We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Puerta del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Puerta del Sol to your Saves list
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera de Fuengirola a Mijas, km 4, 29650 Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Northampton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Will return nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights AI, we only brought hand luggage and used the beach towels at the hotel the bathroom has an hairdryer and a little basket with shaving kit, comb shower gel their is also a safe in the room it didn't cost much. Flat screen TV only 2 English channels sky news and bbc world news which is a shame we like an hour of TV before bed lots of American tv on but in Spanish.

We arrived around 13:00 are room was ready by 13:30 we were sat on a sun lounger no problem finding one. At 14:00 we sat in the restaurant having lunch the food is fine only criticism is you get chips with lunch and dinner and no alternative potato.

Very relaxing no one in a rush to get sunbeds in morning whist we were there had breakfast sat on the terrace, lots of pastries and lovely bread especially floured bread rolls also bacon, sausage, eggs, mush, toms something for everyone.

The pool is not heated but you could get in after a few iffs and butts and the surrounding area is well kept, we went down some steps to the solarium and we couldn't here anyone near the pool it was lovely and no pool music so you can read in peace.

No where to go for a walk near hotel which is the only downside but the bus stop is right outside to go to Mijas and fuengirola 1.65 euro only 10 mins on bus. Also we caught the train from airport only 5.50 euro for 2 of us then a taxi to hotel 11euro now we now where the hotel is we will get the bus. Taxi from airport around 50 euro.

Staff are very helpful and really pleasant I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    166
    83
    21
    21
See reviews for
80
177
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Hacienda Puerta Del Sol is is in sedate location some 5 minutes derive from Mijas and a 10 minutes from Fueringorola. there is nothing else except a bus stop nearby and there are no pavements so you are somewhat isolated. The hotel itself is pleasant enough with adequate rooms and a good bathroom. There is a nice swimming pool and the staff are excellent. The buffet meals vary but have the usual failing especially in the evenings they are only lukewarm and not hot.the biggest problem for us was the evenings.There was zilch entertainment in the hotel and it was very boring. You needed to get out and the last bus back from Mijas was about 8.30 so you had to catch and taxi when you wanted to return which vastly added to the expense.The clientèle in the main were over 50's and it is certainly more suited to couples who wanted a get away from it all holiday rather than families. overall it was a nice but not exceptional holidays with downside really being the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

After yet another visit this hotel never fails to impress us, last year there wifi was only available in the reception but now in every single room in the hotel you can find the wifi. Everything has improved amazingly and we have become close friends with the staff and are returning next year as well. The food is lovely some meals better that others but definitely worth trying! We went all inclusive and the staff gladly cater to all your needs! The pool is terrific and also the indoor one. There is a small gym we have used a few times it's a very small gym but has all you need for a daily workout! Tennis court and mini golf courts have been improved greatly!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for 1 week all inclusive from 26th June 2014. Cannot criticise this hotel. All the staff and management were very friendly and helpful. Food was great. The rooms and communal areas were clean and we felt we needed nothing more. Short bus journey up to Mijas which was a typical white washed Spanish Town.

The outdoor areas were also very well kept and there was plenty of room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice now, and it has been great on both occasions.

The hotel sits a few miles up the hill from Fuengirola on the road to Mijas. Therefore it is out of the way of the main coast. There are busses up there, but I would recommend people who want to stay here, to have a car for full flexibility.

It really is in a great location if you want to get away from the high rise crowded hotels on the coast itself. There was no fighting over sunbeds here and it was just pleasent to sit out by the pool which boasts amazing views down to the coast itself. The pool is great, and there is an indoor pool too and gym. However this looked like it was being renovated.

It is a quieter hotel, there is no entertainment and there isn't really anything to do with kids. So I would recommend it for couples who just want a quiet relaxing time away. You are away from 18 - 30s as well! Mijas itself is a charming (very English catered) village just a few miles up further, and currently has 1 euro parking all day in the multi story which is great!

The rooms themselves were nice, well equipped with fridge, air conditioning etc. Vending machines in reception, full wifi coverage, even out by the pool. Staff were nice and English speaking.

My only gripe is (as with a lot of hotels) is that breakfast is only served till about 10.30am which yeah I struggle sometimes being out of bed, and ready for breakfast by then. I sometimes wish hotels would take breakfast right up to midday.

We did take the evening buffet, which was over 18 euros per person. To be honest, I found it terrible value for money, choice wasnt that great and it wasn't particularly nice either. The breakfast however (on the day i did make it!) was very good. If you get evening meal included with a deal with your room, then great, if not, skip it, and go eat in one of the many wonderful restaurants in Mijas or Fuengirola.

Room Tip: If money is tight. Try and get a deal with full board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Rooms were basic but clean, with a great shower. Pool is lovely, close to beach. Town of Mijas is a short €10 taxi ride away. Drinks there are cheap, food is gorgeous. Hotel food is good too, with buffet breakfast and plenty of options for lunch. Great bar too. Staff are slow but polite.

Overall, would stay again but maybe would try hotels with nicer bedrooms.

Room Tip: Choose a Room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hotel Hacienda Puerta del Sol more than lived up to my expectations.

The wonderful wide terraces and very well - kept gardens are delightful. You can enjoy
breakfast in the cool morning air, lunch and drinks, both in the sun or in the shade.

The hotel rooms are cleaned daily by friendly staff. The buffet dinner was also good and varied,with those in charge constantly overseeing the smallest detail, making sure that not only the food, but also its presentation was perfect.

I got the impression that the running of this hotel and taking care of guests was done with dedication , and not merely as a business, as one finds quite often that the personal touch
has disappeared from many hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the sea are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta del Sol

Address: Carretera de Fuengirola a Mijas, km 4, 29650 Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Puerta del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Hotel Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Puerta del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.