We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club La Costa at Sierra Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Club La Costa at Sierra Marina to your Saves list
Club La Costa at Sierra Marina
1.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Ctra. de Cadiz Km 206, 29649 Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the club la costa for one week, as part of a promotion week we had to attend a presentation on joining clc. The accommadation was very good we had a large living room and seperate kitchen, upstairs two bedrooms and bathroom, excellent sea views and our own terrace with table and chairs and two sun loungers. The resort was very clean and the staff were very helpfull, only one thing to complain about it is in an elevated position and is a long walk or even a bus ride into town.The meeting we attended with clc, we were told would last a morning but was in fact kept there for 6 hours. The restraunts on site are abit pricey Overall good accommadation if you have a car to get about.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view and you wont be dissappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    218
    99
    46
    41
See reviews for
252
206
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ardvasar, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment in the CLC Marina Del Sol as part of a CLC promotion week. You are obligated to go to a meeting with the CLC world group in the promotion week which is a long and drawn out affair but I think if your are interested in joining CLC it is definitely worth listening.
Everyone in the resort were extremely helpful to us especially the porters.
The resort is quite hilly but the two mini trains are a great way to get around and one of the trains also has wheelchair access and if the weather is not good there is a mini bus that runs around the resort instead.
There are several heated pools within the resort and we were lucky enough to have one right outside our apartment, so we could still enjoy the pool in March.
There is free wifi in the different resort reception areas around the resort which is great, the reception areas are also really comfortable so it is really easy to sit and use the wifi.
There are several restaurants and cafes within the resort, some of which were closed when we were there as it was off season, the Safari restaurant is excellent, the staff are very accommodating, polite and very friendly. The breakfast is delicious, with great variety.
There is a small shop, SAMs pantry, which has most things you would need during your stay and they also have a nice selection on cakes. There is also another shop near the entrance to the beach which has a lot more and is a little cheaper, there is a train stop near by so it is easy to get to.
The town of Fuengirola is really close and you could walk along the beach but a taxi to and from the resort is not very expensive. Fuengirola market is quite good, there are lots of stalls although a lot of them are the same. The fruit and veg stalls are great tho with a lot of variety. The zoo in Fuengirola is defiantly worth a visit too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Club La Costa at Sierra Marina, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We were glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Feedback from all our guests is important to help us maintain our standards and services. Our promotional holidays are an opportunity to sample what holidaying with us is like and it is always nice to see positive remarks about our resort. As part of the holiday we do ask people for a minimum of 90 minutes of their time to take part in our presentation during which we explore with them the sort of holidays they enjoy and what they would enjoy in the future to see whether we can tailor a product that would suit their need. We do this in as interesting and enjoyable a way possible and include a guided tour of the resort so we appreciate that this can take time. it was nice to see that you felt that for those interested in joining CLC World the presentation was worth listening to.
Resort Manager, Costa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We decided to stay at CLC at Marina Del Sol and it wasn´t a disappointment. We were worried that check-in was only at 4PM and we had early arrival. But as we arrived at 3PM, they checked-in us a bit earlier. We had 2 bedroom apartment with a big terracce and view to the sea. It was a good choice for 6 people. The price was very reasonable and it was well located. Also we were lucky with weather, water in the pools were quite cold. So the heated pool was very convinient, favourite one for our kids. The staff was friendly and helpful. the apartment was well equiped, we didn´t miss for anything really. We definetly consider CLC as our accommodation during our next trip to Costa Del sol.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Club La Costa at Sierra Marina, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We welcome feedback from our guests and I was pleased to see that you found your apartment met the needs of your party and that you enjoyed your time with us. It was good to see that you would consider us for future holidays on the Costa del Sol and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

got the phone call offering this accommadation for £99 for the week as long as we attended a presentation to try and sell holiday club. This lasted about 5 hours but some people were there longer. I did not buy and there was no hard sell although they did try again a couple of days later. The accommadation we stayed in was not there best and was not 5 star more like 2 star. Good 30 minute walk to the middle of Fuengirola and the taxis were a rip off paid 10 euro for a trip less than 5mins. Would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the marketing suites on the Marina Del Ray .The accommodation was a one bed apartment overlooking the sea With a complementary cot bed for our two year old daughter. The accommodation was well maintained with good cleaning standards. it had all necessary modern facilities necessary for a young child
The complex is within a walking distance to a sandy beach across a major road
You will need a car in order to travel to nearby facilities as There's not much happening within walking distance

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

On this trip we had to go to a presentation but have to say we were not put under a lot of pressure to buy. The unit was available on arrival and was very clean and comfortable. There was a full entertainment programme even though it was a quiet time of the year. We have stayed here twice in the past and do enjoy the resort which has a number of pools restaurants and a gym. It is a pleasant walk to the shops and nearby fuengirola and the local bus stops close by. The resort is on a hillside but a train runs around the resort for those who can't or don't want to walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

As trial members, this was our third visit to the Marina del Sol/California Beach resort and we had a wonderful week.

We had chosen a one bedroom appartment in Marina del Rey, because we like the town of Fuengirola and it is tthe nearest part of the resort to town. Although we arrived before mid day our appartment - no 530 - was ready and we were thrilled with the location - palm trees by the balcony and a superb sea view. The appartment was beautifully clean and well equipped, although the kitchen area was on the small side, with some of the equipment being housed in the TV cabinet in the lounge.

We were asked to attend a presentation, but when we declined, our refusal was accepted and noone bothered us further.

There was some refurbishment being undertaken in this section of the resort so there was no entertainment provided. A complimentary minibus service, however, was on offer to and from the California Beach part of the resort and we spent quite a few lovely evenings, having dinner and enjoying the entertainment at the Sunset Bar. As always, both in the Safari restaurant and in the bar , the service was exemplary. Fabio and Miguel are wonderful hosts, anticipating the customers' every needs.

We enjoyed our week in the winter sun so much that we decided to book again for the same time next year. After having some difficulty, because, apparently only a limited number of appartments are available to trial members, we contacted Member Services. Irina there could not have been more helpful and we will be back in that lovely spot again, both in the autumn and next January!

Carol L

Room Tip: Marina del Rey is a lovely, small complex and if you want a good sea view as for an upstairs appartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club La Costa at Sierra Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club La Costa at Sierra Marina

Address: Ctra. de Cadiz Km 206, 29649 Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Club La Costa at Sierra Marina 1*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club La Costa at Sierra Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Costa At Sierra Marina Hotel Mijas
Club La Costa At Sierra Marina Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club La Costa at Sierra Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.