We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“26 euros for electricity on check in!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort to your Saves list
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cl Monte Paraiso, Sitio De Calahonda s/n | Sitio de Calahonda Mijas Costa, 29650 Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Mijas
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“26 euros for electricity on check in!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Club Marbella RCI exchange Nov 2012
Our unit was quite small and dated, designed for up to 6 people (2 bedrooms, and a pull out sofa). We were just 3, but still found it a little cramped.
The second bedroom had two very small, 6 foot by 2 foot 6 beds. Standard single beds would have left very little floor space.
Sound proofing wasn't good. We could hear conversations (and snoring) from next door.
The shower was very small, and had some black mould growth.
Had to pay if you needed to use a safe.
26 euros for electricity on check in!!
Nice indoor pool, but compulsory to buy (6 euros) and wear a rubber hat.
If you want a towel: go to the reception desk and collect a ticket, hand it to the pool desk, keep the towel for the week, return the towel, collect your ticket, hand it back to reception desk (I bought my own locally).
Couldn't find much to do locally.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    111
    64
    18
    16
See reviews for
148
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in Club Marbella with RCI. It was advertised as 'Silver Crown' but I wouldn't say it's worth the crown. It is ok, but a little bit outdated and not luxurious (not that we need it, but expected a bit more). The area has a lot of stairs, so wheelchairs would be impossible to use here. Also it's quite some distance from the beach and 'the strip' in Calahonda, up a steep hill. The lack of Aircon did'nt bother us as the ceiling fans were enough to cool down a bit. Temperatures were about 25-30 degrees in mid-September.
The apartments itself are spacious, with two bedrooms and a livingroom. The TV has many English channels, some German, French, Italian and even Finnish (!), but no Dutch or Russian.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very nice and well appointed apartments ,nice staff at hotel restaurant ,entertainment a bit limited as not enough space in bar restaurant area a bit hilly if you struggle to walk as resort built on a hill car parking adequate ,a bit cold in April ,poor communication between staff members ,as we got accused of eating in the restaurant for free when we had paid for two weeks full board ,anyway once they got their act together, and had to prove we had paid they apologised but the embarrassment was still there as everyone heard what was going on ,it was very very poor communication within the staff .

Room Tip: Be wary if your going for entertainment not of a good standard ,but ok if you want peace and quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Club Calahonda resort. The first thig that greeted us when we arrived was a musty, fried food smell. We later discovered this was because the appartement had not been used, the fresh smell after the cleaner had been (on day 4 of a 1 week stay) was wonderful. The appartement was adequate for 4 people but 6 people would have struggled. It needed some modernisation, the shower especially, which was very small I had to turn sideways to get into it (I am only a 12 dress size). The grout between the tiles was grubby (through use not from a lack of cleaning) and the controls were dangerous. The taps had to be fiddled with to get the right temperature and sometimes the temperature rose while I was under it. I scalded my foot when this happened as I couldn't get out of the cubicle fast enough. If you have children in your party be very, very careful. The oven and hob were extremely slow to heat up, we kept the oven at the highest setting as it took for ever otherwise. The beds were very hard, not firm just rock hard. I used one of the blankets in the wardrobe under the sheet and it did help, I couldn't feel the springs.
The female staff were very friendly and helpful, less so the male staff. When I asked about a hospitality room to use when we booked out I was told this wasn't possible (the place was only half full) when someone else in our party enquired they were told we could stay in our appartement untill 2.00pm.
The restaurant on site was poor value for money, the food was insipid and the waiter was miserable, not once did he smile. They must be using mostly frozen food to have such an extensive menu.
The rest of the resort was clean, but does need a repaint, it is small and very quiet. The locked gates at the entrances to the area is reassuring, There are 2 swimming pools, we went in October and one of the pools was still heated.
There are plenty of large supermarkets with in walking distance, but the area is hilly so it would be difficult for anyone with walking difficulties. The nearest beach is dismal but the resort bus will take you to Cabopina which is very nice.
I wouldn't go again but families with small children might find it ideal especially with an appartement on the ground floor next to the pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from this resort (family of 2 adults, 2 children 6 & 14) We did a last minute RCI exchange using our timeshare week. We have stayed in many resorts over the years & this is the most basic one we have stayed in. Having said that, we came for a week of sun which we had, so we did enjoy it.
Positives :
The staff were very friendly.Size of the apartment was good, liked the space. Younger son enjoyed the (free) kids' club, the staff there were very good. There was an indoor pool & jacuzzi, very nice.(Need to wear a cap in the pool - 6 euros per cap on-site, 2 euros at local mini-market) There is (free) on-site table tennis & mini-golf. There is a mini-bus to take you to the beach & the sister resorts. It runs at various times however.We went twice using it to Club Delta Mar but had to get a taxi back because of the bus timings.The pool at the Delta Mar is lovely, also had play area, basketball, mini-golf - great for kids. Some restaurants not too far away - Slow Boat Chinese was brilliant, also went to a Italian/Indian restaurant near the highway & we had good fish & chips at The Pit Stop, also near the highway. The apartment had a washing machine. There is a mini-gym & squash court on site (free I think) You could get towels (no charge) at reception.
Not so positives :
The location. Best described as a resort plonked in the middle of a residential area, so not many touristy shops around it. We never hire a car on holiday,but you would probably would need to here. The apartment 211(2 bed/2 bath) was fine, but with very out-moded decor, kitchen especially. Very small balcony - it is an apartment that can sleep 6 but there were only 4 chairs on balcony.We had a sea view (in the distance) Also would be too squashed for 6 people to sit in living area. The beds were very hard so woke up each day with a sore back.Walls very thin - we could hear people in the next apartment on the toilet !!! as well as flushing the toilet .I cannot imagine what it would be like staying here in the height of summer with the potential noise factor. Our toilets were very noisy when flushed & took ages to refill,making a hideous noise while doing so. 28 euros for electricity a bit steep. No air conditioning - fine in October,would be a problem in the summer,the fans would not be enough.Towels changed only once (that's fine for us), apartment only cleaned (barely) once.Rarely saw a cleaner about the whole time we were there.(there was a bloodied tissue that was on the stairs for 4 days!!!) Have to take out your own rubbish - cleaner didn't even do this the one time she was in.Resort looks generally 'tired' to me & could be done up. Pool area - too many sunbeds around it - there was literally no space between them. Also after about 3 pm (in October,anyway) the whole pool was in the shade as were most of the sunbeds around it. There is a separate sunbathing area higher up next to it that wasn't shaded. The flies about the pool area were almost unbearable at times.
So, to sum up :
All things considered we did enjoy our holiday.Your holiday's what you make it & the weather was fantastic & that's the main reason we went on a last-minute cheap flights holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just back from Club Marbella and yet again had great time. Apartment was spotless as always, as were the indoor and outdoor pool areas. Cafe Marbella was really busy which is good to see, this however did not make the service any less special and the food was great as always.

All staff very friendly and good to see a new bar "hardys" opened and busy, and our friends from the Slowboat have also opened a new Thai/Japanese/Chinese place which was fantastic both on the Strip.

Always made welcome and never have a bad word to say about Club Marbella, looking forward to next October already.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a rule I do not write reviews but always read them... I feel i have to write about this one. Apartments not clean. no air con and you have to dispose of your own household waste which is across the road from hotel to communal bins.. The pool was nice and plenty of sunbeds but beware of the flies landing on you, totally disgusting and made sunbathing nearly impossible!!!!
Do not go if you have mobility problems there are so many stairs at hotel and some quite steep hills walking back from what they call a resort!!!! Restaurants worth a mention are "Little Italy" do a great carbonara or pizza, "slowboat" chinese is amazing and service in both excellent..
Please don't waste your money going here.. I am quite easily pleased as far as holidays go but can honestly say that in my 25 years of travelling this has to be the worst!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
0.6 mi away
Grangefield Oasis Club
Grangefield Oasis Club
#16 of 30 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
CalaMijas Hotel
CalaMijas Hotel
#2 of 3 in La Cala de Mijas
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Caronte Crown Resort
0.7 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#3 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort

Address: Cl Monte Paraiso, Sitio De Calahonda s/n | Sitio de Calahonda Mijas Costa, 29650 Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Venere, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Hotel Mijas
Hotel Marbella Regency Palms Crown
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.