We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, ruined our Mojacar experience.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Marina Mojacar

Save Saved
You added Puerto Marina Mojacar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Puerto Marina Mojacar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garrucha-Carboneras Ctra Km.9, 04638 Mojacar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 hotels in Mojacar
Coffs Harbour
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible, ruined our Mojacar experience.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have never put a bad review online before & we travel a lot. We e arrived to an ordinary reception from staff. Free parking/close to beach & good pools & that's about all.First room smelt of urine & mould. Aged,scratched furniture. Breakfast was 7euro(don't do it! We had paid online for 3 nights as well as breakfast & cut our losses & left after 2nd night without breakfast that day & willing to accept no refund). Toilet in our room & outside dining room didn't flush. Washing machine didnt work, couldn't get internet connection in reception area & most of the computers wouldn't take coins. ATM was not plugged in to use. Had an overall feeling of a run down nursing home. Pay a little extra & stay somewhere decent closer to cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    51
    31
    32
    27
See reviews for
98
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

At around £36 per night for a three room appartment (room only basis) for 2 people, this is incredibley cheap. The rooms are large and full of light, with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and sea. The beds are comfortable and the rooms kept very clean with a maid service every day. The bathroom is a good size. The swimming pools are large and very clean. It is near to the beach and a short walk to the start of the bars and restaurants of the playa. There is a cafe/bar (independant of the hotel) right opposite the hotel which is very convenient for a drink or snack. We have now stayed there several times so we know what we are getting for our money, but I would not describe it as luxorious in any way! The whole place needs a refurbishment. The common parts still look fine, cool and airey, but the pool sunbeds are shabby and worn, the rooms could do with a coat of paint, and we had to chase the staff for an extra chair for the balcony (only one provided), coffee/tea cups, and some kitchen utensils. To be fair they were quickly provided. The lock on one of the balcony doors was broken, but we managed to get it to lock. Would we go there again - yes, definately if we can get the same sort of deal.

Room Tip: All the rooms look similar as far as we can see and it is very quiet in the low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPAIN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

just stayed for two nights,very clean ,and very good prices .look out for special deals.i had two nights for Euro 55.room only. very good value and everything near at hand.
will be going back.

Room Tip: self catering middle block room 1001 sea view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel in October 2007 and June 2008, then again in late September this year.
Standards have dropped considerably since First Choice stopped using it.
Pool bar didn't open, on site supermarket was closed, and no entertainment programme, despite all being advertised on hotel's website. Pool area wasn't cleaned at all during our 10 day stay, and pools themselves were just had chemicals poured in in the mornings. Seemed to be catering just for the Spanish weekend market.
Was only about 10% full, and running on skeleton staff. No Manager or anyone in charge to speak to regarding our complaints/grieveances.
Weather was great and we did have two large pools almost to ourselves,
Overall MOST disappointing after two super holidays in the past.

Room Tip: All rooms similar and have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azeitão
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed there for 01 week. The location is very nice, at the end of the seafront avenue, 5 min. walk from the beach.
We chose this location for its warm waters and were not disappointed, as the sea was very very nice. The sand is dark but we had no problem with that.
The hotel has 02 big swimming pools and a little one for the young children. It wasn't always very very clean but it was ok. The apartments are spacious and clean, with very large balconies facing the sea and a little kitchen if you choose to cook. Some maintenance of the windows locks and lamps would be appreciated.
As for the service, it was not that very good. Always took breakfast around 10h00 (it ends at 10h30) and there were no spoons and cups available, we had to use soup cups to drink milk. The offers were nice but always the same during the week. Lunch starts at 13h45 and always had different options of meat and fish during the week, though they didn't have much options for side-dish, always fried potatoes but not that many options of rice or pasta. At dinner time it was the same, with the option to have dinner at the terrace, if you get there early.
If you want a snack in the middle of the afternoon, forget it - they only serve drinks at the pool bar. We got there around 5pm on the day of arrival and had nothing to eat. We were lucky to find a place at the entrance of the complex that serves snacks and also has free wi fi, what you can't find at the hotel.
The animation staff were very nice, always trying people to participate at the events, and with nice shows after dinner.
Overall is was an average hotel where we were the only portuguese and the other guests were mainly spanish, so prepare yourself to always listen to spanish music and, in the rooms, only spanish channels are available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Myself and my wife stayed here in July 2011 and we had done the usual thing and looked on Trip Advisor only to find some negative comments from some tourists.
Let me say that it was a really a gem in Mojacar, when we were there it was occupied by a lot of spaniards which in itself was refreshing to get away from the typical English tourist traps.
We checked in late at night with a quick smooth process, the desk staff were good in English and helpful. The flat had one bedroom with a lounge and kitchen etc for self catering and was clean and effective. Amenities are great with nice swimming pools outside the front of the hotel. Mojacar Pueblo is a 20 minute bus ride from the hotel with good bars and restaurants only a short walk away from the hotel. It was a nice quiet holiday and the hotel is located on the edge of town for the added sense of quiet which was nice.
All in all a great place to stay. I would go back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on one of the upper floors away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

i stayed at this hotel about 5 years ago. and it was the best holiday of my life the food was great the rooms was big the reps were amazing. i met loads of friends and did not want to come home our rep was called helen. on our last day helen cryed :[ we kept in touch with helen and went back to the same hotel helen did not work at that hotel anymore as the hotel got rid of first chocie. i think get rid of first chocie was i big mistake for the hotel. it is 5 years on and we still speak to helen (best rep ever)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Puerto Marina Mojacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Marina Mojacar

Address: Garrucha-Carboneras Ctra Km.9, 04638 Mojacar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Mojacar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mojacar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puerto Marina Mojacar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Puerto Marina Mojacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Marina Mojacar Hotel Mojacar
Puerto Marina Hotel Mojacar
Mojacar Puerto Marina Hotel
Puerto Marina Mojacar Almeria, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Marina Mojacar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.