We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar El Cerro

Bar El Cerro
Ctra. Frigiliana-Torrox, Km. 2, Frigiliana, Spain
+34 952 53 40 54
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 47 Restaurants in Frigiliana
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous !!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Menu is excellent very hard to make a choice, all the dishes are delicious cooked to perfection, Makes me want to go back and try them all, the portion are amazing, first time we went ordered a starter but it could have been a main, struggled to get through the main course. Value for money is without doubt top class Highly recommend bit out of Frigliana but well worth a visit bet you will go back for more ....... Forgot to add the views are breath taking too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish food in lovely setting overlooking the village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

3rd time in Frigiliana and 1st time visit to Bar El Cerro. Wish we had found this place earlier in the holiday.
Visited this place for lunch, we ordered the prawns pil pil, avocado salad, country potatoes and the lamb chops- all excellent! To finish up we had a rich chocolate mousse.
Will definately return here on our next visit to the village. Good selection of food to choose from and only a few minutes drive outside the village.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent value, authentic food and unparalled views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just returned from 2 wks in Frigiliana. This restaurant is a 5 min drive outside of Frigiliana. It is quite simply stunning. The owner like previous reviewers have said, can be abrupt if you appear to be more interested in the views than asking for a table, but quite honestly if you get that day after day who wouldn't get abrupt. Once you take a seat and order something of course she is ok about you taking photos etc. It is a remarkable place, the food is wonderful (large portions too) it is very good value, what more can i say. There is also a lovely outdoor pool you can use but only during certain hours and only if you eat there. It is closed on Tuesdays.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowton
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have eaten here a few times now on our visits to Nerja. Once you find it you will want to go back.
We have been in summer when the pool is open and in April when it is not and is full of rubbish.
However if you ignore that you will enjoy the owner who I describe as a female Basil Fawlty.
Once she gets to know you and you start to order and spend she relaxes and is quite nice really.
She wasn't happy when one of the ladies in our group walked straight past her to show someone the view. She likes to be greeted.
A great way to spend an afternoon away from the beach.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great views !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Worth a visit if you are looking for good homecooked spanish food. The views are fabulous and there is a pool which you can use if you order food. We had prawns pil pil (7€) ribs (7.50€) & patatas pobre (5€) large portions and very tasty, especially the patatas pobre. This with bread was more than enough for 4 of us. Beers were €1.50, coffee €1 & brandy €1.50!
This will be added to our place to go with friends I can't imagine anyone not wanting to return!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar El Cerro also viewed

Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 

Been to Bar El Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar El Cerro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.