We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tickerty boo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Oceano Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Oceano Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Miraflores Playa, Torrenueva, 29649 Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
sth london
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“tickerty boo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Wow its great , never felt so comfortable before, its lovely the rooms with a view over the med, the pool with its bar ,the restaurant its all a+ Walk down the steps to the beach if you can tear yourself away from the pool and its cocktail bar, dine in the open air , the staff are great attentive but unobtrusive , nothing seemed to much bother so please look but dont book im going back and i want to make sure theres a room avalible ps if your a couple this place is great for the libido, we had a lovely decadent holiday thank you El Oceano

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    67
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
54
276
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had my birthday here one year, it was lovely I was really impressed, didnt stay in the rooms but the main areas of the hotel were fantastic, and the pool was amazing. would have loved to stay but couldnt afford to

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Together with some Travelfellows, we have been there for 2 Nights. Friendly welcomed at Check In and the Staff was friendly to the Guests. We have to say, that there was all very clean and comfortable. Especially it was good at the Breakfast - great!!! We also have been two Times in the Restaurant and it was good and a friendly Service there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and the standard always rises unlike most Spanish hotels that decline slowly. The standard of the rooms and the Hotel never declines or looks in need of maintenance. Staff are as ever very helpful polite and friendly. The only downside is putting on weight as a result of the excellent food always available. Each time we go we want to stay longer when its time to leave.

Room Tip: Don't hire a car use the taxi service the hotel offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Although we rely heavily on Trip Advisor reviews and scores,this is the first time I have put 'pen to paper' following a holiday. From a personal perspective, I am delighted to say that the experience my wife and I had at El Oceano must come close to what we would consider as the 'perfect' holiday. We had booked our flights to Malaga and were planning to go to another area, however, my wife came across El Oceano while browsing Trip Advisor and we decided to try the hotel for the first part of our holiday. The only accommodation available was in the separate building with Studio rooms and we booked for 5 nights.

Our room turned out to be more like a one bedroom apartment than a Studio. There was a 'living area' with kitchen (breakfast bar, dual ring ceramic hob, kettle, fridge, cutlery, plates, glasses, etc ) and a lounge area (TV, chairs, coffee table). The bathroom was more than adequate and the bedroom was a good size with a feeling of space. It was spotlessly clean and was a delight to enter after the usual stresses associated with travelling, hiring a car and finding somewhere new. There was a small balcony which accommodated a table and 2 chairs, but not much else. Having said this it was very pleasant to just sit, have a cup of coffee and enjoy the quiet!

The hotel is in a stunning location and it has been designed to make the most of it. The pool, bar, sun terraces and al fresco dining area are up there with the best. The staff were attentive, helpful and friendly, without being over familiar or intrusive. There are two indoor dining areas, and again the views from both of these were outstanding. We choose the continental breakfast option and loved it, plenty of fruit, croissants, Danish pastries, toast, fruit juice, coffee/tea - lovely! We had dinner a couple of times in the evening, the menu was clearly aimed at the UK diner, which suited us. Again, the food was of a very high standard and the service friendly but professional.

When we arrived our expectations were high, and El Oceano delivered. We loved the 'No Under 14' rule and enjoyed all the hotel had to offer. We had a great time and have every intention to return. In terms of comments to the management on things which would have enhanced our experience further, we wanted to bring some friends to the hotel for dinner however we cancelled and made alternative arrangements when we were told that, despite giving more than adequate notice, it was hotel policy that we couldn't secure one of ten front line tables which all had breathtaking views. I wasn't sure who these were being held for as we were clearly well within the first 10 reservations in the appointment book. The other thing is really quite minor, there were no wine glasses in the studio. Wine from a tumbler on a beautiful balmy summer evening just doesn't taste the same!
Robin, Ballymena, N Ireland

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been lucky enough to have stayed here a few times now and we absolutely love it.
The rooms are beautiful, with fantastic views, staff friendly & accommodating. The food is fabulous with yet more breathtaking views over the ocean & the entertainment during dinner is superb. Enjoyed lounging around the pool & swimming up to the cocktail bar. A very chic, chilled environment, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the el Oceano in August and had an absolutely superb experience. The Hotel is family run and this ethos is carried out by all the staff who work there making you feel welcome and important to them. The food and entertainment is great and is complemented by fantastic views from the dining and pool areas. We will certainly return as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at el Oceano.

Room Tip: Select a room with a Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Oceano Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oceano Beach Hotel

Address: Miraflores Playa, Torrenueva, 29649 Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mijas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Oceano Beach Hotel is an oasis of laid-back luxury, privately owned and operated, where guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount. There are 40 impeccable rooms, most of which are ocean-front mini-suites offering mesmerizing views of this spectacular coastline.Plus a further 15 self contained studio apartments with kitchenette and full use of the hotel facilities.Enjoy the Polynesian Pool area with swim-up bar by day and the famous Waterfront terrace restaurant in the evenings...paradise really is closer than you think! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your El Oceano Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Oceano Beach málaga
El Oceano Hotel
Hotel El Oceano Beach
El Oceano Beach Hotel Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Oceano Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.