We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Brena

Save Saved
You added La Brena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Brena
Avda. Trafalgar, 4, 11159 Los Canos de Meca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Surprised to read the last review as our experience was much more satisfying. We were made very welcome on arrival and the staff were always helpful and very friendly. They are aiming (and charging) for a boutique style hotel and while not all elements are there yet(some of the bedroom decor is not very stylish), the overall impression is very positive. We had a huge room with 2 large windows looking out to the sea and the pine forest (yes, it overlooked part of the hotel accoss the road but that wasn't an issue). At night you can hear the sea. Only issue with our room was that we had 2 separately made up but adjoining single beds - it's a couples kind of place so much better to have kingsize bed. Bathroom was spotless. The food in the restaurant is excellent though pricey. Eating on the terrace with it's wonderful view was very relaxing. Overall, the place has a very relaxed and smart feel to it. The guys on the desk were happy to lend us parasols for the beach and advise on other places to visit. The beach nearby is wonderful (just 3 minutes walk down steps) - it's known as a nudist beach but there were plenty of clothed folk there too. The walk throught the pine forest to the watch towere is wonderful. Very happy to recommend this place. The website doesn't do the place justice - we gave this feedback and they said they will be working on it over the winter, when they are closed. One quibble is that breakfast is not included and is expensive for what it is - although very stylishly presented. i wish them well and do recommend this place for it's location and view and feeling of relaxation.

Room Tip: Do get a room with a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerez de la Frontera
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Our stay at this hotel was mixed, and on balance not good enough to warrant a return trip. The service in general disappointed us so much that we won't be going back.

We went in early October, in the "off" season, but that's no excuse for poor service. That was the main problem. Service was positively reluctant in most cases. We didn't get any attitude, but it did feel like we had to keep asking for the sorts of things you'd expect any hostelry to offer without prompting. When you have to go inside and get someone off their Facebook to serve some drinks at the pool, you know that things are not looking good. On several occasions we felt as if we had to remind the staff that they actually had guests in the hotel. They seemed way more interested in hanging around the bar or in the kitchen chatting than looking after the guests. We didn't really feel 100% welcome.

The food was pretty good on the whole, even excellent in some cases. The only negative in the food department was not having a vegetarian salad of some kind on the menu. All the "salads" involved meat or fish. We were turned down flat when we asked if they would not mind making us a green salad... It's not like they didn't have the ingredients and all we were asking for was already on the menu but minus the meat/fish.

On the plus side, the beds are huge and very comfortable, the bathrooms spotless, the water piping hot and shower pressure good. Our bedside tables had obviously not been dusted in quite some time but the rest of the room was spotless.

There is a very nice and private pool out the back, with comfortable loungers, which was a bonus as it can get very windy in that part of Spain and the pool is a good alternative to getting sandblasted on the beach.

A lot is made of the view from this hotel. If you like to look across at a wire fence and the pipes and stuff sticking out of the scruffy "underground" house in front, then I guess it has a nice view - at least it's possible to see the sea beyond.

Caños de Meca is an untidy place at the best of times, so don't expect much. It's even worse out of summer. Dog mess on all the pavements, everywhere really, rubbish overflowing out of the bins, graffiti.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

First class meal and service. Really classy place with a great view. Well worth the visit

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

They seem to try hard creating a contemporary atmosphere, but they fail when it comes to take care of small but important details: like treating your customers well. Service is unfriendly, and with attitude. Food has a lot to improve, comparing quality/price with other restaurants in the area. Very pretentious, and with the wrong attitude to receive clientele. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Just got back from La Brena over Easter where we had a great time. The service was laid back, but efficient. The food probably the best we found in the area and the rooms were great - with views over the sea below. We could see the swell coming in, and it was one of the few spots sheltered from the winds over our stay. At the bottom of the cliff below we surfed with about 8 people on our first day, and by ourselves for much of the second morning. They're building a small swimming pool in the next couple of weeks if you don't like drinking salt water. If you want a smaller room I'd suggest the attic rooms upstairs with their cute romantic terraces. The bigger suites were impressive too. The bar next door does great frozen beers after a day in the sun.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

I stayed at La Brena on a Saturday night at the end of September having come across it by accident. I was initially impressed with the style of the hotel, pleased with the price (Euros 60) and found the staff friendly. This really is an oasis of style and class in an otherwise laidback 'bohemian' resort. There are just seven rooms, clean, spacious and nicely decorated with large marble bathrooms.My double room (#4) looked out over the garden and beyond to the Trafalgar Lighthouse. The food in the restaurant was superb though not cheap but I can definitely recommend the Tuna steak. The young staff were helpful, available and spoke good English. Although not beach front it is just a stone's throw away and the garden is pretty and inviting with a very comfortable hammock.

  • Liked — Stylish and clean with friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stayed at La Brena for a week at the end of June and had the loveliest stay. Bedrooms were nicely decorated and extremely comfortable. Manuel and team were always helpful and available. The food in the restaurant was probably the best in town. June seems to be a quiet period in Canos de Meca - a lot of the bars and restaurants seemed to be gearing up for high season, but Canos is a lovely place, with fabulous beaches. I am missing the hammock in the garden and the lovely terrace. We hope to return soon. Debbie & Tim from Brighton, UK.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff, the food, the comfy beds, the pretty garden and terrace
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Brena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Brena

Address: Avda. Trafalgar, 4, 11159 Los Canos de Meca, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Los Canos de Meca
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Los Canos de Meca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Brena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Brena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.