We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ona Campanario de Calahonda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ona Campanario de Calahonda to your Saves list
Ona Campanario de Calahonda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacion Sitio de Calahonda | Avenida Espana 22, 29649 Mijas, Spain (Formerly Atlantic Club Campanario de Calahonda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned on the 26th August from our second stay here this year. We had a 3 bedroom apartment which was lovely. A couple of minor items missing from the apartment, ie,kettle and hairdryer. We informed reception and they were in our apartment within half an hour.
The staff are lovely and very helpful, the only criticism would be there is no air con in the bedrooms. This wouldn't normally matter but it was unusually hot through the night.
This wouldn't stop us from staying there again and plan to do so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario de Calahonda, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent in sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor.
We are sure that your comments will help other users to enjoy their stay with us even more.
The whole Ona Campanario team strives daily to fulfil the wishes of our guests and our ultimate reward is customer satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday at Ona Campanario. Initially there was a mix up with our reservation and we were given two 1 bedroom apartments which were fabulous, after a couple of days we were moved into a 3 bedroomed apartment - all I can say is WOW. Fabulous accommodation. Fabulous Pool area, no rushing for a sun bed (first time ever on holiday) and what can I say about the staff here. Carmen and her front of house staff were all friendly. The cleaning staff who came every day again were all friendly. The guy who served the food, who was on his own the day we decided to eat in was run off his feet (there were 9 of us all together), but he managed well and the food was good.
Would definitley recommend this accomodation, the only thing I would say is that you get use to the walk to the restaurants at the bottom of the hill.

Room Tip: We had room 33, this was a three bedroom apartment and better than having a top floor apartment as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario de Calahonda, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comment, which is a great motivation for the whole team.
Ensuring that all our guests have a fabulous stay is our main objective and knowing that we have achieved it gives us pride.
We hope to host you again in your future visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned from a great holiday here, we exchanged our timeshare via interval, we stayed in room 36 a two bedroom apartment it was spotless as was he whole complex, the pools were great too. We ate breakfast every day in restaurant here which was great value.
Members of staff were amazing Carmen on front desk helped us a lot with days out and information always welcoming with a smile.Raya guest relations was lovely too couldn't help us enough always smiling. Will in the restaurant was such a lovely guy who did his best every morning to help even though he was ran off his feet bless him.
The only downside is the pool bar was closed which was an inconvenience as there were no where to purchase drinks by the pool but had to go to main restaurant.
Having travelled alt we can be very critical of places but even though amenities need updating the whole site is spotless and clean with very competent staff every where, would go back here.
Shops and small bars about 200 yrds away.

Room Tip: We were in room 36 which had a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario de Calahonda, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Ona Campanario even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am at the apartment hotel now (apartment 93), 23 JULY 2013. The Apartment hotel is in extremely bad shape. The pictures on the web lie. Full of ants in the kitchen and living room. The gym is an a horrendous state, with old rusty material (it is not a gym). The entertainment is non-existant because it belong to a separate restaurant at which you MUST east there. It is not worth the price. And Onagrup, the owners, just rip you off, becaseu its members (or Interval members) are paying yearly for nothing. It MUST be ranked 1 key and not 3 keys as it is now. I seriously recommend to avoid it!

Room Tip: Avoid this place, unless you can y¡get it for 40 EUROS a night in which case bring plenty of ant ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario de Calahonda, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Dominic,

First of all, let me thank you for the time you have dedicated to write a review regarding your recent stay at Ona Campanario.
We welcome suggestions and comments: thanks to them we can detect our weaknesses and at the same time, make improvements to our service. This is under the condition that they conform to some experienced reality.

I apologize if your stay was not as expected, the whole team Ona Campanario strives daily to offer the best service and the maximum customer satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you again in the future in order to demonstrate our interest for customer satisfaction.

Warm greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week self catering in September 2009.

We were happy with the accommodation. Clean, spacious and well equipped. Gym was a nice touch. Pool was freezing! Parking spaces out front which was handy as we hired a car. Supermarket and little shopping area at the bottom of the street. Straight off the Cadiz road, so well positioned to explore the area. We went to Marbella, Gibraltar, Fuengirola, Benelmadena, Mijas, Coin and La Cala, and this hotel was positioned nicely between them all.

My husband's parents (who we took with us) said they would have liked more daytime things to do within the immediate area (i.e walking distance). There were however some nice bars and restaurants, where we spent most evenings, with only a short walk back to the apartment.

Happy with this choice of accommodation, good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario de Calahonda, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Ona Campanario even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

It was ok. It is always ok, when your room is more than 70 sq m. Big terrace, so if you do not afraid to cook by yourself, you can eat as at restaurant at your terrace. Good poll. The air conditioning only at main room.
Beach is 15 minute walk, and it is awfull, so rent a car , and try to discover others beaches. Also there plenty of wonders full cities, which glcoukd be reached by car.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario de Calahonda, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent in sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor.
We are sure that your comments will help other users to enjoy their stay with us even more.
The whole Ona Campanario team strives daily to fulfil the wishes of our guests and our ultimate reward is customer satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannseburg SA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

They handled our late request for a ground floor apartment well and found all the all staff very obliging and extremely friendly. Made our stay a pleasure. Complex is clean but apartments are only partially upgraded and very basically furnished. Nice touch of welcoming pack including washing up liquid and milk/juice but there is a poor Wi-fi connection (not hi speed) and the reception is only open at limited times. The supermarket is in easy walking distance and a good selection of bars & restaurants. Service there was good. The Restaurant in the hotel was excellent and the bar service very good. Lovely staff. There are plenty of other restaurants in easy taxi drive, including La Cala beach. 4 large Pools were fairly empty and our family of 10 enjoyed their stay. We would return but only after the units gardens are cleaned up and some furniture (Carpets/lounge chairs etc.) added. The tiled floors are noisy and neighbours moving around at all hours was disturbing.

Room Tip: Avoid the units 60 - 66 over the bar area. It is noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario de Calahonda, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, let me thank you for the time you have spent on sharing your opinion of your stay at Ona Campanario.
It is thanks to these comments that we can detect our errors and therefore implement changes to improve our quality.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ona Campanario de Calahonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Campanario de Calahonda

Address: Urbanizacion Sitio de Calahonda | Avenida Espana 22, 29649 Mijas, Spain (Formerly Atlantic Club Campanario de Calahonda)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Campanario de Calahonda 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ona Campanario is a fantastic holiday complex situated a 15-minute walk from Calahonda Beach, in Mijas - Costa. The apartment complex offers an outdoor pool, a hot tub and gym as well as a cafe with terrace, a perfect spot to start the journey with a tasty breakfast. For your comfort these apartments have a 24-hour reception. Ona Campanario offers 1 (55m2), 2 (75m2) and 3 (100m2) bedroom apartments equipped to make you feel at home. In that way, all of them have air-conditioning, a private balcony and satellite TV. Kitchens include a microwave, fridge and washing machine. The complex is located in Mijas Costa, between Marbella and Fuengirola. The supermarkets, bars and restaurants of Sitio de Calahonda are within a 5-minute walk. Puerto de Cabopino Port is one kilometre away, and La Siesta Golf Club is less than 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ona Campanario de Calahonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vime Campanario De Calahonda Hotel Mijas
Vime Campanario De Calahonda Mijas
Ona Campanario De Calahonda Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ona Campanario de Calahonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.