We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A change from chorizo....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega el Placer

Bodega el Placer
Los Canos n.4 | Mijas Pueblo, 29650 Mijas, Spain
+34952485718
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 326 Restaurants in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Vegan
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A change from chorizo....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We came across this restaurant looking for a place to have one or two tapas for lunch in Mijas and we were keen to avoid the run of the mill and ubiquitous chorizo and albondigas.

A drink and a tapa of the day cost about €2 each. We followed that with anchovy and pork montaditos and a tapa of deer. Small portions, interesting tastes and loads of olive oil was the order of the day. Bread was produced in addition.

It was all a bit strange. We ordered pimientos which never arrived. We weren't charged for them or the bread (unlike some reviewers) but the deer tapa cost €4 not the €3.50 in the menu. Ho hum.... The price was €13.25 in total which seemed fair enough.

The inside seating was made up of stools and low tables. Fine for tapas but hard work for a main meal.

So good food with interesting service and strange pricing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    26
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Calder, Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“el- rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The bodega was in the process of opening when we arrived - and due to the raving TA reports we decided it would be worth our while to wait. Our first disappointment was that 30% of the menu was not available. We had to ask for our drinks/refills several times. To be honest when the food arrived it was delicious and well presented. We had been given a small basket of bread and two of us took a piece each but decided it was definitely from the day before so left the basket untouched. Service was slow and the bodega was busy. I asked for the check and though it seemed quite a lot but as there were five of us and I did not have my glasses on I paid the bill and left. On arriving back at the apartment I was shocked to see we had been charged 6.25 euros for the small basket of stale bread plus another amount for olives we did not ask for or touch. I appreciate Mijas is a tourist trap and in the past I have paid an euro for bread served with Tapas but find in being charged such an enormous amount for food we did not order or eat - shows the owner of the bodega has nothing but contempt for tourists and is relying on the rave revues from TA to increase custom. Yes the food is good but beware and check your bill before leaving and if you do not want the "extras" return them immediately and check they are not charged for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend tapas bar in the centre of Mijas Pueblo, 'Bodega El Placer'. Tapas excellent, staff friendly and a good atmostphere in this small bar. Good wine recommended by staff. Great selection of gins too. Always visit here when staying in Mijas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best tapas in all of Spain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you find yourself anywhere near Mijas, plan your appetite to coincide with the hours at El Placer. You will be amazed at the quality of the food and the laid back atmosphere the owners, Nacho & Marie, have created. Get the Tuna and the Pork Tenderloin for sure. But beyond the delectable food you owe it to yourself to have Nacho make you a GIN & TONIC. it's a fabulous presentation and the most delicious thing I have ever had, anywhere in the world. It's beautiful with star anise, cardamom & juniper berries floating around in the pale blue tonic water. It smells like heaven with the spritz of essence of botanica on top. I'm not even a gin drinker, but had to have it after seeing it at the table next to us. Went back 4 times out of the week we were there for the food, the drink, and the wonderful service. Thanks Nacho & Marie for an experience I'll never forget. Too bad we can't get that blue tonic in the states.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, crowded, service wasn't staffed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The tapas were excellent. There are a lot of choices. We opted for the green peppers, ox steak, and chicken curry. We went on an early evening midweek and it was packed with only one kid working (there was a girl working as well but she wasn't actively waiting tables). Food came out quick but it took a lot of attention grabbing to get more drinks. If you don't mind it being crowded (or instead opt for lunch) and don't mind the flaw in service if you go at a crowded time, this place is still a good choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega el Placer also viewed

 

Been to Bodega el Placer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega el Placer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.