We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with roomy apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort to your Saves list
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cl Monte Paraiso, Sitio De Calahonda s/n, 29650 Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hotel with roomy apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Located centrally in Calahonda this hotel is very peaceful, because it is about 1 km from the main road. Most of the apartments consist of two bedrooms and bathrooms downstairs and a living room and small kitchen upstairs. Two balconies, one downstairs, the other upstairs. A large variety of services including a restaurant, gym, two saunas, billiard room, squash, minigolf etc.

Room Tip: Balcony facing the pool area is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    72
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
94
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at these apartments from March 13th-17th and it was fantastic and a good price. The apartment had all the cooking facilities you need, 2 bathrooms, was clean. Reception staff were lovely and spoke perfect English. There was a mini bus that took you to the other crown resports or down to the bus stop at the bottom of the hill. As it was off season there were no set times and it was on request which was very good. The outdoor pool was lovely jacuzzi, sauna and indoor pool. I would recommed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The rooms were standard and the beds were uncomfortable. You can only be comfortable with 4 in a room and there are no lifts. There is hardly anything around here so if you are going for nightlife it is not advisable. The swimming pool was clean but you need swimming caps for the indoor pool. Very standard accomodation. The annoying thing is you need to empty your bins and take them accross the road to the car park disposal area. You have to pay for WiFi and it is a really poor connection. I had to log in again and again. The first time i tried to log in it completely failed and the desk staff try to make it out if I was stupid even though they quickly fixed something on their computer and it worked after that. The staff are ok but could be more friendly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the end of February for a week with friends. The apartment was modern and well furnished. The complex has only one lift and plenty of stair's. The pool areas and all public areas were kept clean and tidy. Visitor,s need to take their rubbish across the road to public wheely bin's, a little unusual, but no great hassle. We ate at the on site restaurant one night, it was o.k, nothing outstanding, but was reasonably priced. There are enough restaurant's and bar's close by to keep you going for a week. There is also a small supermarket close by. There are local buses nearby to get you up and down the coast, or intoMalaga, or up to Mijas. The staff were all very helpful. Just a warning to be careful on the main street's leading to the complex, the local dog owner'/walker's do not use poop scoop's.

Room Tip: A little difficult for visitor's who have mobility problem's, having only one lift and lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spent a week here in February. Apartment was clean and had midweek clean and change of linen and towels.Whilst there are half a dozen restaurants a short walk away, which will allow you a range of reasonable eating options, there is little else close by. You need to have car if you stay here and even to go to the beach. We had a large balcony that had the sun most of the day and we spent most afternoons taking in the rays there.
There is a bar/restaurant on site that does a good buffet breakfast for 5.30 euros and a passable buffet dinner for 8.95 euros and there is entertainment there some nights even at that time of year.
The apartments in the resort are in need of upgrading. Calahonda is a town without a heart so there is no town square or focal point where visitors congregate in the evening. Not my cup of tea, and not a place I would rush back to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Crown Resort(s) Mijas is a timeshare company that has several resorts in Mijas Costa and Calahonda. Through Vakantieveilingen.nl ( a Dutch company that organises internet auctions) we booked a 7 night stay in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment. Guestservices tries hard to get you into a salesmeeting. There was no housekeeping/cleaning during our stay and there was no vacuum cleaner and no dishwasher.

At the time of booking we did not know that there was no heating system or airconditioning. In February it can be very cold at night, 4 degrees celcius and cold during the day, 11 degrees celcius. Fortunately it was not cold during our stay. The three simple electrical heaters inserted into the sockets were sufficient for heating up the apartment.

After checking in we ended up in the main resort Club Marbella in Calahonda. This was convenient because of the big parking lot across the street for parking the rental car. Most leisure facilities are located in Club Marbella.

The buildings of Club Marbella are old, with an ancient elevator and lots of steps that can not be avoided.

In the apartment without airconditioning the painters did a good job, the furniture was modern and of good quality. The curtains were expensive while the kitchen, the 2 bathrooms and the floors were at least 20 years old but undamaged.

The paid internet (30 euro for one week, 45 euro for two weeks) was very good. It was possible to log into 10 internet networks with names like Club Marbella 1 and Club Marbella 2. It was possible to choose the network with the best reception.

Renting a small car through the internet before travelling cost 100 euros in February , a return taxi from Malaga airport is also something like 100 euros, so in February renting a car is a good option.

The outdoor heated pool was really nice, heated up to 30 degrees. Swimming in this pool was fun. Somehow there were very little people swimming in the pool. The pool area is cramped for 200 apartments.

There is also an indoor pool with an obligatory swimming cap! This pool is rather big and warmer than 30 degrees celcius. Next to the swimming pool there is a Jacuzzi that is forbidden for children less than 12 years old. Children 8 years old were nevertheless sitting in this Jacuzzi. You can buy swimming caps from a machine located near the indoor pool but this was rather expensive. We brought our own. We only used the indoor pool once because of the strong chlorine smell in the air.

Staff at reception was pleasant and most spoke English well. The miniclub was a disappointment, there were almost no children and it was only 5 hours per week!

We used the car for reaching some pleasant beaches in the neighbourhood.

The washingmachine was awfull. It had only three knobs, one “on/off”, one “hot/cold”and one with the digits 1 to 12. There was no manual. Nobody at reception or housekeeping was capable of telling me how to wash some T shirts.

The apartments were noisy. You could hear your neighbours talking.

I think Crown resort is a good option in winter because of the heated outdoor pool and the reliable internetconnection. If you want airco, dishwasher or a heating system and a more modern apartment, there are better options, like Grangefield Oasis ( 2 bedroom apt), where we have stayed some years ago. At checkout they did not want us to pay for the internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We exchanged some RCI points, to spend a mid-February week at this sister resort, where we are owners. If you are a Crown resort owner, there are no extras charges for electricity, safe, etc. Considering it is off-season, there is still much to do, the indoor pool, jacuzzi & sauna complement the oudoor pool, which is heated to 30c. Even when it rained, it did not stop the adventurous swimmers. Our apartment was very clean, well maintained, we were only two, but reckon that for four, it would be quite cosy. The kitchen was well equipped, looked like it had recently been renovated.
The bar & restaurant are good, but you have to like buffet food. We preferred to walk down the strip, or to the El Zoco centre. The choice of food is impressive, whether you like Chinese, Indian, Swiss (very good), Spanish (!), Mexican, or pub food. The 'Our Bar' in El Zoco, friendly and astonishing value. We didn't find it a 'steep hill', as previosly mentioned.
Rent a car ! Visit Ronda (definitely), Mijas, Marbella, Puerto Banus, Gibraltar. We did a tour to Tangiers, a long day, but a worthwhile experience. How often can you make a daytrip to another continent ?

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort

Address: Cl Monte Paraiso, Sitio De Calahonda s/n, 29650 Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Hotel Mijas
Hotel Marbella Regency Palms Crown
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.