We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Quaint Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mijas Plaza de Toros

Mijas Plaza de Toros
Mijas Plaza de Toros, Mijas, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Attractions in Mijas
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Quaint Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We travelled by local bus service to Mijas from Benalmadena which was really cheap and a lovely drive climbing up the mountains. The village is completely white with narrow winding hilly streets, very pretty with flowers, donkey rides and a beautiful shrine to our lady on the mountain side. There is a great range of leather goods for sale in the local shops, all produced locally top quality and excellent prices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    64
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A brilliant day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went here for a family day out and it was fantastic! We have been before but went with a toddler this time! She had a ball and as others have said was able to run about in the ring as well as all the 'backstage' areas!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

While on holiday at the fantastic Don Paquito Hotel in Torremolinos, we decided to take a bus up to Mijas. It was the best decision we made. The village is breathtakingly beautiful & typically Spanish with whitewashed houses & quaint little shops, tapas bars, restaurants, snack bars, etc. On arrival we heard music & cheering & on proceeding towards the noise & came across a pavilion where Flamenco Dancers were putting on a show & the area was filled with what seemed like hundreds of bikers, clapping & cheering , their Harley Davidsons all shining in the sun, that itself was a sight to behold. This area is a bit more commercialised but the higher up you go, the more Spanish it becomes, with little streets leading off into small courtyards or other little squares & then you would stumble across a viewpoint which would take your breath away. The bull ring is worth the €3 entry just to get a feel for the place (I would never go to a bullfight) & the view from the top of the seating area is spectacular. There are some steep areas but where the bus drops you off you can take either the donkey of horse taxis which will take you around the village but if you are able to, the walk is definitely better to find all the hidden gems. We will definitely go back as I'm sure there will be other little bits we didn't find in just one visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“We keep coming back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Mijas is a very lovely little town that we keep coming back to year after year. It's worth taking a day to visit if you are staying in any of the nearby "resort areas", or better yet, stay right in the village! It is situated in the mountains, with stunning views of the Mediterranean, and you can even see Gibraltar and North Africa on a clear day. There are many good restaurants and shops, and the feel is "old world charm" at its best. The whole place is picturesque with white-washed walls, pots of geraniums, winding narrow streets, lovely parks.... There is a shop called FotoArt that has spectacular photographs on display (and for sale). If you go to Mijas, you simply MUST have a look at that shop - it's one of the main reasons we keep coming back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful little area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Admittedly did not go into the bull ring arena but the area it sits in (botanical walk) is gorgeous. We saw the arena later up from our hike - very cool view!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mijas Plaza de Toros also viewed

 

Been to Mijas Plaza de Toros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mijas Plaza de Toros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.