We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar & Restaurant Romantica - CLOSED

Bar & Restaurant Romantica
C/ San Sebastian 8, 29788 Frigiliana, Spain
34 952 534 367
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Spread over two floors we have two bars and a roof top restaurant with fantastic views and food for all tastes. Specialising in international Tapas an ideal place for families, couples and groups alike.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Outstanding place to dine ! The food is excellent , I highly recommend the tapas Haggis , Ribs and Goats Cheese. The Lamb wraps were beautiful as a main course.
Service was excellent
Very good value for money

All this and not a microwave bell in sight !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    11
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a find !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

we like to taste different things on holidays and this is one of the best places to do this...even haggis !.
excellent food and service

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigiliana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Excellent service. Excellent everything !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is absolutely recommended. Food is just great. Staff are friendly. Price is good. We eat here about 4 times a week. Never disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
470 reviews 470 reviews
449 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Not at all good - overuse of the microwave - much better quality and value elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This restaurant has two identities, the major signage outside still shows "Romantica" with the addition of Boquetillo in tiles below. The bill and the accompanying business card show "Romantica", but the menu outside and inside show "El Boquetillo - International Tapas Bar and Restaurant" so presumably this restaurant is under new management making changes. However they do actually answer the telephone as "Romantica".

We went for dinner on the upstairs terrrace. The dishes offered on the menu are either tapas-size or plate-size. We chose 6 tapas-sized dishes and asked if we could also have a green salad.

Throughout the stay every minute or so we could hear the constant pinging of the microwave in the kitchen. Is every hot dish microwaved as this might explain the lack of flavour and texture of the dishes.

We chose Cajun Lamb Steak €4.50 (little pieces of lamb cooked in a plain gravy with zero Cajun flavour), Thai Pil-Pil €4.00 (prawns were glassy and with some pieces of chilli but not sure where the Thai influence came from), Tiger Prawns with Lime and Chilli €4.50, Smoked Mackerel and Red Pepper Pate €4.00 (bland and tasteless - what was the mackerel pate mixed with?), Clams with French Tarragon Sauce €3.50 (a strange mixture), Baked Goats Cheese €4.00. The green salad was €4.00 and was actually very fresh and probably the best part of the meal. We left most of the food. When asked if the dishes were ok, we politely said we had probably over-ordered

For wine we chose the only Rioja Crianza wine on the wine list (Marques de Caceres) which cost €18 (rather high for this wine - usual price nearer €15).

Overall it's the quality of the food and its overuse of the microwave that lets this restaurant down.

Finally we question the bias of some of the reviewers of this restaurant; one rave reviewer (out of a total of 10 restaurant reviews by this reviewer) having posted 5 of these as "Excellent" repeat reviews of just this restaurant - hmmm!

The waitress was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy B, Owner at Bar & Restaurant Romantica, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thankyou for your input and it will be taken in and addressed. we are a new team and still have some creases to iron out regarding the menu and food, dishes etc...
However I can also say that i do not microwave any food. There is a commercial microwave that we use to heat two of the homemade puddings and some milk but this does not beep or ding. I have spoken to some of the customers and staff regarding this and we have figured out that the service bell and the oven timer i use both could be mistaken for the sound of a microwave. I can safely say your remarks about mircowaving food to be false and i will be requesting that this review be removed for this reason as well as the fact your last comment about biased reviews implys it is made by either me or someone working here, again this is another false statement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“New management, but oh dear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The new chef was recommended as the "best in the village". The first impression was good, the menu looks interesting and different and the place is once again tidy and welcoming. However the food was a huge disappointment and expensive for the village. The duck was overcooked and dry, it was served swimming in a plate covering pool of grease along with mass produced potato wedges. As a "treat' we were given a dish of tempora vegetables, the batter was the same stuff that is used to batter fish and Mars bars and again was swimming in grease. The house wine was also a disappointment, again about the most expensive house wine in the village but was not that good. I reported the problem with the food to the waiter who said he'd tell the chef but that was it. Unfortunately this place is nowhere near what it used to be, please dont be fooled by the hype or the passed excellent reputation of Restaurante Romantica.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy B, Owner at Bar & Restaurant Romantica, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at Romantica. I do remember your comment about your Duck being "a little greasy" though you had finished the plate by then. Had this been mentioned during your meal we would gladly have cooked another meal for you of course free of charge, though our waiter does remember expressing his apoligies at the time. We believe our menu to be very competitive and inline with other restaurants within the village cost wise.
€6.00 for large plate of homemade meatballs and spaghetti.
€8.00 for full rack of ribs
€12 for 60 day hung Sirloin, Homemade Onion Rings, Pepper sauce and Salad
€9 for whole Dover Sole and fresh veg.
€1.50 for a Baked Potato and Butter.
€4 for our homemade desserts
We personally believe this is far from expensive. also our House Red receives many compliments and at €8 a bottle is amongst one of the cheapest in the village.
Plus I can also say that i have never fried a Mars Bar in my life but may try it one day as it reached the final of Britains Best Dish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar & Restaurant Romantica also viewed

Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar & Restaurant Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.