We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Oceano Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Oceano Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Miraflores Playa, Torrenueva, 29649 Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
ballymena
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a little Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

An awesome boutique hotel !
Run by a dedicated family who are totally tuned into what their clients expect and aspire to and strive to improve the facilities annually .....and wow !! they hit the mark!
If your into corporate style experience then this is not for ypu.... El Oceano has a unique ambience.... the sound and view of the sea is amazing..great food cocktails and wine.....superb service... top quality entertainers ..all go to making their evening galas unforgetable.!!
We hosted our sons wedding there 3 years ago and its still talked about..you simply wont get a better intimate, romantic venue !! And Glenn helped making all the arrangements in a foreign country soo easy..!
We had a Sunday lunch ...cocktails.....and VIP pool day on our last day of our hols..brilliant fun !!
Looking forward to getting back for some rays and five star good times in 2013 !!

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little more and getting a sea view...amazing unspolit vista !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    67
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
54
273
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Been here so many times ive lost count and every time i go it gets better, great swim up pool bar with great cocktails, fab location , great music scene and long term serving staff, menu is vast but food could be a bit more better executed - bit pub foody style for a great location , but great wine menu too, spa is fab

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

: I do not know where to start about this place…… the location of the restaurant is on overlooking the sea and in the evening’s they dim the lights, open up the roof, and you can hear the sea just meters away from you.
The staff are superb, better than any other waiter / waitresses I have come across in other 5* star a la carte restaurants.
We have attended this restaurant a few times now on during different trips and is my fav place in the whole world.
For that 1 evening, with a candle lit diner, live music, exquisite food and top quality staff, you really do feel a million dollars!
I was afraid that in a place like this, that I would feel uncomfortable around the rich and snobbery, but actually you are made to feel very welcome.

To get a table next to the sea to have the perfect view, you need to book far in advance, as the restaurant offer this to their hotel residents first, then only if there is space, will they then offer to customers just visiting the restaurant.

There is always enough staff to ensure you drink is topped up, or if you would like anything, but not too many that they are standing over you, they really do have the perfect balance.

It is not cheap, but it is not too expensive for what it is, the evening is worth every penny.
For 2 people to enjoy a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine and a few other alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks, you should expect to spend around 100 – 150 euros.

I love this place so much and would recommend to anyone! It is a really romantic setting!

This place really is my paradise!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We often use the restaurant at this hotel as it offers great food and service in a restaurant overlooking the sea. This year we chose to have our New Year's Eve dinner here. It did not disappoint. Great food, great service and a lovely atmosphere. Music and dancing all evening too.
Sunday lunch is also great at this restaurant. As well as a Sunday roast, a curry of the week is also offered and the Indian Chef always presents a great curry meal. Other items are also available.
We have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here after our wedding in Marbella with most of the wedding party. Most of whom have already booked to return this year. Simply a wonderful experience. Stunning views, luxurious pool beds, amazing piña coladas, good music, very friendly staff, comfy beds, designer toiletries and gorgeous food. Can't recommend highly enough....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited oceano beach last summer as a surprise for my partners birthday. On arrival we were disappointed and the underwhelming entrance to the hotel...looks dated and is pretty much one the motorway. Our check in was a disaster, because the hotel had been paid for by our family as a present they wouldn't let us check in as the name on he card was different to the booking name. After showing confirmations etc we were then allowed up to our room after an embarrassing wait at reception. The receptionist was an older Spanish man that was not at all accommodating. We were again disappointed when we entered the room... £125 room .....old fashioned and looking onto the car park. Not what we were expecting after seeing the pics on the website.
However we were impressed when we went down to the pool area it is without a doubt fabulous. The only downside was that it is £8 for a cocktail and not much less for a beer. We then went to have lunch in the restaurant ..the food was average and we were pretty hungry after our mains...the lunch came to £60 odd and again the waiter was pretentious. Beware off the ridiculous service charge also.
That event we decided to go into 'town' ..after a 20 minute hike down the motorway we came across la Cala, not much to offer....few Irish bars and nothing very exciting for a young couple.
I would not recommend this hotel for a young couple or family. More suited to retired couples with money to burn.......

Room Tip: At the back of hotel as front rooms look onto the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband 2 friends and I stayed at the El Oceano over the new year 2012/13. It is the first time we have visited the hotel in winter, we normally go in the summer months. We received the same high level of attention to detail as you get in the summer. The New Year Gala dinner was excellent and worth every euro. John Lorraine Glen Jordana and all the staff make you feel really welcome. We always leave feeling utterly refreshed. Looking forward to going back in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Oceano Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oceano Beach Hotel

Address: Miraflores Playa, Torrenueva, 29649 Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mijas
#1 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Oceano Beach Hotel is an oasis of laid-back luxury, privately owned and operated, where guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount. There are 40 impeccable rooms, most of which are ocean-front mini-suites offering mesmerizing views of this spectacular coastline.Plus a further 15 self contained studio apartments with kitchenette and full use of the hotel facilities.Enjoy the Polynesian Pool area with swim-up bar by day and the famous Waterfront terrace restaurant in the evenings...paradise really is closer than you think! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Oceano Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Oceano Beach málaga
El Oceano Hotel
Hotel El Oceano Beach
El Oceano Beach Hotel Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Oceano Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.