We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel, but not much more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort

Save Saved
You added Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cl Monte Paraiso, Sitio De Calahonda s/n, 29650 Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 hotels in Mijas
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok Hotel, but not much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in Club Marbella with RCI. It was advertised as 'Silver Crown' but I wouldn't say it's worth the crown. It is ok, but a little bit outdated and not luxurious (not that we need it, but expected a bit more). The area has a lot of stairs, so wheelchairs would be impossible to use here. Also it's quite some distance from the beach and 'the strip' in Calahonda, up a steep hill. The lack of Aircon did'nt bother us as the ceiling fans were enough to cool down a bit. Temperatures were about 25-30 degrees in mid-September.
The apartments itself are spacious, with two bedrooms and a livingroom. The TV has many English channels, some German, French, Italian and even Finnish (!), but no Dutch or Russian.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    71
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
89
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from this resort (family of 2 adults, 2 children 6 & 14) We did a last minute RCI exchange using our timeshare week. We have stayed in many resorts over the years & this is the most basic one we have stayed in. Having said that, we came for a week of sun which we had, so we did enjoy it.
Positives :
The staff were very friendly.Size of the apartment was good, liked the space. Younger son enjoyed the (free) kids' club, the staff there were very good. There was an indoor pool & jacuzzi, very nice.(Need to wear a cap in the pool - 6 euros per cap on-site, 2 euros at local mini-market) There is (free) on-site table tennis & mini-golf. There is a mini-bus to take you to the beach & the sister resorts. It runs at various times however.We went twice using it to Club Delta Mar but had to get a taxi back because of the bus timings.The pool at the Delta Mar is lovely, also had play area, basketball, mini-golf - great for kids. Some restaurants not too far away - Slow Boat Chinese was brilliant, also went to a Italian/Indian restaurant near the highway & we had good fish & chips at The Pit Stop, also near the highway. The apartment had a washing machine. There is a mini-gym & squash court on site (free I think) You could get towels (no charge) at reception.
Not so positives :
The location. Best described as a resort plonked in the middle of a residential area, so not many touristy shops around it. We never hire a car on holiday,but you would probably would need to here. The apartment 211(2 bed/2 bath) was fine, but with very out-moded decor, kitchen especially. Very small balcony - it is an apartment that can sleep 6 but there were only 4 chairs on balcony.We had a sea view (in the distance) Also would be too squashed for 6 people to sit in living area. The beds were very hard so woke up each day with a sore back.Walls very thin - we could hear people in the next apartment on the toilet !!! as well as flushing the toilet .I cannot imagine what it would be like staying here in the height of summer with the potential noise factor. Our toilets were very noisy when flushed & took ages to refill,making a hideous noise while doing so. 28 euros for electricity a bit steep. No air conditioning - fine in October,would be a problem in the summer,the fans would not be enough.Towels changed only once (that's fine for us), apartment only cleaned (barely) once.Rarely saw a cleaner about the whole time we were there.(there was a bloodied tissue that was on the stairs for 4 days!!!) Have to take out your own rubbish - cleaner didn't even do this the one time she was in.Resort looks generally 'tired' to me & could be done up. Pool area - too many sunbeds around it - there was literally no space between them. Also after about 3 pm (in October,anyway) the whole pool was in the shade as were most of the sunbeds around it. There is a separate sunbathing area higher up next to it that wasn't shaded. The flies about the pool area were almost unbearable at times.
So, to sum up :
All things considered we did enjoy our holiday.Your holiday's what you make it & the weather was fantastic & that's the main reason we went on a last-minute cheap flights holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just back from Club Marbella and yet again had great time. Apartment was spotless as always, as were the indoor and outdoor pool areas. Cafe Marbella was really busy which is good to see, this however did not make the service any less special and the food was great as always.

All staff very friendly and good to see a new bar "hardys" opened and busy, and our friends from the Slowboat have also opened a new Thai/Japanese/Chinese place which was fantastic both on the Strip.

Always made welcome and never have a bad word to say about Club Marbella, looking forward to next October already.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a rule I do not write reviews but always read them... I feel i have to write about this one. Apartments not clean. no air con and you have to dispose of your own household waste which is across the road from hotel to communal bins.. The pool was nice and plenty of sunbeds but beware of the flies landing on you, totally disgusting and made sunbathing nearly impossible!!!!
Do not go if you have mobility problems there are so many stairs at hotel and some quite steep hills walking back from what they call a resort!!!! Restaurants worth a mention are "Little Italy" do a great carbonara or pizza, "slowboat" chinese is amazing and service in both excellent..
Please don't waste your money going here.. I am quite easily pleased as far as holidays go but can honestly say that in my 25 years of travelling this has to be the worst!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at this resort for a week this September. The apartments were clean and spacious and had everything you could possibly require. The pool area isn't huge but it was perfect for a quick dip. As others have mentioned the beds are quite crammed together however this was not an issue for us as there were never more than 10 people around the pool during our stay in Sept. The cafe on site was cheap for lunch and the food was delicious :-) The staff at the resort were really friendly and helpful.

The main issue with the resort is that it is located in a more isolated area and therefore there isnt much to explore without a car or taking public transport. For example we paid 45euros each way to get to a water park and croc park in Torremolinos.There isnt really a nice beach within walking distance so you would need to catch a bus to nearby beaches for a small charge.

There are a number of restaurants within walking distance with there being enough places for us to go to a different restaurant each night for a week. However if you were here for two weeks you may find yourself going back to the same ones a few nights. Good selection though as we had Chinese, Indian, Mexican, Italian and Spanish food.

We also managed to avoid the timeshare reps all week by not answering the apartment phone and were never around if they did happen to knock our apartment door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great modern room, with a pool view balcony! ( we paid extra!)
They really need to put in some air conditioning in the rooms, it's was so hot!!
That's my only negative really.
We had a bit of trouble with on site time share company, but just stuck to our guns! U have to be firm!!!
We had a hire car which is really essential as the choice of bars & restaurants are not great. We recommend Bogarts & Casablanca, both within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in this resort recently on an RCI exchange. We own in Spain but needed to be down the coast a bit from our timeshare in MacDonald Villacana as we were going to a wedding. We couldn't get an exchange to a MacDonald timeshare so this was really a last resort. It worked fine for this purpose but was nowhere near the same quality as our own. The resort is not especially attractive and lacks character.

The unit itself was perfectly adequate, clean,well equipped and with a comfy bed. The balcony was a good size though with only a view of some other apartments. That said, we were happy that we had our view rather than the pool view as those balconies looked much smaller and with no privacy.

We only used Cafe Marbella for coffee and wifi but the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The pool area is very cramped with a large number of loungers all in rows wedged together so there is no room to move. We only used it once during our week and it was OK just to cool off but was not really a pleasant place to spend much time.

There is a very useful beauty salon on site - particularly useful for me to have my hair done before the wedding. The prices were very reasonable, the staff were again very pleasant and helpful, and I was pleased with the outcome. I would definitely recommend!

There are a number of restaurants within easy walking distance of the resort and we were very happy with all the ones we tried.

The one big complaint that I had was that someone purporting to have come to "check out" our apartment turned out to be a timeshare rep who only really showed his true colours after he had gained access to our apartment - he had a badge and was based on the resort but I strongly objected to the devious means he used to try to ensure he had a captive audience but, that said, he did leave when I asked him to and did not return after I made it clear that we have absolutely no intention of buying another timeshare.

All in all, this resort served a useful purpose for us. It is not an area I would choose to return to, but if it was necessary to return again, I would be content to stay in this resort - but would prefer to use a MacDonald resort as they are definitely better quality and with much nicer communal areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort

Address: Cl Monte Paraiso, Sitio De Calahonda s/n, 29650 Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Hotel Mijas
Hotel Marbella Regency Palms Crown
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.