We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of the best reataurants on the costa del sol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Mijas Playa - CLOSED

Restaurante Mijas Playa
Paseo Maritimola | La Cala De Mijas, 29649 Mijas, Spain
+34 952 493 749
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
BERWICK UPON TWEED
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still one of the best reataurants on the costa del sol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

just returned from our two weeks in spain. although it was 2 years since we had been to the mijas playa, it was yet another great evening,wonderful food and entertainment, we had our 12 year old grandaughter with us this time, and the staff were so wonderful to her she said they made her feel so grown up she also had a fantastic time.
well done we will return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    3
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lovely ' upmarket' restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Dined here for a birthday celebration. They had Flamenco dancers entertaining that evening and whilst very good it was very loud so not an evening for a chat! Food was very good with a wide range on the menu. The restuarant has a wonderful classy feel to it with service to match. My only negative gripe is it was a bit pricey despite the clientele it is pitched at.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous food for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

First dined here for my mum's 60th birthday a few years ago and have since returned each at least once every time I visit the area. I have been told that the restaurant has changed ownership in the last year but it is the previous manager who has taken over. The ambience was improved and the food still fabulous so I will be returning in August to celebrate my birthday and may also pop in additionally for a cheeky euro 20 special two course dinner another evening or two.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“You just have to dress up for this one Smart Casual.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Location in the small Spanish village La Costa De Mijas between the A7 Coast Road and the sea. Just across the street from the local beach. English Owners really varied menu including some fusion dishes. Portions large, if you can do three courses there you have done well. We were there several years ago when rain washed the old conservatory away, they till openned the next day and served up the same standard of food. The conservatory has been rebuilt and is the best part of the restauarant to sit in. We like to dine here on our first and last nights and in between as the mood takes us. This is our favourite Restaurant on the Costa Del Sol just beats the Valpariso which is on the road from Fuengirola to Mijas village. Resident pianist Dave nd other artists entertain. Great night out book your table for 8 to 8.30 and expect to leave after midnight.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food was good but.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We went here last night. The food was good but small portions and expensive for what it was. The place was nice but we will not be returning. We come to Marbella regularly and there are many more restaurants that we would like to return to and also to visit new ones. This won't be one of them! Sorry!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Mijas Playa also viewed

Mijas, Costa del Sol
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Mijas Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.