We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate, Warm, Engaging.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barros de Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Barros de Luna to your Saves list
Barros de Luna
Partido la Calzada, 29100 Coin, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Coin B&B and Inns
Brookhaven, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Intimate, Warm, Engaging.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My partner surprised me with a New Years eve stay at this very special B&B. Bernadette and Thierry are two incredibly interesting people who believe in warmth, quality, and great attention to detail. We were extremely honored to be guests of their New Years eve dinner which was an intimate candlelit dinner of the most incredibly delicious food, champagne,and wine. Conversation flowed so easily as if one were staying with friends for the holiday. From arranging a taxi to Coin's midnight celebration in town, to a fantastic late breakfast and offering a late departure, they were most gracious in every way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I just spent five nights at this wonderful B & B. Our room was lovely and clean and the bed very comfortable. We arrived late but received a friendly greeting from Bernadette and a very welcome supper provided by Thierry. Their hospitality continued throughout our stay, culminating in a final evening where Thierry cooked a lovely meal. We felt very at home and our hosts have struck just the right balance between being friendly and leaving you to enjoy the peace and quiet of their lovely retreat. The whole place has a lovely atmosphere with candles, little pots of flowers and a strong smell of jasmine-plus a delightful Dalmation called Pirouette. If you stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Bernadette and Thierry run this superb B&B just outside Coin. With the large, shadowed garden with palm trees and full of flowers you feel like you are in paradise, the four - not to big - stylish furnitured rooms give you all the comfort you need. Bernadette is a lovely and perfect host, Thierry a dedicated and semiprofessional cook. Well situated to visit the coast (Marbella), the cities of Malaga, Granada and Ronda. Sevilla and Cordoba can easily be visited in a daytour from their B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Date 1 March 2011
We stayed over night on our way to Carmona.

Barros de Luna is a 200-300 metres off the main road a kilometre from the centre of Coin. It is 30 minutes drive from Marbella and 40 minutes from Malaga.
Being off the main road it is very peaceful. The house stands in delightful grounds which guests are free to wander round. There is spacious parking facilities. There is an unheated swimming pool.

The house has been newly renovated to a very high standard. There are four bedrooms. Each bedroom is entered from the courtyard. The two bedrooms our friends and ourselves occupied had first rate facilities. The en suites had large walk-in showers and up to the minute facilities. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms tastefully furnished with adequate storage facilities suitable for longer stays.

We were greeted by the owners on arrival, shown our rooms and invited, when ready, to the lounge for a drink before being shown around the garden and the property's facilities.

Before dinner we had drinks in the lounge. An excellent dinner was served in a dining room across the courtyard. Whilst there understandably was no choice, the food had been prepared exquisitely. It was an extremely fine delicious meal.
A cold breakfast with an amazing degree of choice was set out in the dining room. Cooked breakfast was also available.

We could not fault Barros de Luna

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Myself,spouse and another couple had a most enjoyable visit to Barros de Luna in early October 2010.The rooms,garden and especially the pool are of the highest order.We enjoyed a top class dinner,served with quality wines,in the lighted grounds of this unique property.A visit is highly recommended.You will not be disappointed at the quality on offer at such reasonable prices.Undoubtedly we will return.
Brendan
Dublin
Ireland

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genappe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We were in search to recharge our battery in a tranquil place. We fell under the charm of Baros de luna, the exotic garden and its tremendous fragance. The serenity of its Andalusia garden fontain.We chose the Tassili room inspired from Marocco with a shadowed terrace. The hosts were welcoming and ready to support you to discover the regionj. The French style cooking was amazing and accompanied by local wine. We drove 800km in 5 days to discover the classics of Andalousia (Grenade Malaga Marbella White cities). Next time we will return to visit Cordoue and Sevilla.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barros de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barros de Luna

Address: Partido la Calzada, 29100 Coin, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Coin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our enchanting "cortijo", our country house in the best traditions of Andulicia. It is surrounded by 6,000sq.m.of mature tropical vegitation where you will find palm trees, very old olive trees and host of other established trees native to this land. Enjoy our pool on those warm, balmy summer days. Sip a chilled drink on one of the terraces to refresh you after a day of visiting some of the historic towns just a couple of hours drive away fron Barros de Luna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barros de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barros de Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.