asked for interconnecting rooms which we got. The Hotel was spotless, the food was plentiful, tasty and the choice was good although it would have been nice to see a pizza now and then. No fast food at all which suits me but not the teenagers. I expected to have to queue for food as it was the July but very rarely was there a need to. Everything is fresh too. Great location just a short walk away from the shops and bars so it is quiet of an evening. The beach is right on the doorstep and what a beach. Lovely white clean sand and the clearest sea i have swam in. Safe for young children too. The Hotel is German orientated and the travel/tourist information in the hotel in mainly in German too. However, that was not a problem as the Deputy Manager who is available every day speaks English and was very informative. Indoor and outdoor pools are great, lots of activities for anyone wanting to join in. I only have two criticisms in that I do not think the bathroom can be rated as 4star, more 2/3 star but very clean. Also in the "all inclusive" there is a choice only of one type of lolly ice and small tub ice cream at the pool and they were what I would call "smart price cheapo range". Everything else at the Hotel was great and wish I was back there again now. Can definitely recommend it. We were there when the world cup final was on and the atmosphere was great when watching the matches on the big screen especially when Spain won. The bar staff came round with complimentary beer for everyone (it was all inclusive!!!). Good fun.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

well what can i say with 44 euros to pay for my call, every thing was brill but my transfer spoiled it checked with the receptionist what time they was gonna pick me up well nothing was there for me so i had to call bck to london to see what was happeneing ola my travel agent some how cancelled my transfer and was told to speak to resort hoppa well going backwards and forwards i some how managed to get the transfer but when i asked at the receptionist what the damage was i could no beleive she said 44.75 euros well i was gobsmacked nothing i could do at this stage just pay the damn money and walk with a smile which is what i did, with no reps there little you can do all i say is be careful you dont get the same problem and pay for what u have already paid for b4. well wait till i speak to my agent and get all my money back i even lost 1 day of fun.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We booked this last minute deal (like most people we met there) via teletext holidays. Was extremely good value for AI, food had plenty of choice for all.... from the fusser eater to the adventerous! Nice quiet location not too near the main shopping street, but close enough to walk to it if you want too. Beach is stunning and ideally just literally at the back door of the hotel! Drinks were plentiful and good! Icecreams were yummy!!! Biggest downside for us where the beds where quite low and singles pushed together and the pool was freezing!!! The sea was warmer!!! We would definately return and think its a lovely place for a nice relaxing holiday.

*hello to Glen & Sue if you read this... look us up on FB as we couldnt see you both to say good bye*

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sumba/Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumba/Borneo Hotel

Address: Calle de San Corb. 07560, Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Sumba/Borneo Hotel Cala Millor, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumba/Borneo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.