We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilltop Lovliness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Restaurant

The Garden Restaurant
Calle Santo Cristo s/n, 29788 Frigiliana, Spain
0034 952533185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Frigiliana
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hilltop Lovliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stumbled upon the Garden Restaurant, what a find. As we hungrily climbed the steps of the old town of Frigiliana stomachs gumbling, we turned a corner at a viewing point and came across the Garden Restaurant.

With it being half 4 in the afternoon, we thought we might have been hit by the Siesta, but no, we were ushered to a seat, and Rose wine was poured and some brilliant Tapas was served.

The view was immense, the food delicious

Go for it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimmond, Owner at The Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Glad you enjoyed everything. We are currently trying to open all day with non stop kitchen, whilst the weathers good anyway and untill we switch to dinner service only in the heat of summer.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    32
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We had the three course lunch menu and were delighted by the high quality of the food. It was by far the most delicate meal we have had in Frigiliana. The waiter was friendly, view excellent and we had a wonderful lunch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimmond, Owner at The Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Google Translation
Glad you enjoyed our restaurant, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“open or not??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

you take your chances walking up here, as often as not when we have been up there its been shut.The one time we did get in we found the staff a bit off and its not like its cheap.drinks ok but a bit of a wasp problem where we sat. Better places to go in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimmond, Owner at The Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hola,

our restaurant as you have probably realised is an open air restaurant so often especially around this time of year we are closed due to rain, cold, wind or all three at once. There have been time we´ve just stayed shut until we are sure of a good run of weather. We also close Mondays and used to shut feb/march for holidays.
As far as the wasp situation i haven´t seen any over the past few days, i am aware of quite a few bee´s around, but, we are a garden with many flowering plants.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay,

Un saludo,

Roberto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice but dull”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lovely position with great views but the food and service were very ex-pat and to be honest someowhat boring. A lovely spot so we enjoyed that but for food there are better choices.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimmond, Owner at The Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hola, sorry you felt this way about our restaurant especially when the majority of our staff are all local Spanish and from the village. I myself am from the UK and there´s nothing I can do to change that.
Our Mediterranean style menu is somewhat reduced at present due to time of year and ever changing weather conditions, it is however prepared using mainly Spanish produce sourced as locally as possible which include many items we grow ourselves.
Un saludo,

Roberto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting and great vegetarian tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had lunch at this restaurant having done a lovely walk up from nerja. It was pure heaven to sit on the terrace of this restaurant with a drink, relax and enjoy the stunning view. We had a plate of vegetarian tapas which were beautiful....tasty, colourful, unusual, flavoursome. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Restaurant also viewed

Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 

Been to The Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.