We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sem muita alternativa costly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grangefield Oasis Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grangefield Oasis Club to your Saves list
Grangefield Oasis Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Topacio s/n | Urb. Riviera del Sol, 29649 Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Sem muita alternativa costly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fine but you need to go uphill for everything. The premises are too with no option for teen agers. Be careful because you need to pay for every single activity except the pool. So hope it does not rain...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    150
    78
    25
    16
See reviews for
143
113
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swanley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

hi my holiday at the Grangefield oasis was very good,the rooms where great i had a two bedroom so i had my own toilet ,bathroom .The staff where very good the pools where great ,but u do need a car to get about, i did drive around .I wnet the first week in June the weather was loverly and hot so spent quiet a few hrs around the pool they had happy hr or should i say happy three hrs which u can get quiet pissed in that time.The food was ok but a bit pricey .But overall it was great and i will return soon .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, General Manager at Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest, we are glad you had a good time at our hotel and were satisfied with our customer service. We have passed on your comments about the food pricing to the management team. We hope you book again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent 2 weeks here at the beginning of June 2013 in a 2-bed apartment.

Good points first: The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Although rather dated and tired, the rooms were well-equipped (washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, oven, coffee maker, TV, DVD player, radio cassette etc;) spacious enough and the cleaning / laundry service was very good. The gardens in the central 'courtyard' are very pretty (but overgrown in many areas) and there are 2 pools. It seems management have listened on the WiFi - this worked most of the time and the are obvious antenna around the place to boost the signal. Charges are not bad either if you have to pay and it is free in reception.

The bad points: As others have noted, unless you want to be stuck in the complex with virtually nothing to do, or spend a lot on taxis, you must hire a car. It is simply too far and too hilly to try to walk - the closest shops or eateries are not easily reachable unless you are a serial hiker. Partly because the complex is built on a steep hillside, many of the apartments get little or no sun - some of them like ours on the ground floor (A Block) were in perpetual darkness with overgrown trees blocking the morning light and a massive wall blocking anything else. Without the ability to check out all of the apartments, a good rule would be to be on the 2nd or 3rd floor if you want any light, and preferably on the tennis court side if you want light in the afternoon. Also, anywhere near the pool bar and you might regret the noise from the (distinctly below average) entertainment or the smell from the nightly BBQ whose chimney pokes up towards the balconies above.

From an access point of view, this place is a nightmare. Even our ground floor apartment meant scaling 15 - 30 steps depending on route - getting to the bar / pool a similar number, although some ground floor units on the tennis court side have flat access - but unless you fancy a really long walk around the complex, not to reception or the shop!

The bar / restaurant staff were not good. Grumpy and inattentive across the 2 weeks (except one female member of staff) and we were not impressed with the food. Others have mentioned temperature - cold food - we also had uncooked chips and tasteless food, only offset by the 2 for 1 drinks Happy hour from 16:00 - 19:00.

The gardens attract bugs - loads of them, including millions of ants and flying ants which even after closing the whole area including the pool for most of a morning for fumigation, didn't really solve the problem. There are also loads of birds, so a lot of poop on the paths and steps, despite the valiant efforts of the staff to keep it clean.

On the lower (road side where reception is) part of the complex you need to wear ear-plugs or sleep really well to not be woken between 3:30 and 4:00 by the bin collections - others have mentioned this and it is a pain.

The 2 pools were OK but not as clean as I would expect with lots of floating plant rubbish and other scum - not sure if the filtration system was working properly. There are not enough sun loungers and most of the ones there are broken or sagging so you're lucky if you get good ones. There is a scrum at 10:00 sharp to bag positions and loungers when the access doors are unlocked, and it is said places can't be reserved, but we never saw any towels being removed. There is insufficient terrace space around the pools for the number of users and we're glad we weren't there at the height of the season.

Overall then, average and although it may suit some people, we won't be back as there are much better options available.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool bar and entertainment will be quieter, as will those on the tennis court si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Guest Relations Manager at Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your very detailed review. We do advertise this complex as built on a hill and therefore it is not suitable for people with mobility issues such as yourselves. Spring and early summer in this region does sometimes have bouts of insects due to the type of vegetation and flowers growing here. Our staff work hard to try to alleviate this and to keep the resort clean and tidy. Your comments on the sun loungers will be passed to our maintenance team. We are glad you received good customer service from our Reception staff and got good wifi.
We hope you come and stay again perhaps in one of our other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for a week from 27 April to 4 May. The apartment was spacious and kept in spotless condition, the kitchen had everything required and the welcome pack was excellent value at 18 Euro and contained all the essentials plus a bottle of wine and a box of chocolates. All of the reception staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. It is located in a quiet residential area and has a courtesy bus to the beach and La Canadia shopping centre which is booked by time slot with reception, there are also a number of excursions available and you can arrange a transfer from the airport to Grangefields so a car is not the absolute necessity others have reported although it may be the most economic travel option. The on site shop has a very good selection of goods at reasonable prices and also has an in store bakery. We would definitely visit Grangefield again as the only disappointment we had was the on site restaurant which, whilst having an extensive menu at reasonable prices, provided food that should have been hot that was, in fact, cold but on very hot plates. However, we would recommend the pool bar which we sampled on the last day - although the menu needs updating as the listed Chicken Baguette is actually a Chicken Baguette, Chips and Salad - the hot bits were hot and the salad lovely, so on any future visit we would eat here late in the afternoon rather than in the restaurant in the evening. On the whole a great week. Thanks.

Room Tip: We stayed in G7 which has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, sleeps up to six and had a private balcony wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad you had a great stay. We are proud of our staff and customer service and that they met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spent a week here from 27th April- 4th May. We booked a one bedroom appartment on the ground floor of this large complex. The accomodation was everything we could have wanted, spotlessly clean and containing all the essentials for a self catering week. The gardens are well maintained and simply make this hotel something special. The staff were always ready to help should you have any problems. We booked a car at Malaga airport for £100 for the week from Hertz. This really is a no brainer because a transfer by taxi would cost you much the same and because the hotel is situated in a residential area but halfway up a mountain. We were so impressed with this place that we intend to go back in September.

Room Tip: If you have specific requirements email the resort and they will do all they can to meet your wishes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments and we hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The resort is tucked away about 1.5k to the beach in a quiet residential area.
The reception staff were very friendly when we arrived
A car is essential as the walk down to the coast road to connect to local transport is too long
The gardens in the complex are well maintained but have overgrown a bit and could do with a pruning
Given a large spacious apartment, which was extremely clean.
We had a large bedroom which opened out onto a balcony nice sized kitchen and utility room with washing machine.
The kitchen was reasonably well equipped including a full oven, everything was clean and worked.
Overall we had an enjoyable & relaxing time at Grangefield.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my mate stayed here for a stag weekend. It's a bit out of the way. We got a cab into local town for night life every night. Cabs are around €25 to town. Rooms are big. Shower is amazing. When the water is hot!! Everyone wants a shower = no hot water. Mini golf is good fun. Shame you only get one go as the last hole eats the ball!! If you are drinking cans of beer like we were when we played, just put your empty can in the hole to stop the ball going in! Lol. Other wise you have to pay another €3 for another ball. Swimming pools looked good. Didn't go in as we were to drunk. Just kept drinking beer. Beer is good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grangefield Oasis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grangefield Oasis Club

Address: Calle Topacio s/n | Urb. Riviera del Sol, 29649 Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grangefield Oasis Club 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between Fuengirola and Marbella, the Grangefield Oasis offers functional, self-catering apartments with furnished balconies.The complex features 2 outdoor swimming pools, an indoor swimming pool, a hot tub, sauna and gym. There is free internet access in reception.Each apartment in Grangefield Oasis has a fully-equipped kitchen and a comfortable lounge area with a sofa bed. They also include a TV with satellite channels.An entertainment and activity programme is offered for children at the resort. There are tennis courts and a mini golf course. The Miraflores Golf Course can be found next to Grangefield Oasis and the nearest beach is less than 2 km away.Guests can enjoy drinks, snacks and light meals at the cafeteria and bar. The La Hacienda restaurant serves regional and international cuisine all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grangefield Oasis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grangefield Oasis Club Hotel Mijas
Grangefield Oasis Hotel
Grangefield Oasis Mijas
Grangefield Oasis Club Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grangefield Oasis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.