We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden away wee gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Olivo

El Olivo
C/Butiplaya | La Cala de Mijas, 29649 Mijas, Spain
+34 952 587 500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 321 Restaurants in Mijas
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Musselburgh, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden away wee gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Quite a small place hidden away in a corner, worth seeking it out as the food is lovely. Service was a bit slow, but it truly is worth waiting for

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    40
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I recently held my birthday party here for 25 guests half of which had travelled from the Uk for the party, everything was above my expectations a fantastic evening was had by all, the restaurant worked out a set meal with me which included welcome drinks and wine with the meal, there was a terrific live singer, the staff were very attentive, the food was top class every single person commented on the quality, great value for money too...I will definitely be back and most of my guests will too!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

food overated and pricey for what you get also they allow 3 guys to come and serenade the customers dining at the tables in the courtyard and when they finish singing they go round the tables collecting money from the unsusspecting diners!!!! bit cheeky we thought!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place to spend an evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We ate here recently and food and service was first class!
We were served by 3 waiters and all were very pleasant and very professional. They couldn't do enough to make the evening special and we will keep going back.
This restaurants ranks as being one of the best in the Mijas area and we have tried most!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Dined here in a group of 7 and had one of the best melas of the holiday. Only stumbled a Ross this restaurant after a local bar recommended this to us. Food was divine and the staff were extremely helpful, even stating if we didn't like a dish they recommended they would pay for it themselves. Needless to say we didn't ask them to pay, the creme brûlée was one of the best I have evert tasted. The bill was very reasonable and we we so happy with the food and service we gave the, a large tip

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Olivo also viewed

La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
Mijas, Costa del Sol
 
Mijas, Costa del Sol
Mijas, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Olivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Olivo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.