We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's alright” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Puerta del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Puerta del Sol to your Saves list
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera de Fuengirola a Mijas, km 4, 29650 Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“it's alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for one night as part of a touring holiday. Peaceful location and for that reason we had our evening meal "in house" sitting outside near to the pool. Lovely view towards the sea and menu was simple but perfect for our needs. However staffing appeared to be an issue, so after waiting 45 minutes for our food and having received the comment that the kitchen was very busy --- we received our meal. Other guests were served promptly and enjoyed their evening. To the hotel's credit and without us making a fuss, we were not charged for our drinks or food. Room adequate, buffet breakfast uninspiring

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    176
    85
    23
    21
See reviews for
81
188
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed there on a prebooked singles holiday. The hotel has a pretty terrace overlooking the pool where one can take drinks from the bar at excellent prices. There was plenty of variety in the breakfast and dinner buffets. I was part of a large group, and most of my fellow travelers were very happy with the food, although I personally found it not too exciting. During meal times the bar staff had to double up in the dining room with wine orders and table clearing, but they were friendly, and does it matter if you are on holiday and have to wait a couple of minutes at the bar? Easy access by bus to charming Mijas for sightseeing, shopping and restaurants, and to Fuengirola with onward connections around Andalucia.

Room Tip: Just in case there are some late or rowdy revelers and you want your balcony door open at night, out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Came as an add on to a package tour, and stayed five days. The hotel is NOT in the back of beyond, being only a 10 minute 1.45 euro bus ride outside Fuengirola. Rooms are comfortable enough, staff are efficient if not particularly friendly, and the buffet menu ensures you won't starve, even if it is a bit uninspiring. All in all quite happy with the price/value offer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you read the reviews before you go its is plain to see this is a quiet hotel. That is why we went there. Yes the hotel is in a quiet location and compared to other areas of Spain thank god it is. The staff are brilliant the English speaking lady is actually Spanish.
The food is again what to expect at a Spanish All Inclusive, lots of choice great salads and a choice of 6-7 main meals. Its not 5 star but its still good.
The pool area is great quiet and easy to get a sun bed.
The drinks are better than any other I have been to including long hall. You can get a cold pint and a glass of wine on the beautiful sun terrace, I tipped the bar staff and never had a complaint about time or indeed measures,in fact the whiskey and dry's were perfect if sometime to big.The bus is outside and and is very cheap, Mijas is 10 mins away and Marbella and
Estapona are worth a visits.
The entertainment was poor but funny and once you have had a drink and joined in it was fine. We met some great people at the Hacienda, and will definitely visit again with George and Mildred, Ken and Barby and Carl and family !!!!!!!
If you want noise and lots of kids do not go here.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

ok = hotel looks nice , clean ,, nice pool
cant say much about staff, as they very short on staff, one english staff maria who was very nice and kind, you had to wait ages to get served at bar, as 1 bar person had to take meal orders serve , clean tables. and serve behind bar, the breakfast was very poor same food all the time also cold covered in flies , a lot of us were sick most mornings (think it was down to hygiene) well entertament ok if you are spanish, one man and a organ, next one man and a guitar that is not plucked in, sang a lot in spanish, also they do weddings so paying customers by pool in swim wear had to walk pass a wedding partys full of suits and ties long dresses and hats , a lot of customers felt well uneasy with it, no way can you go for a walk unless on a motor way, please dont go there and waste your money , been happier in butlins honest

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastlothian
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a great week in this hotel ,the food was great.the drinks were fab and the staff were friendly they were always rushed of there feet but are always pleasent .there was plenty of sun loungers and a nice pool so what more could you ask for .There is no where to walk to but the bus passes outside the hotel which takes you into mijas or Fuengirola.this has been my second visit within a year loved it .

Room Tip: get a bus to Fuengirola and get the train, you can go to lots of placesfrom here .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just back from spending the last week staying in Hacienda.

Were to start... From the beginning the staff were rude and not helpful, everything seemed to be a hassle. The bar staff are as slow as a week in the jail and take forever to serve and get you drinks, and as for the restaurant staff? how on earth they have a job in customer service is beyond me!!!
The rooms were ok, clean but very basic. Not what you would expect from a 4* hotel. Maid were always very friendly and came in everyday to make your bed and change towels ect.
We did have a broken toilet seat and we couldn't have a shower without letting the bath run too as the tap was a bit dodgy.
The hotel itself is in the middle of nowhere, there is absolutely nothing around you apart from mountains and a bus stop on either side of the road. You can get a 5 minute bus ride (not walk-able as its to dangerous) up to Mijas or a 10 minute bus ride down into Fuengirola. Bus is 1.45 euro per person each way which is ok but not when your doing it once or twice a day!!
We were only bed and breakfast and the food was ok but got boring after 4 days of eating the same thing. You also get free flies with your meal and its disgusting, they actually float and crawl in the food and the staff couldn't care less, I know there may not be alot they can actually do about it but they don't rush to clear the tables to prevent it.
The pool on the other hand is great!! very clean and a fantastic size, sun loungers are pretty good too and if you get up early enough your guaranteed one in a good spot.

Overall this hotel is NOT a 4*, a 3* at the very most. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, especially young couples and families.
We booked this holiday wanting something relaxing and quiet but this was beyond a joke.

Room Tip: Don't even book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta del Sol

Address: Carretera de Fuengirola a Mijas, km 4, 29650 Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mijas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Puerta del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hacienda Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Hotel Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Puerta del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.