We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resturant !great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Oceano Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Oceano Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Miraflores Playa, Torrenueva, 29649 Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Mijas, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great resturant !great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms , fantastic food ,and you can walk. To the. Beach 5 mins.no need for a car the vilage of la. Cala is close 10 mins
Try sitting on the terrace next to the sea for your meal wow! some weekends have a piano player included

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    63
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
53
259
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in an Ocean Front Mini Suite on the 1st Floor. This had a private terrace overlooking the Med. and the pool area.
We loved the divan sun loungers by the pool (20/30 € per day for round/square) - ideal for us as we prefer not to get up early on holiday and the patio sun loungers had usually been captured with towels by the time we woke.
Restaurant - excellent food and service with good quality live entertainment

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and we love it. This hotel is great place to relax, no children under 14, fab Sunday lunch with live entertainment. Great location on the beach about 40 minutes from Marbella. 20 minute taxi from Malaga airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We did not stay at hotel, but booked resaturant for our last night in Calahonda.
Superb location overlooking the beach and sea, we could see waves lapping at the shore whilst we were eating.
Food was exceptional and couldn't be faulted. I ordered beef carpacchio with rocket and parmesan to start, the fish special of hake with king prawns and a mild mustard sauce to follow. I sent my compliments to the chef for the main course - I had never tasted such wonderful, fresh hake. Ginger creme brulee for dessert.
Wine waiter was very knowlegable and suggested a different white to the one we originally had chosen - it complemented the fish beautifully.
Very good singer for the whole of the evening - varied repertoire and excellent voice. Not at all intrusive.
Quite expensive for a Spanish restaurant - 140 Euros for two people, but was worth every penny. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eloceano, Manager at El Oceano Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thankyou for your very kind words and glad you enjoyed the El Oceano experience!
We re-open on Thursday 20th December until 2nd January for the Christmas & New Year period and look forward to welcoming you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently traveled with friends to Spain and had selected Marbella as a location but left the hotel to chance. Late in the evening after a day of driving we found El Oceano hoping for 2 rooms. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and we were lucky enough to have 2 rooms, one that opened onto the water side. The view from the dining area, bar and lounge area is amazing!! The view, comfort of the hotel and proximity to other sites was so good that we stayed an additonal night. Very affordable and dinner on site is worth the experience. Definitely a great hotel with an amazing view that is truly breathless.

Room Tip: If you can, get a water side view and the smaller suite that opens onto the dining/lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We didnt stay here but had an evening meal at the restaurant, the food was excellant and we were entertained by an artist who sang some Neil Diamond songs to start with but could also perform opera at a very good level. We also had a magician visit the table who was brilliant. The view over the sea was wonderful. Staff were very attentive. Overall a great evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

During our honeymoon in August, we enjoyed a fabulous day around the pool at El Oceano. The cocktails were great and the VIP sunbeds very comfortable! The swim up bar was a nice novelty, generally we had a very relaxing and enjoyable day. We stayed in to the early evening as the sun was starting to go down. We could not fault the service received at the pool.

One problem we did find was when we requested a table for lunch, we were told the only food available was from a set menu - no sandwiches etc. We weren't particularly hungry but given that was the only choice we ordered a starter and a main each. The meal was very nice but the service extremely slow and we saw other guests eating sandwiches etc.. at tables close to us. When my Husband tried to get the attention of the waiter to pay the bill, it took him almost 45 minutes - he eventually went in to the restaurant (after being told to wait outside) and managed to pay the bill for our food, with no apology.

Having eaten in the restaurant a couple of times, and had excellent service, we found this lack of service strange.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Oceano Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oceano Beach Hotel

Address: Miraflores Playa, Torrenueva, 29649 Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mijas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Oceano Beach Hotel is an oasis of laid-back luxury, privately owned and operated, where guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount. There are 40 impeccable rooms, most of which are ocean-front mini-suites offering mesmerizing views of this spectacular coastline.Plus a further 15 self contained studio apartments with kitchenette and full use of the hotel facilities.Enjoy the Polynesian Pool area with swim-up bar by day and the famous Waterfront terrace restaurant in the evenings...paradise really is closer than you think! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Oceano Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Oceano Beach málaga
El Oceano Hotel
Hotel El Oceano Beach
El Oceano Beach Hotel Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Oceano Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.